Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I've volunteered almost 2,000 hours with The Mountains to Sound Greenway Trust and have come to know that MTSG is such an amazing and important organization! MTSG works with volunteers, including young children, students, families, boy scouts, girl scouts, faith-based groups, and corporate groups. MTSG staff has really perfected volunteer events as they are so welcoming, prepared, and really strive to educate volunteers so that they will understand how important their work is and that they will want to come back again and again! They also hire crews of young adults as part of the Washington Conservation Corps to perform local environmental restoration and trail maintenance throughout the Greenway. Corpsmembers learn valuable physical skills, as well as team building and leadership skills. Environmental restoration is so crucial to provide food and habitat for local wildlife, to decrease flooding, to improve soil and air quality, and of course improve water quality for our beloved salmon!!! Our popular hiking trails are well-maintained so that they can be enjoyed by all. MTSG brings communities together through volunteer work, also working to create new walking/biking trails between cities, and promoting local farms, community events, and heritage. MTSG even works with construction planners to decrease environmental impacts, including the I-90 wildlife crossing project! They truly listen to what the community wants and works with local governments, businesses, and citizens to come to mutual agreements! I am SO PROUD of this organization and will continue to support them both financially and through volunteer work! HOORAY for the Greenway!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I volunteered with the Greenway Trust for nearly a year; and I've never worked with such a dedicated, motivated, ambitious and fun group of people. The Greenway tirelessly works behind the scenes, and in the public eye, to conserve some of the region's most treasured assets. Land acquisitions, restoration, regional trail gaps and a myriad of other projects have come through over the past 20 years thanks to the dedication of this organization and those who support similar goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering at tree planting events was amazing in that I can now go back to several locations within and not far from Seattle and point to a single tree that I planted, and I know that these trees will very likely be here longer than me or any members of my family that come after me, thanks to the work of the Greenway Trust.

February 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a scholar of urban planning, I’ve studied the growth management debate in the Seattle area. With a growing population, the Seattle region lacks sufficient trails through open space, near existing subdivisions, available for young families and other outdoor enthusiasts.

Despite Seattle
debates among planners over planning concepts such as gravelscaping, mass transit, urban growth boundaries, “smart growth," and "smart growth towers," virtually all urban planners universally agree that the best way to preserve natural landscapes, in rapidly growing areas, is establishing permanent parks and building trails.

And, that is precisely what the Mountains to Sound Greenway (MTSG) has done, for two decades.

The current land conservation model in King County, under the Washington State Growth Management Act, is an urban growth boundary, separating high density sprawl, from low density five acre privately held estates. These five acre properties are not available for public recreation. Therefore, the urban growth boundary does not conserve open space for parks and trails.

(The King County urban growth boundary runs, from north to south, at the eastern edge of the Cities of Woodinville, Redmond, Sammamish, Issaquah, Bellevue, Newcastle, Renton, Kent, Covington, Maple Valley, Auburn, Black Diamond, and Enumclaw. A few ”islands” of high density growth are permitted beyond the boundary, such as Redmond Ridge, and Cities in the Snoqualmie Valley.)

Since the five acre lots are not available for recreation, then under the current system, acquiring land for public trails is paramount for expanding outdoor recreational opportunities. Acquiring land outside the urban growth boundary for trails, in the vicinity of Interstate 90, is one of many diverse projects of the Mountains to Sound Greenway.

As the population grows, hikers, trail runners, and mountain bikers will face increased pressure from their peers on the trails. Therefore, establishing more parks and trails is essential to keep up with population growth, just as expanding transportation infrastructure.

Furthermore, urban planners in public administration also value volunteers from groups, such as the Mountains to Sound Greenway, since they make their jobs easier. Volunteers plant native trees, remove invasive species, and build hiking and cycling trails - and also maintain and upgrade trails.

Indeed, with local tax revenues decreasing due to the recession, volunteers and philanthropic groups such as the Mountains to Sound Greenway are increasingly important, especially when Cities regrettably are forced to let go their very own talented urban planners, due to budget cuts.

As the Puget Sound region, and even Kittitas County (east of the Cascades, where the Greenway ends) faces increased development, the Mountains to Sound Greenway will continue to preserve open space and build trails for public use, indefinitely. Open space located near housing developments and freeways absorbs air pollution, provides trails for exercise, and supports wildlife, native bird populations, and endangered plants.

Even developers recognize the value of urban parks and greenbelts as natural amenities. Open space within close proximity to housing developments increases the selling price of homes.

In addition, the the Mountains to Sound Greenway offers informative educational materials for the public, such as the brochure “Building in the Mountains to Sound Greenway.” This brochure describes how to build architecture that is harmonious with nature, and the importance of preserving mature native trees in new developments.

Again, as with parks and greenbelts, even developers recognize that preserving native trees during construction enhances property values, along with architectural elements that blend in with the natural surroundings.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the Mountains to Sound Greenway has collaborated with other conservation groups, civic organizations, schools, and Churches. And, the Mountains to Sound Greenway receives significant financial revenue, from dozens of well known Northwest companies, such as Boeing and Microsoft. And, amazingly, the volunteers and donors come from across party lines, such as former Republican U.S. Senator Slade Gorton.

In closing, I’d like to emphasize that the Mountains to Sound Greenway strategy meets the gold standard of professional urban planners for successful land conservation - acquiring land for permanent preservation and public use.

Be sure to view photos of local mountains along the Mountains to Sound Greenway on their web site: http://mtsgreenway.org/
I attempted to add photos here w/o success. They are now on my Yahoo photo flickr page: http://flickr.com/photos/tom9

Also note that one of the default fields for the user profile says that I am associated with the organization. This is NOT true and I cannot undo the field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have enjoyed the natural amenities preserved by the Mountains to Sound Greenway for years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing in respect to the organization. However, I would change the land use laws in King County, to require developers of five acre estates in eastern King County (the minimum lot size, as required by law), to provide easements for gravel bike trails, to allow residents of Renton, Kent, Covington, and Maple Valley to travel north to the Greenway.

February 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2011

The Mountains to Sound organization serves a vital role in protecting the green space along the I-90 corridor in Washington state, through outreach, education, and allowing for direct citizen participation in restoration events. Their volunteer events are well-organized and educational, and they truly provide the volunteers with the feeling that they have contributed positively to their local environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I hiked the very same trails that I worked to maintain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Connect the volunteers more directly to the land acquisition efforts. I don't think volunteers understand the efforts to facilitate land acquisitions.

February 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2011

MTSG has been a wonderful organization to volunteer with over the last several years! They are always so organized and it is so easy to sign up for events on their website. It is also nice to have so much variety of work from planting trees, removing invasives, maintaining trails, to potting seedlings in the nursery. There is always something to do all year long.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

state parks while on hikes and in everyday life where I have a new appreciation for native plant species.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them offer more volunteer events within Seattle city limits

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Setup a 'fast pass' for experienced volunteers. If you have already been to the work site and already heard the safety presentation, then you can jump into working as soon as you sign in. Perhaps an enhancement on the website or a smart phone application could accomplish this along with helping you sign in faster. Additionally, when signing up the event on the website it would be nice to know how many volunteers have already signed up (to know if it is going to be a big crowd) and to know how many volunteers are under the age 18.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I have often volunteered with a group of co-workers. It is nice to have the opportunity to meet up with co-workers, especially since I work remotely and do not see them very often.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Helps me feel like I am giving back to the local ecosystem and reducing my carbon footprint.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I started volunteering with MTSGT in May 2010 at the first Women in the Woods event. I had wanted to get involved with outdoor organizations for a while, and this was a great way to see if it would work for me. I was immediately impressed with what they do and how they do it. They are very diligent about safety, making it a priority for everyone, but it is also fun to work with such positive people. The organization makes a huge difference in maintaing and preserving a variety of outdoor areas for all of us to enjoy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Going back to hike the trails I worked on - seeing the improvements made.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel they are doing a great job with what I have been involved with so far.

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

MTSG is a great organizaiton! I've been volunteering with them often starting this year and have had a blast helping out the enviroment along the I90 corridor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

all along the I90 corridor from the Snoqualmie valley to the Issaquah creek.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none!!! They're perfect!!

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers