Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

When I say I am a professionalin this field I mean I am a survivor of human trafficking. I have been out of the life for 23 years and have been advocating for other victims of trafficking for 5 years. I met the Crittenton foundation last year where they had their open house of their office in Portland. Since hen I have built a relationship with them and they have helped our small group of trafficking survivors through allowing us to use their space for meetings and allowing us office space. Our group is called Survivor to Survivor. I have been acoomunity oraganizer for 18 years and this organziation is very impressive. We shared the same philosophy as meeting people where they are as well as their long term dedication to their clients. I have never met a group that has consistently stuck to their mission for 129 years!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I am the CEO of any agency affiliated with The National Crittenton Foundation (TNCF). We are not legally or financially tied to the Foundation, but voluntarily participate with agencies across the county as partners in purpose. In that context, I have been a keen observer of the work of TNCF and can attest to its vision, character, and impact. TNCF consistently matches its actions to its purpose, conducts its activities ethically, and has been constant in its efforts to better the lives of at risk girls and young women. TNCF continues to provide a collective voice for the thousands of girls and young women served, not just by its affiliate agencies, but by all providers working with this population. I am proud to be a partnering agency and personally touched by all they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with the National Crittenton Foundation for the past four years. During this time, I have come to respect this organization as a unique leader in the area of women's empowerment. They have grown tremendously as policy advocates and continue to do a lot with very limited financial resources. More and more they are called upon by our nation's elected officials for their input and opinions in their niche area of marginalized women and girls. Through their member organizations, Crittenton ably represents women of 31 states.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have represented our local agency to the National Crittenton Foundation for almost 10 years. The National Crittenton Foundation has provided our agency with excellent opportunities to network with similar agencies accross the nation, exceptional professional development and agency development training, opportunities to advocate for pubic policy on the federal, state, and local level, and support for fund raising and program development. On a personal note I was provided training and support to advocate to numerous US Legislative Representatives from my state for a variety of issues that were important to my agency. The training and support was invaluable and allowed me to come back to my home state and continue the effort which included several invited testimonials to my state's House of Representatives and Senate which resulted in positive policy and funding changes. This would not have been posible with out the training and support I received from the National Crittenton Foundation. Additinally, the Executive Director of the National Crittenton Foundation, Jeannette Pai-Espinoza, is a knowledgable, caring , supportive professional that acts as a resource on a variety of levels for all the agencies within the "Family of Crittenton Agencies".

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My name is Catherine Kamara. I was born in Sierra Leone, West Africa and was raised in Maryland/ DC. My journey with The Crittenton Foundation started in Feburary 2007, I was seventeen at the time and my newborn was five days old. The thought of my son and I being in custody did not settle too well with me at first. The day my son and I entered the doors of Florence Crittenton Services in Charlotte, North Carolina I was reassured immediately that this was a safe environment for us. I have lost both of my parents at a very young age and the only person I had trust in just gave me up for custody, so you can say I had little to no trust or faith left in anyone else. It took a lot for me to start trusting others but the staff at Florence Crittenton Services made it easier for me to start trusting again. Florence Crittenton Services was the first place my son called home and it was the first place since my parents died that I actually felt safe in, meaning not having to worry about my next meal, how the bills were going to get paid, or who will give me that boost of positivity when I felt like giving up in life. I have been out of foster care for about three years now and to this day I still continue to stay in contact with my FCS family. The National Crittenton Foundation has opened up doors for me no one else has. I have met some beautiful inspiring smart women that have walked in the same shoes that I have, as in having family members that abused them, not having the right resouces to help them, and being a single teenage mother. I can truely say these ladies are the big sisters that I've always wanted as a kid and I'm grateful to have met them in my adult life. When I'm with them I feel like I can speak about anything that's troubling me in life and not get judged by it. The last thing I need is to have someone judging my every footstep. With these ladies I have learned that it is ok to make mistakes and get right back up and correct them. They say God places certain people in your life for a reason, and I truels believe this. I really appreciate the ladies of TNCF for entering my life when I most needed someone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I received services from Crittenton Services in my teens. Their support has allowed me to break the cyle of abuse, poverty and under-education in my life as well as build a legacy of success for my daughter and generations to come

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

During my formative years (14-18 years old) I was placed at Crittenton in Fullerton CA. I know I was hard to handle, but Crittenton was perfect to and for me in every way. They really guided and assisted me through a really difficult time in my life. I am still in contact with some of the Crittenton staff, and the connections I have made with them have proved invaluable to me; even now that I am 22 years old and living on my own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

As President of an all-volunteer advocacy organization for girls, volunteering as a partner with The National Crittenton Foundation has been a growthful and supportive opportunity. Combining our Oregon voice with a national organization supporting girls living at the margin of the American dream overcome major obstacles rooted in circumstances not of their own making enhances our advocacy and the abililty of young women's voices to be heard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2011

The National Crittenton Foundation provides guidance and support to the Crittenton Family of Agencies, all of whom serve at-risk young women in the U.S. I am Director of Florence Crittenton Programs ... more

March 16, 2012

The National Crittenton Foundation advocates for the needs of vulnerable young women. They are the national expert on young women's issues, particularly system-involved young women with histories of abuse and neglect. Their focus is on empowering these young women, promoting evidence-based services which foster self-sufficiency. Their National Campaign "We are not invisible" has been educating the country about the realities of neglect, sexual abuse, and sexual trafficking in our own country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2011

The National Crittenton Foundation provides guidance and support to the Crittenton Family of Agencies, all of whom serve at-risk young women in the U.S. I am Director of Florence Crittenton Programs of South Carolina in Charleston, SC. The National Crittenton helps us in myriad ways: training in evidence-based modalities, updates on national policy issues that impact our work and clients, conferences to promote best practices, and guidance in non-profit management. The staff are professional and extremely easy to work with. I have never known a better group of individuals who are more committed to help young women.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They sent an expert to evaluate our organization and make recommendations. She spent 3 days with staff and board members and provided invaluable assistance. The Executive Director of the National Crittenton Foundation came to our site and met with management and board members to help assist them through this crisis time. They also provided our board a challenge grant, which helped us move past the crisis and stabilize.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding so they could use it to do more good!

March 26, 2011

more

March 26, 2011

Great Non profit is great for the community . t is an organization that has been around for years.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced interactive with clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

obtain more funding for this organization

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers