Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

I worked with The Mentoring Network for six years as a school counselor. The Mentoring Network provided us with top-notch mentors who met with several of our students on a consistent, weekly basis. I was always impressed with the quality of the mentors in The Mentoring Network. All of them were highly-regarded, caring individuals who had a soft spot in their hearts for kids. What most impressed me of The Mentoring Network mentors is their consistent caring. I have worked with other mentors before who showed up inconsistently. That was not the case with The Mentoring Network mentors. They showed up every week, regardless of what was going on in their own lives, and they often brought an interesting activity to share with their mentee. I saw mentors and mentees make holiday cards, play board games, and share books together. The activities provided a route for the mentors and mentees to connect. I would often see them laughing and talking together as they worked together. Also, The Mentoring Network mentees would continue their students for years. That sense of continuity and consistency gave my students a feeling a connectedness that they so desperately needed. The Mentoring Network fills a huge need in our community and it is an organization that I trust and respect to always do what's best for kids!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My son Mark is an Asperger Syndrome child, he was so lonely and bullied in grade school, he just never fit in. He was enrolled in the mentoring program in 6th grade and it literally changed his life. His friendship with Donna gave him self-confidence and gave him the introduction to social skills that we as parents were unable to do. Coming from Donna things made more sense to him, he didn't battle her the way he did with us, and accepted her advice as help not criticism. He graduated from High School this year and I am so proud of the young man he has become, I sincerely believe without the mentoring programs guidance and encouragement he wouldn't be where he is today. The program involved him in social functions, fun events, and learning programs that got him out of his comfort zone and into the adventure of the real world with others. We are so grateful for everything the program does for the kids in need in our community!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have been mentoring the same student for almost 3 years, and it is such a blessing to watch her grow and mature. The Mentoring Network offers students a chance to have an adult mentor with whom they can develop a meaningful relationship. There are so many great kids already benefiting from this program and in reality every child needs a mentor who they can call a friend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have had the pleasure of facilitating a mentoring relationship with students at my school. As a school counselor, I frequently receive information about students' lives and the impact of their circumstances on their academic performance and general well-being. The students at my school who have been in mentoring relationships through The Mentoring Network transform from sullen to smiling. One teacher remarked, "I wish I had 30 of him" (of the mentor) because she was so impressed with the impact on her student and the benefits mentors could provide to her entire class. This mentor proved his dedication by continuing a mentoring relationship through letters when the student moved to another part of the state. The mentors receive an excellent orientation prior to beginning and I am impressed by the organization, opportunities for summer camp, and data from The Network. I have to agree with the teacher quoted above--I wish we had many more mentors available.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The Mentoring Network is a meaningful program which helps kids experience genuine kindness and acceptance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

One hour a week truly does change a childs life! Working with The Mentoring Network the past few years has afforded me the opportunity to hear many, many stories of kids that have been positively impacted through spending time with their adult mentor. This organization is one of the most efficient organizations that I have been a part of. Over 140 current matches with a staff of 1.5. No doubt that a donor's investment goes a long way with this group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I am a counselor in the Nampa School District, and have seen amazing things come from the Mentoring Network! The mentors that they set up with our students are truely making a difference in these kids lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I am in my 3rd year of mentoring the same child. When I was first approached to be a mentor, I said no. Then, when it was explained to me, that the child was very sad because he didn't have a mom, due to her death at my mentee's age 3, I decided to just try it and I have was pleasently surprised. I was able to show up as a mentor every week for an hour my first year. During my 2nd year, we ended up getting a new 2nd home, where I began spending a lot of time. I asked my mentee if he wanted a new Mentor that could show up each week, and he said no, he would take me whenever I could show up. So, I began coming just once a month, which was still very satisfying for both of us. This year, I have been able to see him more often. I look forward to every meeting with my mentee. He is always so excited when he sees me waiting for him in the office, which reminds me that this is good for both of us. We spend time talking and playing games, which is one of his favorite things. When it's good weather, we play outside. Every winter, we make something special for a Christmas gift for his Dad, and he really loves this, as he normally wouldn't have anything to give his Dad for Christmas. My mentee really loves hot chocolate, so each time I see him, I bring him a thermos of hot chocolate, which he enjoys immensly. If I have any homemade treats, I also bring these, which he loves, since he doesn't have a mom to make these goodies for him. When there is a special occasion in his class, I will bring treats for all, and this makes him so happy as he is able to share with his class members. I try to go to his sports events and support him. I love being able to watch the games and I think he likes me coming to watch him. He told me that he had a friend who needed a mentor, because the boy was acting out. He thought that having a mentor would help his friend. This is further confirmation that this is a great program. The mentoring network is awesome and I really think that it helps kids as well as the adults.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

An boy with some anger issues, has a constant adult in his life. No matter what he may or may not have done each week, she shows up to be One Of His People. It makes a difference. A girl who struggles with self esteem has an adult that thinks she is wonderful and treats her as such. It makes a difference. A young boy working on making better decisions in his life, has a role model that is firm, but fun. It makes a difference. These are examples of the mentors that come to our school. Our kids are so thankful for the mentors provided by The Mentoring Network and we are, too. South Middle School

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I work as an elementary school counselor in the Nampa School District. I have seen mentors from the Mentoring Network change lives and help put kids back on a positive track. Sometimes a student's needs are truly overwhelming, and yet, one person in their lives can and does make a huge difference. That student now has a caring person to help direct them, dialogue with them, and give the valuable feedback for their decision-making and choices, where they may go unchecked before. This one person walking into their lives can help foster a relationship of support and positive rapport that generates encouragement for a child like non other. A student often needs that one person who is not an authority figure, who helps draw the safe and healthy boundaries that lead a student down the road of success. Mentors do all that, and more!! Thanks to the Mentoring Network for helping youth in a big way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Mentors provide one-on-one guidance and support as students pursue personal, family, and academic dreams. Mentors meet with their “mentees” one hour each week in a supervised school setting to foster the development of academic and social skills. Volunteer