Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Ruth Esther. Por ser una persona que no solo estudio en la organizacion de Patricia sino que tambien soy una de las voluntaria en este projecto que es como mi hogar donde todas las niñas con la que trabajo son como mis hijas por que gracias a la Organizacion de Mariposa Foundation he podido desarrollar mi conocimiento en la enseñanza y compartir mi conocimientos con que mas lo necesitan. Por una mejor Educacion para todas las niñas de la Republica Dominicana y el Mundo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

As a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer in the Dominican Republic, I have witnessed the issues and obstacles that young girls and women in the DR face as they develop and mature and try to find their role in society. Many of them never have an opportunity to even play, because they are too busy cooking and cleaning and taking care of their families. As a current member of the board for the Mariposa DR Foundation, I am proud and honored to support Tricia and the Mariposa staff and volunteers. They are offering these girls a safe and nurturing space where they can develop and grow (how we typically think youth/adolescents experience life and learn), which not only empowers them to be creative but also to think more critically. They are learning not only how to take care of themselves but also how to take chances...they are truly learning how to FLY! I highly recommend stopping by the center if you are in the Cabarete area. This is a trustworthy organization that truly invests in these girls and their communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I learned about the Mariposa Foundation on my second visit to the Dominican Republic. By chance I met Tricia and Jessica after I read about the foundation in a local publication. Their story about the work they were doing was so compelling that I asked if I could visit the modest building where they hold some of their activities and meet some of their girls. As an lifelong educator and advocate for at risk youth, I was profoundly impacted by the level of the commitment of the staff and the volunteers. It was amazing to me how they did so much with so little! I was so impressed by the work being done by the Mariposa Foundation that I when I returned to my home town I repeatedly told my friends, family, and anyone who would listen about the foundation. I also encouraged them to donate money and to send supplies. I am always thrilled to hear about the work of the Mariposa Foundation because it reinforces to me what is possible through passion, hard work, and courage. They are building a model that can be replicated in other countries where they realize that educating and developing girls and young women has a direct and positive impact on the entire community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

The mariposa DR foundation is an excellent example of providing a positivie environment for young girls to build their confidence and self-esteem. The team is increadibly devoted to the kids. I have enjoyed hearing how the girls have grown from year to year and value the work the foundation and know that the money is well spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

As the father of a volunteer I have first hand knowledge of the benefits of my donation. My daughter volunteered for the first time during the summer of 2009 to act as a summer camp leader. She returned the following summer and decided that she would like to spend the year. When I learned of her desire I know I needed to check the foundation out. My family visited Aug of 2011 and saw firsthand the dedication and benefits of the foundation and the programs provided to the young ladies. The funds that my wife and I provide are all put to good use and well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

The Mariposa DR Foundation is a great example of what can happen when an inspired, dedicated and committed group of individuals dedicate themselves to lifting young girls - and consequently entire communities - out of poverty by simply investing in their health, education, well-being and overall positive development. During my time with Mariposa, I gained valuable insight into both the short-term as well as long-term vision for these girls and their communities and was incredibly impressed by the dedication of every single staff member - both local and international - in their relentless efforts. The multi-pronged approach of addressing an issue through multiple perspectives is what is critically needed in order to make sure that the entire community is ready, willing and able to support these girls in their transitions from adolescence to adulthood, and it is encouraging to find this philosophy embedded in the programming and planning of the Mariposa DR Foundation's activities. By being able to work not just with the girls but also with their families and with other community members, I was able to really get to the crux of many problems, and along with other volunteers and staff adequately address the needs of the girls as well as empower them to make healthier decisions and choices. This is a great community-based model for girls empowerment and one that really encourages the girls to develop themselves as leaders as part of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

The work that Mariposa DR Foundation does just makes sense. Working with young girls to end generational poverty and creating sustainable change in our community really does work. The positive changes in these girls and their families lives are proof of the Foundation's incredible impact in our community. Young girls in poverty are finally able to experience all that our community has to offer; kiting, theatre, surfing, kayaking, sports, and access to better education and health programs, etc... It is impressive to see how much the Foundation has done in such a short time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

September 18, 2011

more

September 18, 2011

I volunteered for the Mariposa DR Foundation this past summer as the leader of the sports group. When I signed up for this experience I had no idea what to expect. I had never met anyone else that would be down there, I didn't speak Spanish, and I was going to be put in charge of 18 girls in a community I had never been in. To say I was nervous would be an understatement. With that said, this summer was easily the most memorable and transforming experience I've ever had! I was welcomed into a community of amazing women with open arms and had the incredible experience of developing bonds that surpassed language barriers. Seeing the difference that the Mariposa DR Foundation is making in the lives of so many adolescent girls was phenomenal. This organization is providing the girls with so many opportunities that they would never have received otherwise. On top of that, being a Mariposa gives the girls a support network and a safe place to grow and learn. Leaving the girls and the staff at the end of the summer was an incredibly difficult thing to do, but I know that I'll be back with them next summer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the incredible dedication of the girls, parents, and volunteers involved with Mariposa. The impact they have on the community is huge!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people to volunteer!

September 10, 2011

more

September 10, 2011

This summer, I volunteered for Mariposa in their Summer Leadership Program. I led the theatre group and worked with a group of 11 girls to create a piece of theatre about their lives. Throughout the summer, my sister and I recorded our day-to-day experiences on a blog, http://www.emotionalcreaturesdr.blogspot.com . However, to summarize, I had the most amazing experience working with the girls and the other Mariposa leaders. I have never felt such inspiration, such talent, and such power from a group of people. The fact that we were all women made it so much more special. I am still in touch with all of my girls, as well as some of the other volunteers and Mariposa staff members. This organization is based on a special legacy, that of the Mirabal sisters, and the symbol of the butterfly is incredibly powerful. The experiences I had with Mariposa are unforgettable, and the women I worked with continue to inspire me today. I will most definitely be returning. Once a Mariposa, always a Mariposa.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

looking at the direct effect on the girls. These girls come into camp so excited, so joyful, and they just love every minute of it. Of course, they learn a great deal during camp, but more importantly, we also have so much to learn from them. It is a beautiful give and take.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to work with the girls on creating theatre. It is an incredible forum for them to express their frustrations and/or experiences with the issues that they must confront daily.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

If the lost of food and other living expenses was lower, if we did not have to pay for as much. But of course, the Mariposa Foundation needs to fund the camp, which is far more important, so I understand the necessity of such expenses for the volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely! I learned a great deal about myself, the girls, made amazing new friends, and I also got to witness the transformation of many of my girls. I now know for sure that I want to work in this type of organization in the near future.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Empowered and inspired.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 16, 2011

more

August 16, 2011

I have volunteered for the Mariposa Foundation for the past two summers. The girls are extremely motivated to learn. Their dedication to the program is inspiring. I truly felt that my energy and resources were valued. I already miss my Mariposas and their madres.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen improvements in some of my former students. They seem more open to continuing their education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would look for scholarship opportunities for volunteers.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers