Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

The Matty Fund has provided my family and so many families support and services unlike any other organization. The Matty Fund's resource center provides so many programs, services and information about seizures and epilepsy. There is no other organization in the country that provides so many opportunities to families dealing with epilepsy. Thank you for all you do!!!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I've had the opportunity to work with the Matty Fund for the past several years, interacting with the office staff, founders, volunteers and families who benefit from their services and resources. The warmth and personal attention given to families is truly inspiring to see. From a humble beginning, The Matty Fund has grown into a robust resource for epilepsy support throughout the community!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Our family is indebted to The Matty Fund for the invaluable support and resources that they provided. Lead by Richard and Deborah Siravo, The Matty Fund continues to reach new heights in terms of creating awareness and fostering a spirit of community for those directly or indirectly affected by epilepsy. Though our 9-year old son has been seizure-free for 2.5 years, our family will always be a part of and will always support The Matty Fund, because quite simply, doing what they do improves the human condition!
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I am a board member of Rock-N-Jock Charities, We have worked with the Matty Fund for several years. We host a concert and golf tournament in August with the proceeds supporting the work that The Matty Fund accomplishes. We have supported a number of charities in years past. When we met Richard and Debbie Siravo and heard their story we instantly knew that this charity was one that we had to support through our fundraising efforts. After working with them for two years my family was suddenly dealing with a very small family member who was diagnosed with epilepsy. The Matty Fund has supported this little one with their Camp Matty, their Easter Egg Hunt as well as providing resources and education for our family. I can not even image the heartbreak that the founders of The Matty Fund must have felt when they lost Matthew--they however turned their lose into a foundation that supports so many. I feel lucky for having met Richard and Debbie Siravo and I consider them friends for life. Suzanne Viner Media Relations Rock-N-Jock Charities

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Matty Fund has been a great support system for my family. Our daughter Leslie underwent brain surgery in Septmember. Before the surgery and after members of the Matty family were there to help prepare us and support us during this difficult time. I am pleased to help to fundraiser for this organization especially since funding is being earmarked for research. Current research on the brain is making great headway and organizations like the Maty Fund help to continue that effort. Right now our daughter is seizure free and our hope increases with each passing day that her life may return to normal. Thank you Matty Fund!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase research funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I started interning with The Matty Fund in January 2013. I can honestly say this was the best first internship I could have asked for! Not only are the people who are involved in the Matty Fund an absolute pleasure to work with, but the information about epilepsy and non-profits I have taken away from my experience has been incredible. The Matty fund helps out so many families and children and it is amazing to see how all of their efforts impact so many lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

The Matty Fund does an incredible job at in providing information and support to an underserved population: parents and families afflicted with epilepsy.

The Matty Fund is there to help families navigate the overwhelming and confusing landscape of epilepsy by providing support,
resources, referrals, and an overall sense of caring and love that families desperately need in the depths of this diagnosis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I donate to The Matty Fund for many reasons, but most importantly because I am confident that my donation helps children and families right here in Rhode Island. Donations support activities for children living with seizures and the side effects of strong medications and much needed support for parents to help them understand, accept and deal with this condition; as well as, to become strong and effective advocates for their children. I have seen firsthand the positve impact of their programs and services. Their school awareness program has had statewide impact among school age children to encourage an atmosphere of understanding, inclusion and safety while children are in school; support groups that are now accessible statewide connect families who share similar experiences so they can learn from and support each other through the challenging and rewarding times; workshops on epilepsy related topics help parents navigate complex educational and medical systems on behalf of their children; professional development for medical professionals encourage and improve patient safety, college scholarhips and childrens activities that are fun and safe are all examples of a local non-profit doing great work right here in Rhode Island, and I know my donation is making a difference!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

The Matty Fund impacts the lives of patients with seizures both on the local and the national level. The fund's programs provide resources and outreaches to patients with seizures and families providing education on diagnosis, treatment and quality of life issues. Through the foundation's research initiative, seed fund grants allow important work in the pilot stages to be carried out in the critical initial phases. Collaboration with Brown University and Rhode Island Hospital basic and clinician neuroscientists also allows mentoring and training of the next generation of researchers. Research sponsored by the Matty Fund has been published in national neurologic journals. The Matty Fund's effect is far reaching, from community to the laboratory, improving the lives of patients with seizures and their families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

My role in the mattyfund, volunteer, parent of a child with epilepsy, board member and most importantly facilitator of the Discovering My Epilepsy Support Group. I have been a part of the Mattyfund since 2004 and since then I have watched this small foundation evolve into an organization that not only raises money for research; but also provides education programing, academic scholorships, and lectures and workshops for both professional and parents. The Mattyfund continue to find new and creative ways to help support the children and families of RI. As they continue to grow I see there out reach of support spanning accross the United States.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers