Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The Nature Generation, formerly Newton Marasco Foundation has been my 'nonprofit soul' for many years. As the first executive director, I saw it grow into a formidable charitible organization doing absolutely wonderful work. The programs are solid and the volunteer base is wonderful. Great people, doing inspiring things for our nations youth and overall environmental awareness. Looking forward to working with NatGen for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've worked with the NMF/Nature Generation in several capacities, and am so excited about the trajectory this organization is on! The name change really clarifies the organization's invaluable mission: No activity we involve our kids in is more crucial to their futures than to nurture their understanding of the environment and a commitment to sustainability. The NatGen is involved in and supports the local community on various levels, from the arts, to the schools, to the natural world. It's all connected!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have worked with the NMF now Nature Generation for at least 14 years. When they are involved with a project, it is top notch; they know how to organize, publicize, and run an event. Great people, great organization. They have helped hundreds of students have meaningful field experiences.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have volunteered with The Nature Generation at the Chapman DeMary Trail and Outdoor Classroom. This beautiful trail provides a great opportunity for students and the general public to study the natural sciences or just enjoy spending time outside. Volunteering at the trail clean up days and other events gives me a great sense of accomplishment. I enjoy working together with other members of my community to preserve and improve this wonderful trail.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I believe the Green Earth Book Award has great potential to impact youngsters by introducing them to fine literature that deals with the world around them and by introducing models of ways to be responsible stewards of that world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a member of the Advisory Board and now the Executive Board for many years and also Chair its committees on grant writing and the Chapman DeMarry Nature Trail. This is an outstanding organization. It reaches kids of all ages and teaches them the value of the environment through a wide range of fun and interesting activities. At the heart of the organization is a commitment to educating the next generation of youth on the many aspects of the natural world around them. Whether it is maintaining an outdoor classroom, learning about water quality through hands-on sampling of the nearby stream, or engaging them through interactive games in a classroom setting, the Nature Generation draws on the expertise of its hundreds of volunteers to make a difference in this critical area. I also get what i call my greatest day of the year -- spending time in a high school classroom teaching and interacting with really smart kids on the issues surrounding energy and climate change issues. It is so rewarding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a donor and board member of the Nature Generation for over 5 years. While I have served with other organizations, this one is truly making a difference in an area that effects all of us - the education of our next generation, and how each of them can make a difference. NatGen reaches out to our youth on multiple levels, and gets them interested in nature, and our environment. What could be more important?? People definitely need to consider this worthy cause - they ROCK!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

Each year The Newton Marasco Foundation invites the Green Earth Book Award winning authors and illustrators to the campus of Salisbury University in Maryland to share their books and stories with students, especially the pre-service teaching candidates. Additionally, the authors go out into the larger educational community and visit with children in pre, elementary and secondary education settings. The importance of their environmental stewardship message cannot be overstated. Today's youth needs to be involved with awareness AND action. These books encourage and inspire kids to do just that. And meeting the authors and the illustrators motivates the kids because they build a personal relationship with an adult who cares about the earth to write, draw and photograph its beauty and fragility.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Each year more and more classes ask to participate in the Green Earth Book Award program by asking for author visits or asking for an invitation to come to the many events on campus that surround this award event. Our campus now has a Children's Resource Center where for the past 6 years all the winning and honor books have been kept, and are continuously checked out by student teachers to use in their classrooms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage the books to be translated into other languages.

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked closely with the Newton Marasco Foundation for several years and I can say unequivically that with their help and expertise our environmental science curriculum hs become outstanding. NMF has not only found local funding to support our programs but has supplied experts from the field to both speak to our classes and help in the field .
With NMF help we have begun working more closely with the schools in our highschool cluster, which has been a great benefit to the schools but more importantly to the the children in those schools.
With NMF help we have been able to build a one mile long nature trail within the town limits, plant riparian buffers to protect our water qualiity and stream corridors, take a Chesapeake Bay watershed experience along the Shenandoah river. guest speakers have help educate our students on topics from energy to pollution control.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They do great work and are a very professional and dedicated group of individuals

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to expand their network and bring their message and expertise to other school districts.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

NMF is a superior non-profit - they have a strong and clear mission, they communicate efforts, activities, and results efficiently and clearly, and they have a strong interaction with their community. NMF clearly makes a difference in the lives they touch and they continue to make a strong impression in guiding the next generation of environmental stewards.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going to the classroom to see how book drives and the Book Awards impact children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers