Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.760875
Write A Review
April 20, 2013

more

April 20, 2013

A great afternoon to spend with your kids.

This aquarium focuses very nicely on varieties of animals kids in Utah might not otherwise have an opportunity to see. We've visited this aquarium so many times, I really can't count. We've seen it grow from it's original location in downtown
Salt Lake, to it's current location in Sandy, Utah. We look forward to it's continued growth.

Our travels have allowed us to visit very large aquariums in other cities. By comparison, Utah's aquarium is still in its very early stages. However, The Living Planet Aquarium has made a great effort to provide themed settings and appropriate ambiance. There is always the sense that you have stepped into a different world. Local water habitats of the west have not been overlooked, which is greatly appreciated. Marsh settings of the arid west and mountain lake habitats are represented among the many offerings. Overall, the aim appears to be an educational experience with emphasis on children and youth.

My kids always canvas the entire aquarium. They want to visit everything on every visit. By far, they enjoy the penguins exhibit and the opportunity to pet the rays in the open pools. The newer South American exhibits are really fascinating to my kids, especially since they are fond of watching "River Monsters" on TV. The large fish of South America are represented in the aquarium's collection.

We have enjoyed the privilege of invitations to childrens' birthday parties held at the aquarium as well as the opportunity to attend summer camps. It's a nice way for the kids to explore the aquarium with a guide who provides an age-appropriate educational experience.

There is an appealing gift shop with a range of items and a cafe that's nice to have on hand. A longer visit will inevitably lead to hunger and thirst! The outing is complete when we enjoy lunch together in the cafe. There is a somewhat limited choice, but the kids lunch in a basket is enjoyable and healthy. Sometimes we choose to enjoy a soft drink or a bottled water as the refreshment for our visit.

Also, the drinking fountain and restrooms appear clean and well maintained.

I would recommend the aquarium to anyone with kids 12 and under. Older children will enjoy it as well, but the younger kids are very likely to request return visits. It's cool inside in the heat of the summer and a pleasant retreat from cold and gray winter days. The Living Planet Aquarium has held a regular place in our play date repertoire.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

Love this aquarium! We never get sick of going and plan to renew our membership agian. The set up is great and I feel like it is an enjoyable learning experience each time my family goes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I love this aquarium! I have 2 young children that are very active and they stayed completely entertained the whole time we were there-nearly 2 hours. The prices are very family friendly and the staff was so amazing! My girls still talk about the "amazing aquarium with the sharks, and penguins and cool stuff!" Such a great family day! We bought a year pass and we'll happily make the hour drive to enjoy it again!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

With its touch tide pools. interesting and informative exhibits, and creative layout, The Living Planet Aquarium is a fun and educational place for families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I am very impressed with The Living Planet Aquarium! My kids love it every time we go. Ever since the first time we visited with my then 2-year old son, he has been very interested in fish and other aquatic creatures. I love that his interests go beyond Spiderman and Batman, and I believe The Living Planet Aquarium has a lot to do with that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

We love to visit the living planet aquarium. The River otters, and the penguins are our favorite to watch. When ever you have a question there is always someone knowledgeable to help. This is a great place for indoor family fun!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

This acquarium is wonderful. The people who work there are knowledgeable and courteous. There is such a wide variety of sealife and opportunities to learn new things. I have a membership and go often.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I have been to the aquarium with my grandchildren several times. And it doesn't matter how many times we go, they still enjoy going. The exhibits never get old. they love watching what they animals do and could stay all day. They love to play in the play area. I can hardly wait to see what the new aquarium will be like. I know my grandshildren will enjoy that one even more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I love to visit the Aquarium. I took my 13 year old Nephew with me the first time we went and he begs me to take him there every time he comes to stay with me. Now he is 15 and we still love to go to the Aquarium to see all of the amazing things there are to see. I think that is pretty awesome for a teenager. Great job, TLPA. I would love to volunteer, but my declining health makes that impolsible, but that would be so much fun.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

My two boys and I are big fans. Since we live in land-locked Salt Lake City, marine life is not part of our normal day-to-day experiences, and an afternoon at the aquarium is a real treat for us. My boys both like the hands-on ray tank where they can touch the rays (like a petting zoo, but for fish). I like the sharks, especially the ones in the big tank. The fresh water stuff is pretty interesting as well (I get to point to a rainbow trout and say something like "those live in the river by the cabin.").

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Educate visitors, clean up the environment, staff event tables, build education materials Volunteer