Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.538465
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Lucky Duck came to our elementary school when a mallard duck set up her nest in our school planter. She agreed to take Daisy and her ducklings to her place to keep them safe from cats, and birds. All of this was televised on Channel 4 and the promise was to return Daisy and her ducklings back to Rowland Heights when they were able to fly and release Daisy back to her own environment. She was not forthcoming in her information to us and seemed very angry when we showed concern on what was happening. Today we learned from a flyer posted on her site that Daisy and her ducklings would be released to almost certain death in the LA river on Sunday. We worked very hard to keep her safe while at the school and assumed she would do the same. Very very disappointed in someone who claims to rescue. Just an update on this review, Lucky Duck released Daisy and her babies on June 29th and refuses to give us a location. We have also been banned from making any comments on her site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Mean what you say, and follow through

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

As one of the sisters of the woman who runs The Lucky Duck Rescue & Sanctuary, I watched her intense passion for ducks develop from her childhood. She fell in love with her first pet duck, named Susie, as a young girl. She has been wonderfully drawn to the beauty of these animals from the start. Over the years, she's grown in her knowledge of ducks and become quite inciteful in her dealings with them even before this work began.

Now she has begun a really good work and it has grown quite fast. She has a strong commitment toward the survival and well-being of these animals. She really cares about them--actually, she loves them. And she absolutely loves this work. Hers is the only domestic duck rescue within a large area. She's become known as an expert among those she helps.

At this point, her biggest need would be big pens for the ducks. Please come alongside her and provide financial assistance to meet this need. These would help the work operate more efficiently. Any additional help you can give would be greatly appreciated. She would love this work to continue growing and thriving as she reaches out to meet the needs of the duck population within her reach.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've heard feedback of some who've benefited from her work. Her reputation is very positive. She's respected in this field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help her get a little more organized. I'd also bring in one or two reliable assistants to help her.

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

It was a wonderful experience to visit this place.
This is a small but dynamic water fowl resue organizaion.
They sincerely care for each and every one of their residents.
To view over 100 bidrs, includng ducks, geese, musovies , birds and animals wandering around the faciliity
is truly an amazing experience.
Despite the struggle for funding, they do an awesome job helping these birds and animals.
Carol, the director of this non profit group, loves and cares for all of her residents. She has give each one a name.
I really enjoyed my visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the quality of care the animals were given. The pleasure of wataching these annimal roam around the property.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They certainly could use a few more larger pens to accommocate all the new arrivals. Ovioulsy, the need additional funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

How did you learn about this organization?

That a few dedicated people can make a real differnece.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

Carol Chrysong, founder and executive director of the Lucky Duck Rescue and Sanctuary, is a dedicated advocate for the health and well being of all abandoned, mistreated and unhealthy ducks and other birds. She has been passionate about the health and safe living conditions of all feathered creatures for many years, and through her rescue and sanctuary provides protected and safe sanctuary for the 1,000 plus birds birds now residing in her sanctuary. Upon observation, one finds her birds to be healthy and happy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Followed the healing services of some of the birds under its care and benefited from the rescue and education efforts put forth by this foundation. I have been educated as to the characteristics and habits of these endearing creatures. I have seen Carol Chrysong administer medicines and other treatments to care for sick or injured birds, and her green approach to their living conditions. I have been amazed at her skill, gentleness and love for her patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The biggest need I found would be to upgrade the size of the bird pens. Being the only rescue and sanctuary in the Los Angeles and surrounding areas, Luck Duck needs bigger duck pens to enable the sanctuary to keep up with the ever increasing bird population and still provide quality care.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...


Thoroughly scrub all pools and water buckets. Also remove old bedding and replenish with new bedding in all pens.