Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Write A Review
February 17, 2015

more

February 17, 2015

I am so grateful to NatGen for their Green Earth Book Award program. As a two-time winner of the award, I have seen the power of the organization's book donations in schools I've visited. And I know the award has influences my publishers to accept more books that advocate environmental stewardship.

Melissa Stewart
February 17, 2015

more

February 17, 2015

The Nature Generation project in the Town of Purcellville is helping preserve and protect the last forested area in our town and the buffer to our beloved creek. NatGen has hosted wonderful events which involves workshops, lessons, and interactive tours of the trail so that those of all ages can enjoy nature and still feel connected to mother nature in the middle of our small town. Because our local high school is within steps of our Nature Generation preservation area, the students have partnered to complete projects and use it as an outdoor classroom. Local scouts have also partnered to perform their scout programs and badges by building bridges and bird houses. Looking forward to their continued growth and progress in the preservation of nature in our communities.
September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I have worked with the Nature Generation for several years and watched it grow from just an idea to a innovative and very active organization that has touched many young lives. Staff, board members, and volunteers are all very passionate about helping kids learn about nature and conservation. I have seen first hand how children, teens, and parents respond to the many Nature Generation initiatives. They are learning and seeing the environment in a very different way from previous generations. They will make such a difference in our world in the years to come. I am proud to be associated with Nature Generation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get even more volunteers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I am proud to serve on the board of The Nature Generation ( formally Newton Marasco Foundation). This nonprofit reaches youth across our nation, and has tailored environmental education programs for ... more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Nature Generation (formally the Newton Marasco Foundation) has invested in our next generation. Through Teach Green Programs and Read Green--NatGen connects with our nations youth . NatGen has reached out to thousands of kids in 2013.
What I love best is when a child meets one of our
Award winning Green Earth authors and is inspired herself to read and write about nature ! Or when a city kid comes out on our nature trail and is touched by the magic and pure innocent beauty of a protected habitat . Or when a teacher thanks us for our electronic games that support her curriculum on energy and environment in a fun and imaginative way.
Or when a NatGen volunteer asks if they can offer us more time as one recently said 'my best day is a day working with kids and NatGens programs'.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to connect with NatGen programs

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

I am proud to serve on the board of The Nature Generation ( formally Newton Marasco Foundation). This nonprofit reaches youth across our nation, and has tailored environmental education programs for youth in the Greater Washington Region. From our nationally recognized Green Earth Book Award ( first in the nation to reward authors who write environmental stewardship books for children and young adults)`---- to our engaging environmental classroom games---- to our hands on habitat work---we are investing in the next generation of environmental stewards. Please join me in recognizing NatGen as one of the "Great 2012 Nonprofits".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

NatGen rocks! Real people making a real difference - inspiring young enviro stewards - especially where there is an environmental literacy gap. I have participated in many events but my favorite always is donating really wonderful books to students who do read them, care about the message and make a difference in their home and school communities from energy saving to nature appreciation. NatGen has a smart approach to ensuring a legacy of environmental stewardship. Honest, thoughtful, focused on their programs - NatGen is a good investment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I got to know the Nature Generation last year, when I was one of the authors invited to Salisbury for the Green Earth Book Award. Such a passionate, committed group. Their unswerving focus on green education, and getting their message to students from all walks of life, made me a big fan. A very worthy charity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 2, 2013

As an Advisory Board Member for over a decade, I appreciate the opportunity to be an environmental steward for the next generations. The Green Earth Book Award is an outstanding program for authors... more

September 9, 2013

I am so proud to be an advisory board member of this organization. Nothing better than being a steward of the environment for the next generations. Volunteer, donate, and participate in any way that works best for your needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

As an Advisory Board Member for over a decade, I appreciate the opportunity to be an environmental steward for the next generations. The Green Earth Book Award is an outstanding program for authors and illustrators to have a life changing influence for children and young adults.
Being a
working board member has given me the chance to volunteer for this nonprofit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2010

Hoping current and former board members and volunteers will continue to "spread the word" to family, friends, neighbors & co-workers about this charitable foundation. Let's all be good stewards of the environment and teach our children and grandchildren to learn ways they may help with the tools that NMF has to offer. Support the Foundation by donating and volunteering, please do it today.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the faces of the children as they meet the authors and illustrators of award winning Green Earth Book Awards. They are inspired

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

dedication of board members and volunteers

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

current on information about programs and opportunities

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have been volunteer, donor, supporter and friend of NatGen for many years. They are organized and provide a wonderful service to the young people who they touch. Their work is focused and makes a difference both in the youth who participate and the natural areas they work within.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to reach more youth in more states. Expand the reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This year, I worked with The Nature Generation to organize a corporate book buy in coordination with my company, The Cadmus Group. The Nature Generation has an annual Green Earth Book Award program to recognize authors of books for children and young adults that encourage environmental stewardship. And Cadmus has a relationship with The Morrison Center, a nonprofit in Portland, OR that assists children and families. The Nature Generation helped select 3 award-winning books and message the fundraising goals to my colleagues. The effort was very successful we raised enough money to purchase 530 books.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase it's ability to reach more youth across the country with its excellent program offerings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Nature Generation is a great new name for the former Newton Marasco Foundation. It really speaks to the core mission of "NatGen" to inspire the next generation of environmental stewards. NatGen i... more

September 5, 2013

My most recent experience with NatGen has been helping to inroduce their E3 Games into the Arlington County Schools. At the end of last year I was able to set up a demonstration at my children's elementary school, Glebe Elementary in Arlington County. In the course of an hour the kids and teachers got to be introduced to the games and participate with them in a mock competition environment. The kids had a blast and the teachers really loved the games. The games are also based on the Virginia SOLs, so they provide an appropriate educational resource for parents, teachers and children.

Since then, we have met with the Arlington County Science Advisor and presented to the science leads from all 22 Arlington Elementary Schools. This FREE resources is a great example of how NatGen can provide both educational, inspirational and fun important resources to the community.

NatGen is doing great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to generate more financial resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Nature Generation is a great new name for the former Newton Marasco Foundation. It really speaks to the core mission of "NatGen" to inspire the next generation of environmental stewards. NatGen is doing just that. NatGen has sponsored its Green Earth Book Award for 8+ years now and also provides great hands on experiences for youth to really unsderstand and participate in environmental stewardship. They have even created electronic games to both teach youth about the environment and assist teachers by providing a fun and engaging forum to teach and learn. THese are available for free on their website. I have been a donor for many years and now am on their advisory board. It is a great and worthwhile organization that deserves the attention and recognition from the giving community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers