Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been volunteering with The Literacy Alliance for almost two years now and all I can say is that it brings me joy to be volunteering with an organization so involved in spreading the word about the importance of reading to children. They are consistently having programs at schools, libraries, hospitals etc. and at every event there are always smiles put on kid's faces. The amount of effort put into the creation of these nonprofit programs is all in an attempt to make the shows worth watching. The kids are always involved in at least one "skit" and there is always an attempt to engage them with the activity being shown. I wouldn't change volunteering with The Literacy Alliance for anything, it's a fun and intriguing way to be engaged in my community. Please support them! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to make more time to volunteer with them and participate in their amazing programs which are absolutely worth watching! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

as a volunteer for the lit alliance i had so much fun going to daycare facilities and putting on shows for the kids. they always remembered us from last time and were so excited to see us perform again. the literacy alliance is a wonderful organization that makes reading fun and accessible to the audience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Literacy Alliance has transformed and changed many lives in the Central Florida area including my own. Growing up I did not enjoy reading and did not feel creative. Once I was in high school I needed to volunteer and thought this organization would be something low key and easy to finish my hours with. Although it wasn't what I expected, it was just what I needed to break out of my shell. We were traveling to schools and doing puppet shows for children. We also brought books and learning materials to families in need. The puppet shows were so much fun for us as volunteers and the kids loved them! They were engaged in the stories and could participate in activities and crafts reminding them of the story line or lesson being told. The founder, Diane Keyes, has put her heart and soul into building this organization. She and her team enriches the lives children and families every day in the community. Even though I have now graduated, I continue to support this and can't wait to see the next group of kids enjoy our puppet shows every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I originally started volunteering with the Literacy Alliance in my senior year of high school in order to fulfill the community service requirement for a scholarship. The experience I had being a part of the Literacy Alliance actually led me to participate more than the required time for the scholarship. I enjoyed putting on puppet shows, that were based off of books, and I feel that we were able to get the children we performed for interested in picking up a book of their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I began volunteering with the Literacy Alliance as a junior in high school (four years ago) and it has been such a fun and rewarding experience! The other students I worked with were very nice and enthusiastic and the different children we performed puppet shows for were always so excited to watch and participate. I certainly believe we encouraged kids to read more by showing how fun books can be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I volunteered for the Literacy Alliance my freshman year in high school. It was a wonderful and rewarding experience. Everyone was very friendly and it was great to be able to give back to this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have been volunteering for the Literacy Alliance for several years and it continues to be a rewarding experience. My favorite thing about volunteering for this organization is being able to reach such a diverse audience. One day I'm performing for an after school program for at-risk children and the next day I'm preforming for families at a children's hospital. However, no matter where we go, the kids always light up and have so much fun with us. I love it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for the Literacy Alliance many times. The work I've done with them always seems to be extremely positive and well-received by the children. The organization is always focused on doing the best work possible. I've helped them present shows at disadvantaged schools and day cares in the Sanford area. The kids are always laughing and enjoying the stories and science experiments, and hopefully are inspired to pick up a book on their own time, or pay more attention in science class! Definitely volunteer or support this organization in any way you can, they definitely won't waste your time or money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013

more

March 28, 2013

I searched for a long time to find the best fit for me as a volunteer and found it in The Literacy Alliance. It is such a pleasure to perform programs for head start and other kindergartens, showing children the many things they can learn from reading, e.g. a little science, magic, and fun. There is nothing more important than the education of our young people, and I am honored to be a small part of an organization that is striving to make a difference in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers