Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.887935
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

MCIF, The Maura Clarke - Ita Ford Center, is truly changing the lives of immigrants. MCIF is helping individuals to improve their own lives, by giving them the tools for a better life. Those that participate at the Maura Clarke - Ita Ford Center leave with hope and the opportunity for success. I have been impressed that MCIF does so much good, with limited resources. The focus of the agency is helping those that walk through the doors. If there were more Nonprofits like the Maura Clarke - Ita Ford Center, the world would be a better place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more people to know the great work and services that they are providing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The community that the MCIF Center has built is incredible. It's a veritable one-stop-shop for immigrant families. Siblings, friends, and strangers alike come here to improve themselves, becoming citizens, learning English, and learning other life skills. And the caliber of instruction is unparalleled in such a setting. The instructors are not only passionate about their participants and the subject, but they have experience, most holding Masters degrees. I've worked with a lot of non-profits in Brooklyn and while it may be a small operation, it's as effective as anything out there.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

MCIF is an incredible community resource! Through GED, Citizenship and leveled English classes, MCIF provides a wide range of educational opportunities to empower communities members in the greater Bedstuy/Bushwick area. Through personalized attention and a strong sense of community, MCIF creates a space were student thrive. As I English teacher at MCIF I saw my students grow immensely. With the confidence they gained through improving their English and being a part of the community they attained better jobs and were able to better advocate for their children in school.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I taught at the MCIF Center for a year and have continued to volunteer since. The MCIF Center is a wonderful resource for the greater Bushwick community; from the English classes to GED and computer literacy courses, MCIF helps the women and men who attend better engage in their communities. Further, the leaders of MCIF have a deep commitment to helping students find other resources. The students themselves are an inspiration, as they commit not only to juggling classes with parenthood, work, and family obligations, but also work together to fight for community causes, like park improvements. It is such a privilege to be a part of the greater MCIF community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more resources to help fund classes, student activities, and projects.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

i would like to give a review of the MCIF center, this non profit is not only helping the latino community become more active in being part of the community learning options but it is changing lives. i have a few friends that are attending classes and they have great feedback about MCIF, such as they feel like they finally have a great place local in brooklyn to further their language education with great teachers. i refer and recommend all my latino friends to be a part of MCIF activities, and i would like to see this place to continue to grow. Thanks to the education program, latinos are being given more chances in jobs thanks to their growing knowledge in the language and helping families become more unified. i can't wait to gather some friends to volunteer at this center in the nearby future and for more years to come!

sincerely,
brooklyn resident

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reach out to more and more communities,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have worked in close partnership with MCIF to improve the neighborhood for the past two years. In this role I work with many MCIF participants, the vast majority of whom speak very highly of the program. MCIF is a place where participants stay for several years, and go from having minimal English skills, to being able to communicate effectively. In addition, MCIF offers other programs, besides ESL, that students take advantage of, including: nutrition classes, GED preparation, computer classes, and leadership training. Maybe most importantly, at MCIF participants develop strong relationships with one another and their instructors, making the center memorable for everyone involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the funding in order to expand programming.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been the Head Instructor at MCIF for over a year, and I was drawn to this organization because of its community-centered environment. The Center not only offers a range of classes (ESL, GED, citizenship, computer, and entrepreneurship), but also brings in outside resources and workshops for students such as nutrition classes, legal assistance, and safety presentations. Students participate in regular celebrations, a weekly flea market, and have a daily coffee break during which they mingle with students from the different ESL classes. The Center even has a student council - elected by peers - that works to communicate about issues and events related to the school. We have a dedicated staff who, due to the consistent work hours and paid staff meeting time, really get to operate as a team. It's a fabulous place that deserves all the support it can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organizations needs more resources and space to support the learning needs of students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I joined MCIF as an instructor recently, and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my career as an educator so far. Coming from a large organization to a small one was a significant change, but the staff and students at MCIF have made my transition easy. The students have been especially welcoming, and I continue to be inspired by their dedication and passion. MCIF is definitely a leader in the field of ESL education.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

MCIF Center uses a holistic model to teach the students they serve. Not only, do they work on the rules of grammar, but also on incorporating the social aspect of the English language. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

MCIF provides a valuable and timely solution to citizens and new comers in developing their English language skills. The methodologies used by MCIF are time tested and quantifiable. It is important to note that as American citizenship issues of documented and undocumented individuals work their way toward a solution with an English language requirement that MCIF is currently positioned to provide that service. Equally as important is that individuals in the program become more culturally assimilated, have better job opportunities, can help their children with school language arts and gain more confidence in their understanding or our society.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers