Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Without education and critical thinking a society becomes stagnant. That's why I believe with all my heart on the principals and work of the Literacy Alliance. This is an organization that understands that developing a love for and engaging children, teens and adults in reading is critical for a better community and stronger individuals. It's a pleasure to be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

It's been very rewarding to have been a part of the Literacy Alliance since it was created a few years ago to fill a void in the services available to residents - specifically the children - of Seminole County. Watching the teens and children share the joys of reading, story participation, music and songs is a great way to spend an afternoon, or even many afternoons.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I love being apart of The Literacy Alliance! It is my joy to be with children, teens, other great volunteers and books! Being able to bring a positive literacy experience to children and teens in distressful situations is very rewarding. Each time I see the teens and children become engaged and interested in the learning experience, I am grateful. It touches my heart to see them smile because of their success at that moment. I love that we go were there is a need for a love of books! To each program we bring encouragement, humor, acceptance and most of all books. We love sharing literature and wherever we go, that love is easily seen and best of all – it is catching.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am proud to part of The literacy Alliance, a non profit organization based in Central Florida. It offers many different programs for kids in the Central Florida region; book talks, puppet shows, puppet movies, magic tricks, science experiments, reading exercises and poetry activities. Most of these programs are catered towards at-risk kids at the Seminole Regional Juvenile Detention Centre, the Eugene Gregory Memorial Youth Academy, Boys Town of Central Florida, Midway Safe Harbor institute and homeless shelters. In addition, The Lit Alliance conducts programs at the local elementary and middle schools, local county library and at the local book stores.
These programs not only benefit the kids, but also the numerous volunteers that participate to make these programs successful. They regularly perform in front of audiences as actors and speakers, and they help develop props and other required materials for the shows. Overall, it is a great experience for the volunteers.
Diane Keyes, the president of the Literacy Alliance is someone who continuously attempts to promote reading and education for at-risk kids. She has dedicated her entire life to the community around her. She is a librarian by profession, but an altruist by nature. She needs all the support she can get to make her mission successful. Help us continue this effort by volunteering for this organization and/or by making a donation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers