Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

Submitted by Stephen Podley. The Miami Lighthouse is an outstanding resource for the Visual Challenged. Every type of training imaginable is available. They also have a store where I have purchased a number of items. Staff is very friendly. Their new receptionist, Angie, is welcoming and informative. John, the mobility instructor, is patient and attentive. Harold in the audio/music department is talented, informative and an excellent instructor. They have a great team, and I strongly recommend them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Diagnosed with wet macular degeneration, I originally came to Miami Lighthouse two years ago to the Low Vision Center, but my eyes were not bad enough for me to take any classes. I came back in June, had a low vision examination, a visit from the Florida Division of Blind Services at my home, was referred to Miami Lighthouse and was accept as a client. From that moment on my life has changed.

I was one of those people that used my eyes my entire life to make my living, which I couldn’t do any more. But the Miami Lighthouse has taught me, that there is nothing that I can’t do, that my cup is always half full, never half empty, and that I have to be thankful for what I have and I don’t have. I started in Independent Living and have just been approved to transfer to Vocational Rehabilitation with the goal of returning to work. I also received Orientation and Mobility training.

I cannot tell people how passionate I am about Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired and about everyone in this facility. Everyone is caring, knowledgeable, and knowing. I enjoyed to coming here on Tuesdays and Thursdays for my classes. It was a life-changing experience. At present I am a volunteer in the Independent Living Program, and I am looking forward to entering the Vocational Rehabilitation Program in the near future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Our Kids of Miami-Dade/ Monroe is the lead Community-Based Care Agency for Miami-Dade & Monroe counties. We are dedicated to overseeing and leading a coordinated system of care delivering excellence to abused, abandoned and neglected children and their families. We have been working with the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and the South Florida Heiken Children's Vision Program for several years now and they have proven to be an absolutely invaluable resource to our clients. Thanks to their efforts, hundreds of at-risk youth in the Florida foster care system have received much needed vision services and eyeglasses.
The South Florida Heiken Children's Vision Program has also made a major contribution to our Independent Living Program which serves young adults who have aged out of foster care and are working to become self-sufficient. Many of these young adults do not qualify for Medicaid, making access to quality vision services very difficult. The South Florida Heiken Children's Vision Program and Miami Lighthouse for the Blind has served as the bridge to connect our young adults with much-needed vision care services, allowing them to be more successful both in school and at work. We are truly thankful for this wonderful resource which benefits the most vulnerable young people in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

From my first visit to my latest interaction with the Miami Lighthouse, I am constantly thankful that I was blessed to have an amazing, caring and professional organization such as the Miami Lighthouse helping me with my son. I first found out about the Miami Lighthouse when my son was diagnosed with ocular albinism at 3 months old in 2006, this condition leads to very poor vision at a time when most of a child's learning is done visually. I immediately researched what I had to do by consulting with doctors, hospitals and organizations in the Miami area and they all pointed me in one direction the Miami Lighthouse. The Miami Lighthouse became a one-stop-shop for vision therapy to prevent further vision loss, physical therapy such as gripping and coordination, speech therapy and information on next steps. Developmentally, he was falling behind his cousin who was a few weeks younger until he started therapy and quickly caught up. The Miami Lighthouse provided therapy at home and at the blind babies program for no charge. More importantly, it gave me the peace of mind that my son was in the best hands possible. As he was getting ready to enter school, the Miami Lighthouse helped me find a program for him and guided the school, teachers, staff and parents through the transition. I strongly believe that the Miami Lighthouse has helped him to become the confident and vibrant child he is today. Given their wide arrange of programs, from new born to the elderly, I can honestly say that I plan to be involved with the Miami Lighthouse for a long time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

My name is Paula St. Myer; I am the mother of Juan Paniagua "JP"......he is 13 years old and blind since he was 3; when we were in the hospital someone told us about the Miami Lighthouse and to be honest I was a little bit hesitant to go there, however we went and once we got there it was like seeing light after a lot of darkness.....my son was still a baby and we didn't really know what was going on, it is very scary, specially for you as a parent not knowing what to tell your kid or how to react to some questions like "why I can't see?" "Am I different?" and things like that. The first thing we learned was that he is not different form any other person, that being blind is not an illness and that we had to accept it and learn to live with it....they taught him how to diferentiate textures and he got his first braille words. Everybody at the Lighthouse was super nice, professional and eager to help us. It is a great team, a wonderful group of people doing an excepcional job with babies, kids, teens and adults; they treat all of us with respect and love, it is a biggggggg family!! I only have wonderful memories for me and speacilly for my son at the Lighthouse throughtout these years, can't be grateful enough for all they've done for us. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My Name is Luz Marina Rosenfeld, I lost my vision about 19 months ago. I felt my life ended, when I went there, I meet Virginia Jacko, she is my mentor, she put me in the right road to be a profesional. I went back to College, graduate and License, now I do Events that raise money for the Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually impaired. They show me my life can change without vision, in the begining it was hard but YOU go there and they teach you, and the Technology is out of this world. The Teachers are so compacionated and exemplary that you feel yes, you can see without vision, it sounds strange but I see now more than before. Cannot find the words to say THANKS FOR GIVING ME MY LIFE BACK, I GAIN MY INDEPENDENCE, AND LOVING LIFE MORE THAN BEFORE. The Miami Lighthoue is the perfect place when you loose your vision, they are prepare to give you skill, tools and all the help that you need to be incharge of your life again, going out again with my guide dog, she is my car and the freedom that a human being need after such a Catastrofic experience. I could sit here and right all day how much they did for me and they continue changing lifes, they change mine and I love them for the rest of my life. Love you Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually impaired. As I go with my life you start saying how do I do all this things without vision, like cooking, baking, taking care of my family, going to school and keeping up with getting good grades and being the best you can be. They taugh me a great lesson, you can do what ever you can do with your life, and have change my life around, has change my City adding Talking Lights, explain, they talk and aware you when to cross the street, and we can cross how they taugh us, going by the flow of the cars. is so wonderful that I will never stop talking about, My City Doral has installed 8 in my City of Doral, with the help of Virginia Jacko the CEO, and Mobility Instructor Manager Mr, John Platt. They came and listen to me and help to make a presentation to the Mayor of the City Of Doral, and now I represent The Blind and Visually impaired in the City of Doral, have change myself so many lifes and still changing peoples life, they dont only teach about blindness, they recover your soul. Thanks for giving me this such a great positive attitude for life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2009

more

September 22, 2009

My Miami Lighthouse experience was enlightening and fulfilling every day. I entered the Lighthouse totally blind with no skills to allow me a normal existence. Within three months I was an expert at walking with a white cane, handling daily living skills and computer skills using JAWS. After four months by the time I graduated, I also learned to read and write contracted Braille. The staff was always helpful and courteous and challenged me to improve every day. I cannot say enough good things about the Miami Lighthouse. I only wish there were more places like it so more people could get the help they need. I have been blind now for two and a half years, yet I live a very normal, healthy and productive life. I have a wonderful guide dog that helps me travel quickly and efficiently anywhere I want to go. I take public transportation including busses, trains and airplanes and travel to cities that I don’t even know. With the skills that are taught at the Miami Lighthouse a blind person like me can learn more than to survive, they can have a life that thrives.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The enriching environment and experience that they provide every day.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Exceptional and helpful always.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Provide help for so many more people.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers