Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.760875
Write A Review
April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

There are few things in life so amazing as to be worth not only doing them for pay, but doing them for free, even paying to do them. This is how I felt about my time at the aquarium. There are some jobs that when you leave, you never want to see them again. This is not so with TLPA. I chose to go back and volunteer for the aquarium AFTER working for them. I enjoyed every moment of while I was there and would recommend it to anyone. The aquarium is like a box of swimming jewels comprable with aquariums I have seen around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Hello,
i find my experiences at the aquarium allot of fun. I have my membership so I can bring my three year old to look at the animals and hopefully learn a little bit about them. For the purposes of my young child this meets my expectations. However, being a visually impaired individual
I think that a way you could make this more accessable to people with a vision issue is to find a way to put what is said about the animal in brale without disrupting the print that is there of finding a way to make a booklet of the discriptions of the animals in braile and in large print so that people with a form of visual impairment can also learn about all the animals because it is difficult for a blind parent or blind child to learn about the animals there when we can not read about them at least.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I would like to thank the LPA for letting us hold our Salt water Club meetings there!!! They rock!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

What a fun place to visit with my grandsons. I first visited The Living Planet Aquarium on a whim due to cold weather and wanting to take my grandsons someplace. It was so happily surprised. Although currently in a small building (they will be moving this summer to a very large location) there is a great use of space and many wonderful exhibits. There are always some aquatic animals who are active. The shark tank has a wide variety of critters to watch. The penguins are always active and entertaining. The octopus (if one is lucky enough to be there at feeding time) is amazing to watch. After our first visit we decided to become members and although we live about 35 miles away we visit 3 times a year, often taking additional people with us. We are excited for the new location and new animals. I have recommended to many friends that this is a fun place to visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I love going to visit the Living Planet Aquarium. I have two children who are 10 years apart in age and they both love going. Our favorite areas are the shark tank and ray exhibit where you can actually get a chance to touch the rays. We also like the penguins and other exhibits. Overall, it's an excellent place to visit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

Staff is always friendly. Some days parking is practically non-existent. Otters are almost always asleep when we come, so we never get to see them. The 'petting zoo' is exciting for all ages. A bit much forcing everyone to walk through the gift shop on exiting. This is an emotional hardship on the children of parents or other adults who cannot afford to buy them anything on each visit, and is definitely something I dread when it's time to leave. ( Please locate it elsewhere in the new location. )

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

We LOVE to visit the Living Planet Aquarium! I have 3 children, two of which have special needs. We first went to the aquarium in 2011. We weren't sure what to expect but thought we would give it a try. I'll never forget watching my kids eyes light up at the sight of the jelly fish, and the sharks. Every exhibit is well maintained, and every animal there is, you can see moving about actively. The animals all seem very happy and content. As the years have gone by, and more and more animals are put on display, my kids seem to enjoy it just as much as the first time we went. The paths are very wide, and it is easy for someone with a stroller, wheelchair, or walker, in our case, to get through easily to see every exhibit. There are steps up for smaller children to stand on so they can independently view each tank, and a children's area where the tanks are down on the floor. It's such a great place with lots to see, and plenty of hands on activities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

As a biology teacher, and a parent, I feel the Living Planet Aquarium is an amazing resource for people of all ages. The displays are engaging, hands-on, and well-presented. I take my daughter there every time we visit Utah. I grew up in Salt Lake City and only wish something like this was available in the Salt Lake area when I was a child. I teach in Nevada and am always amazed at how little children who don’t live near the ocean know about aquatic life. Facilities like the Living Planet Aquarium allow people of all ages to experience and learn about aquatic life in a variety of ways---I recommend it highly!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

The Aquarium is a great excursion for young children. I especially like to visit when the weather is poor and I want to get out of the house. There is a surprising amount of aquatic life at the current/temporary location and numerous interactive exhibits. The price of a season pass is inexpensive and my two years old daughter's entry is free. Can't wait to see the new location!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

As a child I grew up by the ocean. It is amazing watching fish and other sea creatures live. The Living Aquarium is an wonderful place to enjoy the sea and all of the creatures in it. I love to take my 3 year old grandson and share my knowledge with him. I have also had the pleasure of having experts from the aquarium teach my 4th grade students about the water cycle. I love having The Living Planet Aquarium in Salt Lake City and I hope they continue to grow both in size and in our community. Thank You,
Rachel Summers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Educate visitors, clean up the environment, staff event tables, build education materials Volunteer