Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 9, 2013

The Miami Lighthouse for the Blind has received accreditation from the National Accreditation Council for Blind and Low Vision Services (NAC). NAC is the only accrediting body that solely focuses on standards and best practices for blind and low vision services with the consumer in mind. The Miami Lighthouse has demonstrated that it meets or exceeds the standards set by NAC for delivery of blind and low vision services. The determination for accreditation is a rigorous process that involves self-examination by the organization, an on-site peer review to verify processes and procedures by a team of professionals serving in the field and a review of the findings by the NAC Accreditation Committee. NAC congratulates The Miami Lighthouse on its accredited status.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

As the Vocal Director for the Better Chance Music Production Program and one of the co-authors of the Music Braille on line course, I feel privileged to be a part of such a magnificent organization. T... more

April 5, 2013

As a music educator for the past 30+ years, I have taught all types of students will a myriad of disabilities but I've never seen or been a part of an organization whose dedication is at the level of the Miami Lighthouse. Every person there is committed to their mission statement. They are friendly, hard working people whose sole purpose is to make the lives of the clients a little better each and every day.

The clients receive a snack in the morning and a free lunch, if they wish. They are treated with respect and dignity. Every staff member from executive officers down to maintenance and custodial workers alike all pitch in to ensure the staff is taken care of.

Virginia Jacko, CEO and President of the Miami Lighthouse sets the finest standard she wants her staff to emmulate. It is her standard that the staff strives to live up to. I have nothing but the finest regard for the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

As the Vocal Director for the Better Chance Music Production Program and one of the co-authors of the Music Braille on line course, I feel privileged to be a part of such a magnificent organization. The scope of services which the Lighthouse offers to the clients far exceeds its expectations because the staff takes the time to provide those special personal touches which mean so much to those we serve. The Better Chance Music Production Program offers young people the chance to express themselves through music, while receiving instruction from world-class musicians. They also have the opportunity to compose and record their own music right at the Lighthouse. The Music program is unique because it is an inclusion program which combines blind, visually impaired and sighted students in a musical setting where everyone is equal and everyone is valued for their talent and expertise. The Lighthouse is very excited about our new Music Braille course! With the assistance of the Carroll center, we are about to launch a ground- breaking project wherein blind and visually impaired students can learn Music Braille independently, via the computer. This type of instruction has never been attempted before and we believe we have the key to bringing the gift of music to blind and visually impaired people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

In 2009, I first came to the Miami Lighthouse as an intern to work in their orientation and mobility department. The Lighthouse was very generous to provide myself and another intern housing as well as a stipend for the summer while we completed our internships. The Miami Lighthouse was a wonderful place to gain experience in my field and I had the opportunity to work with a diverse group of clients of all ages and backgrounds. After completing my internship, I returned as a full-time orientation and mobility specialist and I worked primarily with the adult rehabilitation program. I recently transitioned to working for Miami-Dade County Public schools and have witnessed first hand the positive impact that programs such as the Miami Lighthouse's Saturday program in Braille Literacy and Technology as well as the Transition program have on the lives of the children I work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

One of my biggest fears after losing my sight was the inability to provide for my family, and I questioned myself: What am I going to do with my life? What’s going to happen in a year or five years? How am I going to help raise my seven-year-old son? My prayers were answers by a phone call from one of the socials worker at the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind. I was told not to fear, that with the proper training that they could offer I should be able to perform and carry on like any normal person. And I did. I completed the rehabilitation program and enrolled to become a Midi Music producer. Needless to say, Miami Lighthouse helped me accomplish this. Now, seven years later I’m working as the Director of the Midi Music Production program at Miami Lighthouse for the Blind helping others achieve their goals to become musicians, score writers, radio station audio engineers, pre- and post-sound producers, stage performers, studio sound recorder engineers or use their music production abilities for other sources that involve the use of access technology. All I can say is that my life is been placed back on track because of the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind, and I consider it my second home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

As the coordinator for the Transition Program at the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired, I am so grateful that the agency is deeply committed to educating and training professionals in the vision. With the full support of the Miami Lighthouse, I am enrolled The Florida State University Distance Education program and will receive a master's degree in Visual Disabilities and become a certified Teacher of the Visually Impaired Certification and Orientation & Mobility Specialist. The Miami Lighthouse are all too aware of the critical shortage of qualified, certified professionals in the field and by offer support, such as a flexible schedule and financial support, to employees that wish to further their knowledge of the field. Every child, regardless of disability, deserves the right to a quality and equitable education. I am so grateful that they have chosen to make an investment in my education and professional training and by doing so they have made an investment in the education in future generations of students with visual impairments. My education will open up endless possibilities not only for myself, but also for the students with visual impairments that I work with now and plan to work with in the future.

This semester I have taken courses in Introduction to Visual Impairments, Literary Braille, and Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (which is especially helpful for teachers in the South Florida area). The teens in the Transition Program find great joy in quizzing me on my braille contractions and I am glad that I can serve not only as an instructor, but as a positive role model to these young adults. Through the master’s program at the Florida State University, I have been able to connect with other dedicated professionals in the field and integrate my newfound knowledge to help improve the quality of programming and services that the Transition Program has been able to offer its clients.

The Miami Lighthouse does so much for its clients by providing the training and confidence needed to be independent, but also for employees, like me, by providing life-changing experiences. I am so thankful that I have the opportunity to join the vision rehabilitation field and excited to embark on a life-long career helping to enrich the lives of others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers