Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Matty Fund has been a great support system for my family. Our daughter Leslie underwent brain surgery in Septmember. Before the surgery and after members of the Matty family were there to help prepare us and support us during this difficult time. I am pleased to help to fundraiser for this organization especially since funding is being earmarked for research. Current research on the brain is making great headway and organizations like the Maty Fund help to continue that effort. Right now our daughter is seizure free and our hope increases with each passing day that her life may return to normal. Thank you Matty Fund!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase research funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I started interning with The Matty Fund in January 2013. I can honestly say this was the best first internship I could have asked for! Not only are the people who are involved in the Matty Fund an absolute pleasure to work with, but the information about epilepsy and non-profits I have taken away from my experience has been incredible. The Matty fund helps out so many families and children and it is amazing to see how all of their efforts impact so many lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

The Matty Fund does an incredible job at in providing information and support to an underserved population: parents and families afflicted with epilepsy.

The Matty Fund is there to help families navigate the overwhelming and confusing landscape of epilepsy by providing support,
resources, referrals, and an overall sense of caring and love that families desperately need in the depths of this diagnosis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I donate to The Matty Fund for many reasons, but most importantly because I am confident that my donation helps children and families right here in Rhode Island. Donations support activities for children living with seizures and the side effects of strong medications and much needed support for parents to help them understand, accept and deal with this condition; as well as, to become strong and effective advocates for their children. I have seen firsthand the positve impact of their programs and services. Their school awareness program has had statewide impact among school age children to encourage an atmosphere of understanding, inclusion and safety while children are in school; support groups that are now accessible statewide connect families who share similar experiences so they can learn from and support each other through the challenging and rewarding times; workshops on epilepsy related topics help parents navigate complex educational and medical systems on behalf of their children; professional development for medical professionals encourage and improve patient safety, college scholarhips and childrens activities that are fun and safe are all examples of a local non-profit doing great work right here in Rhode Island, and I know my donation is making a difference!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

The Matty Fund impacts the lives of patients with seizures both on the local and the national level. The fund's programs provide resources and outreaches to patients with seizures and families providing education on diagnosis, treatment and quality of life issues. Through the foundation's research initiative, seed fund grants allow important work in the pilot stages to be carried out in the critical initial phases. Collaboration with Brown University and Rhode Island Hospital basic and clinician neuroscientists also allows mentoring and training of the next generation of researchers. Research sponsored by the Matty Fund has been published in national neurologic journals. The Matty Fund's effect is far reaching, from community to the laboratory, improving the lives of patients with seizures and their families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

My role in the mattyfund, volunteer, parent of a child with epilepsy, board member and most importantly facilitator of the Discovering My Epilepsy Support Group. I have been a part of the Mattyfund since 2004 and since then I have watched this small foundation evolve into an organization that not only raises money for research; but also provides education programing, academic scholorships, and lectures and workshops for both professional and parents. The Mattyfund continue to find new and creative ways to help support the children and families of RI. As they continue to grow I see there out reach of support spanning accross the United States.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

Anytime I hear about the Matty Fund and/or the Siravo family a cache of emotions arise. I am so sad that Matty passed away far too young from this loving family, while also being so happy that many folks have benefited from the Foundation's success. I am impressed with the entire Siravo family and all the details they have taken care of for others who have family members with Epilepsy. I have been blessed to be involved through the years with all of the Siravo's and their highly personal endeavor to keep the "angels" amongst us well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the heightened awareness regarding Epilepsy, particularly in children. The text that was written and illustrated with young children in mind was so well received at the local schools. Great questions and discussions arose after reading this book.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot find one area of concern with this Foundation.

November 21, 2011

more

November 21, 2011

The Matty Fund is a unique non-profit that truly focuses on supporting children and their families affected by Epilepsy. They have helped our family significantly as we raise our daughter, Grace, who has been living with Epilepsy for seven years now. We felt isolated and scared until we met the Siravos. Through the Matty Fund, we have connected with some wonderful families that understand the struggles we face, and we don’t feel alone anymore. We feel supported and loved and know that no matter what challenge may lie ahead that the Matty Fund will be there to provide support and guidance. We are so thankful for the Matty Fund! They have truly changed our lives as well as so many others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2011

more

November 13, 2011

The Matty Fund truly embodies the best traits of a non-profit - support from the community to support those in the community! The Siravos have turned a personal tragedy into a a community supported organization and now the Matty Fund is flourishing into a resource for every family in the state who has to deal with epilepsy. Even though I am fortunate not to be affected by epilepsy, I have seen first hand the support that the Matty Fund affords those who need it. God forbid another family be inflicted the way the Siravos have, but if so, they can be assured they will have more support than they ever could have imagined.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

as a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

November 12, 2011

more

November 12, 2011

Advocacy for any patient is important, however the Siravo's have taken advocacy to another level. Matty was and is their love as well as the rest of their children. However, not every parent(s) devote their life to help fill the void that others feel given the same situation. They have gone a long way in helping children and parents dealing with the many forms of epilepsy. Their work is truly heartfelt and meaningful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm personally impressed by the Siravo's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to continue their meaningful work.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers