Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.782615
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I was diagnosed in February 2010 with polymyositis, and six months later lupus. In 2011 I started a wellness campaign to gain back my mind, body, and spirit, and help others. It was around this time I reached out to TMA. They responded and offered their time and effort to help me achieve my goals, and help spread awareness to others. I Can't thank them enough for what they have done to help myself and others like me.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

My husband has inclusion body myositis and we have found TMA to be so very helpful in dealing with this disease. The newsletters, support groups and the yearly conference has been a tremendous resource for us as this disease progresses. We had never heard of IBM and knowing that we have support through TMA has made us feel less isolated.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Dermatomyositis with ILD is rare and there is No Cure! Most die within 5-7 years after being diagnosed. I am beating the odds am going on my 12 year. This terrible disease effects my lungs, joints, muscles and everyday living.
This past September I was able to go the Myositis Assocation
Conference in Reno, NV. My husband went with me and what an experience. the class sessions were very informative, meeting others whom have Myositis, doctors from all over the world. There were caregiver classes which helped him understand what I'm going through and I learned what he is going through. We left Reno, feeling you don't give up, you fight to keep on living.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

The Myositis Association has been a world of help and a lifeline for my wife and myself since her diagnosis with Polymyositis in 2009. The information from their website, the sponsored local support groups, as well as the annual national patient conferences have made the journey into effective treatment so much easier. I cannot imagine how we could have done this without the very valuable assistance of The Myositis Association.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

In 2008 I was FINALLY diagnosed with a rare disease that I had never heard of before. Because of the long journey I had been on, in search of a diagnosis, it was evident that the doctors also were not very familiar with it.
I searched the internet to find out all that I could about this
disease called Myositis. There I found The Myositis Association. Their web site offered an abundence of information, but was a lot to absorb.
I signed up to be part of a support group, but found that my area didn't have a suppoert group leader. My wife talked me into volunteering for that position. I fouund that the association was very helpful to give me the information that I needed to start up a group in our large area. This turned out to be very therapeutic for me.
Then I went to my first Annual Patient Conference, where I met many more people that shared one form or another of the same disease that I had. We visited and found that our stories, although different were very similar. I also met the TMA staff and found them to be very dedicated and caring people. You could tell right away that this was so much more than just a job for them. I also met the board of directors, and the medical advisory board. I went to break out sessions where I learned more about my disease, as well as what research and clinical trials were ging on. Learned that The Myositis Association had funded a lot of the research that is going on, to help treat and look for a cure for Myositis.
The Myositis Association has been a life boat in the middle of a stormy sea for me.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My wife was diagnosed with Inclusion Body Myositis in 2008, shortly after we had both retired and had begun planning an active retirement with bicycles, kayaks and travel. The Myositis Association was a great help in adjusting to that terrible news by providing resources, support group contacts and other information. We continue to be heartened and hopeful that the research supported by TMA will bring a cure, or at least relief, from this disease. We look to the TMA website almost daily for supportive information.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I've had Inclusion body myositis diagnosed for 6 years. The educational resources of TMA have been very helpful. I have attended support groups locally and am about to be at my 4th annual nation-wide patient conference.
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Six years ago I was diagnosed with Myositis, a rare chronic disease. My doctors didn't have much information for me so I went to the internet. I found The Myositis Association (TMA). Their website contained years of information, research news, clinical trials and resources to assist me in my quest for information about my disease.
For the last six years, TMA has been the top source for my information about my disease. They have provided the latest updates and information on research, medication, and the latest clinical trial opportunities. TMA provides its members not only with information, but support by bring together its members at their annual patient conference. This conference brings patients, physicians, caretakers, and vendors together to share advancements, information, and ideas.
A lot of people owe the quality of their lives to TMA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that more people with the myositis diseases could attend the annual conference to enable them to learn to deal with their disease.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

My wife has IBM and TMA has been a great support to me and her,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband suffers from Inclusion Body Myosotis, and was diagnosed 14 years ago. The TMA Had provided us both with support and information. It has been very helpful to me as a care giver and to him as a patient. The staff is always helpful and responsive and the medical advisory board is excellent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help with an awareness event, assist with mailings, or support a fundraising event. Volunteer