Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I was a volunteer and a client served..weren't ALL women? My grand daughter was exposed to international women's rights issues and organizing and she grew as much as I did from the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have supported the NOW Foundation since my internship in 2005 and I will always be a loyal donor and supporter. NOW Foundation's work educating the public about issues that are critical to and significantly impact women is extraordinary. The Love Your Body Day program should be a national holiday because it draws vast and needed attention to cultural body image issues impacting women in the U.S. and globally. These efforts are near and dear to my heart and should be recognized more broadly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I became inspired by The 1992 "Year of the Woman" Campaign from then National President Patricia Ireland and later her book "What Women Want". I have been a paid member at NOW for nearly a decade since September 2003. Patricia always spoke about those with disabilities, and continues to represent all minorities. As someone with cerebral palsy this has made and continues to make a permanent and lasting impression on me.

This same work is now continued under the current President Terry O'Neill. One of Patricia Ireland's life long passions has been to get a The Equal Rights Amendment adopted and ratified to our US Constitution, a fight that continues under Terry O'Neill's leadership. As I state about the ratification of an ERA Amendment the same thing is true at NOW. The National Organization for Women is there for everyone including women, people of color, those with disabilities, and The LGBTQ Communities.

This is also supported from the US Legislative local, statewide, and national candidates. Electing candidates both supported and endorsed by NOW will lead to more job growth, a more stable economy, and trust abroad by our international economic partners and governments due to better purchasing power from much higher wages. This is because feminist candidates oppose all foreign wars including use of drone warfare, while supporting union representation, collective bargaining, organized labor, workplace fairness, and permanently higher minimum wages benefiting both the private and public sectors alike.

These policies and leaders inspire confidence and hope for everyone. These same leaders support all civil rights by opposing the death penalty and supporting both reproductive rights and all life saving medical care, and civil liberties for all as evidenced by continually strengthening support for same-sex marriage.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The National Organization for Women Foundation takes effective action to improve the lives of women and girls. While it conducts education on many issues, the one that has engaged me for years if Love Your Body Day. This annual campaign involves students from grade school through graduate school in creating positive, healthy body-image and self confidence. With poster contests and activities, Love Your Body Day counteracts dangerous, unrealistic images of women and girls in media and entertainment. A real women's fashion show in a park was one of my favorite actions. We showed clothes that were comfortable on models of all ages and sizes. The audience included passers-by who were enthusiastic in their support, and we had a great time for a good cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers