Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

MINDS is such an amazing organization. The work they do to eliminate stigma and provide access to mental health care in India is so important, especially because MINDS is the only organization doing this type of work in the region. This type of work is so challenging because of the stigma and difference in culture that exists, but MINDS approaches it carefully and diligently. I was drawn to MINDS because of how passionate everyone involved is about the work that is being done, and because I could see how much need there is for mental health work in rural regions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

The MINDS Foundation does a fantastic job at providing accessible health education in rural India, breaking down the stigma of mental illness in order to provide more effective treatment. As the only non-profit working to treat all mental illnesses in Gujarat, India, the MINDS Foundation offers necessary, valuable outreach to local communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

The MINDS Foundation is doing a phenomenal job in eliminating stigma against mental illness , providing treatment and moral support to the patients. In such a short span of four years MINDS has touched the lives of more than nineteen villages in Gujarat. I am really excited to be a part of this organization and to contribute to help mentally ill in India. MINDS has a grassroots approach to tackle the issue and believes in direct service delivery to the community. We are a team of dynamic and passionate individuals under the able leadership of our CEO Raghu Appasani. We are motivated by the smiles of people whom we have helped and so we embrace the challenges happily. I am really excited to be a part of this organization which is marching forward to make this world a better place to live for mentally ill patients and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

The MINDS Foundation is an incredible organization and one that I am truly honored to work for. We are group of highly driven young professional with a very simple goal -- the de-stigmatization of mental health in India and beyond. The organization is driven, dedicated, and centered around its vision -- the shares all the excitement and passion of a startup with a public health, not for profit mission that is relevant, important, and critical to the overall success of developing health systems. I could not ask for a better organization to be a part of!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

great non-profit, with a great goal. the issue that MINDS is tackling is growing and by taking a step towards eliminating stigma around mental illness they are doing a great thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I have seen the Minds Foundation take shape since it was started at Wesleyan University several years ago. The organization is lead by passionate, talented, and visionary social entrepreneurs. I am confident that the organization will continue to grow its impact in the years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cant say that I am directly involved in this organization, so it is difficult for me to make suggestions for changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

I love working with the MINDS Foundation! We're a very small nonprofit run by people with a shared passion for educating others and improving communities. Our presence in the field and strong partnerships with universities and hospitals has improved many lives in Gujarat, India. We are essentially building an infrastructure that can be used in other local communities in the developing world. I am so proud of what we've accomplished, even though we're a tiny, boot-strapped nonprofit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

MINDS is an incredible organization. The amount of work that MINDS has achieved in such little time with so few people is simply extraordinary. As a volunteer at Wesleyan University, where MINDS was founded, I have not only been able to learn about a largely ignored public health issue but also to develop event planning and networking skills through organizational leadership positions. MINDS does great work serving people in India, having developed an innovative multi-stage plan and continuously raising funds. However, it also serves the students involved as volunteers in an equally innovative way, allowing them to take on leadership positions, volunteer on site in India, and do research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I learned about MINDS I was shocked. How could such a important issue be handled by college students? Knowing the difficulty of working in India, I just couldn't believe what was being done. When I was introduced to the core team, I met hardworking and dedicated students. I was able to work with them and realize how things were done and it was truly amazing. This is such a pressing issue, that needs more awareness not only in India, but also in countries throughout the world. The MINDS Foundation takes a grassroots approach to handling the issue in one specific city in Gujarat, India. The main reason that MINDS has been so successful is because of its focus on a certain specific population and because of its stellar partnership with Sumandeep Vidapeeth and Dhiraj Hospital. With the help of more volunteers, and more generous donations I believe that the MINDS Foundation has potential to sustain their programs in Baroda, Gujarat, India and also in the far future will have the ability to spread.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been very interested in this organization and what they do is very exciting. It is especially great that they look to improve quality of life through grassroots approaches rather than pouring money at the state level to influence policy etc. The fact that they also recognize the role that stigma plays in mental illness and its treatment is very important. The issue is larger than just providing medication to relieve symptoms. There has to be some focus on improving the environment & communities that the patients are apart of. The MINDS Foundation realizes this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help raise awareness about the cause. Volunteer