Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

Even though I only spent a week volunteering with the Mariposa Foundation, I was blown away by the important work they are doing in the DR. Observing the impact that this Foundation has on the lives of these girls was a life-changing experience. I believe so strongly in their mission that I am dedicating a whole year to volunteering with them after I graduate, and can't think of a better way to spend my time. The Mariposa DR Foundation is a truly wonderful non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

Volunteering for the Mariposa DR Foundation was one of the best, most life-changing experiences I've ever had. I learned more in one week than I've learned all year being at an elite college -- thank you to everyone that made that possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I was a volunteer for early February 2013 for 8 days. The Mariposa Foundatio. Took great care of us (the volunteers from Middlebury College) and exposed us to the work they were in the works of setting up, currently doing, and well as how they had grown from the work doen in the previous year. It was an authentic experience in that it was a beautiful mixture of Dominicans and non-Dominicans workin together to improve the lives (yes, quite literally all the factes of life) for young Dominican girls/teens.

I would recommend one to try out the Mariposa Foundation experience to get a taste of the beauty Nd great potential of the Dominican Republic

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have witnessed the dedication and hard work of the Mariposa Foundation volunteers. I believe in what they are doing and highly support their cause. thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

A friend of mine is a teacher here and gives regular updates on the Foundation's activities with the girls via her blog. My favorite updates are the ones featuring a girl from a previous year at Mariposa. Reading about their accomplishments big and small really brings home the impact these selfless volunteers have in the community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I worked with the foundation over the summer and the work they are doing with the girls is truly amazing. The girls are so eager to learn with all the volunteers and it shows that the Mariposas are really making a difference in the community. The program gives the girls an opportunity to fill their lust for knowledge in a way that is very inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I've been a volunteer with the Mariposa DR Foundation since this Fall semester of 2012. Within the short time I've been here, I can already attest to the impact the organization is having in the lives of the young girls it works with as well as their communities. It is truly a pleasure to work with such a caring, enthusiastic and dedicated group, as the Mariposa staff/volunteers, who are united by a passion and commitment to empowering young girls to take charge of their future. Likewise, its been inspiring to work with the Mariposa girls, who are eager to take advantage of the opportunities the organization has to offer. Through a myriad of activities including field trips, community service, sports and educational classes, the Mariposa DR Foundation helps young girls to grow and develop into agents of change for their community. Undoubtedly, the Mariposa DR Foundation is a force to be reckoned with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

The Mariposa DR Foundation is making powerful impacts as a grass-root, community-run organization that educates and empowers girls to create sustainable solutions to end generational poverty. Girls make up 70 percent of the world’s 125 million out-of-school youth and one in seven girls in the developing world would marry before the age of 15. Studies show that every year of schooling increasing a girl’s future earning power by 10 to 20 percent. Girls who receive an education marry later, have fewer children, and are more likely to seek healthcare for themselves and their children. The positive impact of girls’ education has been shown to transcend generations, resulting in better health outcomes among women, their children, and eventually their grandchildren. And finally younger women are at higher risk of physical or sexual abuse than older ones.
Mariposa DR Foundation mission aligns its goals with the United Nations’ Millennium Development Goals. These goals include eradicating extreme poverty and hunger, achieving universal primary education, promoting gender equality and empowering women, reducing the child mortality rate, improving maternal health, combating HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases, ensuring environmental sustainability, and developing a global partnership for development. Achieving these goals is dependent upon the education and empowerment of women and young girls. As a good friend of a volunteer, I know of the benefits of this organization. I commend you all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Wow. I have worked with this Foundation for over a year and have watched it endure its growing pains and develop into a stronger more community oriented organization. The staff are dedicated to the girls in this group, striving to encourage and search out opportunities for these girls that would not be accessible otherwise. I have seen these girls develop, mature, and take on more leadership just within the 15 months that I have volunteered. In addition, not only are the girls and the goals of this Foundation great, but they receive a lot of respect from the rest of the Cabarete community. From the moment I arrived I already had an "in' with the community because I was part of this organization. My unique status provided me security, patience, understanding, experiences, and friendships that I would not have had otherwise. Not only does this organization bless its students, women, and the community, it also blesses its volunteers and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Mariposa Foundation is at the forefront of the growing global effort to educate, support, and empower women and girls to realize their full potential. It not only is acknowledging that girls’ empowerment augments the social, political, and economic stability and depth of societies worldwide, but it is actively taking steps to “unleash” the power of girls to find the strength, confidence, and purpose within themselves. Through art, sports, creative projects, field trips, lectures, service projects, readings, health classes, and focused discussions, the Mariposa Foundation offers girls of the Dominican Republic the opportunity to discover self worth and power, to think critically about the factors that shape their perspectives about women and their identities as women, and to create greater awareness of their rights as women and humans. As a volunteer, I can truly say that through sustained participation with the Mariposa Foundation, the “Mariposas” have an amazing opportunity to become leaders in their future homes, communities, and country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers