Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.538465
Write A Review
March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

Carol Chrysong, founder and executive director of the Lucky Duck Rescue and Sanctuary, is a dedicated advocate for the health and well being of all abandoned, mistreated and unhealthy ducks and other birds. She has been passionate about the health and safe living conditions of all feathered creatures for many years, and through her rescue and sanctuary provides protected and safe sanctuary for the 1,000 plus birds birds now residing in her sanctuary. Upon observation, one finds her birds to be healthy and happy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Followed the healing services of some of the birds under its care and benefited from the rescue and education efforts put forth by this foundation. I have been educated as to the characteristics and habits of these endearing creatures. I have seen Carol Chrysong administer medicines and other treatments to care for sick or injured birds, and her green approach to their living conditions. I have been amazed at her skill, gentleness and love for her patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The biggest need I found would be to upgrade the size of the bird pens. Being the only rescue and sanctuary in the Los Angeles and surrounding areas, Luck Duck needs bigger duck pens to enable the sanctuary to keep up with the ever increasing bird population and still provide quality care.

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

On June 24th, 2010 we rescued a duckling roaming the streets of Fullerton. We began raising it but having no knowledge of what we were doing and inadequate facilities to house it we were very thankful to come across the Lucky Duck Rescue and Sanctuary in Sun Valley.
We spoke to her and
explained our situation and she said she was happy to take care of her. We delivered her the duck on Sunday, Oct. 3, 2010, and after spending more than an hour with her and seeing all the happy ducks and fowl and her clear expertise we left her in good hands.
We visit her occasionally and on our latest visit March 26th, 2011 saw our duck happily maturing and she is now laying eggs comfortably in the security of her well-cared home.
We donate to the rescue and look forward to continuing our support.
Best regards,
Gregory Liu
Simi Valley, CA

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have taken our stray duckling and continue to house and take care of it in a friendly, social environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more broad-based funding.

March 27, 2011

more

March 27, 2011

Having been in continuous operation since 1995, the "Lucky Duck Rescue & Sanctuary" is the only non-profit that provides quality care for abandoned and injured ducks, geese, and muscovies in the entire Southern California area. The rescue presently is providing sanctuary for over 110 birds. All healthy birds are free to roam our grounds during the day, and are safely penned at night. Sadly, most of the rescues were pets, whose owners had to give them up. Just dropping these birds in local parks and ponds insures there sudden demise, due to predation and starvation. The "Rescue" is basically their only hope for survival.

Carol Chrysong, the director, has loved these lovely creatures since
childhood. She is lovingly known in the Sun Valley, California, as "The Duck Lady." Despite her meager wages as an independent bookkeeper, she provides 90% of the funding necessary for continuous operation.
Operational funds for food , pen construction, vet bills, mortgage, and grounds maintenance are an on going monthly struggle to maintain.
For the past 15 years, Ms Chrysong, has sacrificed the financial security of her life for the benefit of these truly loved creatures.

She and her birds deserve our support from like minded souls.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally been present at the rescue when duck owners came to request sanctuary for their pet. The relief and gratitude they expressed, as a result of our taking in their loved pet, was heartwarming, to say the least.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are in immediate need of large pens to house some of our recent arrivals. Needless to say, donations from like minded souls are an on going need.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...


Thoroughly scrub all pools and water buckets. Also remove old bedding and replenish with new bedding in all pens.