Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Wow. I have worked with this Foundation for over a year and have watched it endure its growing pains and develop into a stronger more community oriented organization. The staff are dedicated to the girls in this group, striving to encourage and search out opportunities for these girls that would not be accessible otherwise. I have seen these girls develop, mature, and take on more leadership just within the 15 months that I have volunteered. In addition, not only are the girls and the goals of this Foundation great, but they receive a lot of respect from the rest of the Cabarete community. From the moment I arrived I already had an "in' with the community because I was part of this organization. My unique status provided me security, patience, understanding, experiences, and friendships that I would not have had otherwise. Not only does this organization bless its students, women, and the community, it also blesses its volunteers and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Mariposa Foundation is at the forefront of the growing global effort to educate, support, and empower women and girls to realize their full potential. It not only is acknowledging that girls’ empowerment augments the social, political, and economic stability and depth of societies worldwide, but it is actively taking steps to “unleash” the power of girls to find the strength, confidence, and purpose within themselves. Through art, sports, creative projects, field trips, lectures, service projects, readings, health classes, and focused discussions, the Mariposa Foundation offers girls of the Dominican Republic the opportunity to discover self worth and power, to think critically about the factors that shape their perspectives about women and their identities as women, and to create greater awareness of their rights as women and humans. As a volunteer, I can truly say that through sustained participation with the Mariposa Foundation, the “Mariposas” have an amazing opportunity to become leaders in their future homes, communities, and country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have worked for the Mariposa Foundation for the past two years and believe that they are truly addressing the most important demographic in Dominican Republic--adolescent girls. The Mariposa Foundation has worked hard to empower these important members of the community, who many times are overlooked by non-profits and development organizations. Kudos to the Mariposa Foundation for their work in building a stronger community and future for Cabarete. And thank you for letting me join you and experience the work first hand!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have volunteered for the Mariposa DR Foundation for the past 3 years now, and it has truly been a transformative experience. The organization has provided me not only with a clear understanding of non-profit work, but also of how to make a difference in so many lives. The leaders of the organization are kind, motivated and inspirational women. The girls who take part in the Mariposa programs are spirited, lively and absolutely willing to engage in all types of activities with anyone who is committed to the work. I have worked at the summer camp for the past two summers, and have had the opportunity to watch the organization develop tremendously. The changes I have been privy to just in the past two years are quite remarkable and I am so excited to get to be a part of the continual process of growth. Overall, though, the Mariposa DR Foundation is a revolutionary organization that is deeply tied to the community and as a result highly attuned to the needs of the girls and families it serves. I count myself lucky to be involved in such empowering, inspiring work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I love Mariposa DR Foundation because, with their help I have been able to participate in many activities. My favorite activity is circus, which I absolutely love! The foundation has inspired me in many ways. The foundation has also taken me to many places that I would have never had a chance to visit without participating. I know that I will go far with their support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a nurse who has been volunteering with the Mariposa Foundation for three years. I have seen it grow from a few committed individuals to a strongly supported organization flourishing in the Cabarete community. My husband, a pediatrician, and I provide annual physicals, vision screenings, and nutritional counseling to the girls. I also teach swimming lessons and surfing, with the hopes of getting more Dominican girls kitesurfing and taking advantage of the water sports that are available in their backyard. Working with these girls is both rewarding and challenging to to me. When a girl switches from being afraid in the ocean to confident and thrilled, it fills my heart with joy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

The Mariposa DR Foundation has helped me with a lot of things. For example, I have learned to kiteboard (my favorite sport!), surf and I love Capoeira class. I also get help with Math and English. My sister is part of the Foundation too and my mom works for them in the summer. Mariposa DR Foundation has helped me study in a private school. My life is better with the Mariposa DR Foundation and I am grateful to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a child of the Mariposa DR Foundation. The foundation has taught me many things: swimming, surfing and tennis. It has also given me the opportunity to get an education at CADIN, a private high school. With the Mariposa DR Foundation my life has changed for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a member of the Advisory Board of the Mariposa DR Foundation and I am very impressed with the magnificent work that is being done in Cabarete. I am a native of Dominican Republic and believe in giving back to my native country. My values align with those of the Mariposa DR Foundation because education is one of the key components of the Foundation's programs and I believe education is the key to success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

The Mariposa DR Foundation is doing a very good job, because the girls in our community are showing a different attitude and prostitution of girls is diminishing. Mariposa is great since the girls have learned to play and learned different activities in different ways. The goal of the Mariposa DR Foundation is to work with poorest girls and help improve the quality of life and education for every girl in our community. It's awesome and very nice what foundation is doing for the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers