Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

Last week I brought my daughter who has ADHD to the library to see the Bookbusters. The program was so fun and entertaining that she was engaged the whole time. And even though she often has anxiety about getting in front of others she felt very comfortable participating and getting involved. It was such a cool and creative show! She doesn't usually like to spend time with books but she loved the books presented with the puppets. I think it's awesome that the Bookbusters go out into the community and bring the library to kids who usually don't get to go. It's also great the way they make books fun for kids who sometimes struggle with the challenge of reading.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

The Literacy Alliance has brought many smiles, giggles, and pure enjoyment to over 100 primary grade students, and their teachers, in my school. Through puppet shows, music with story books, magic, and much more my students experienced how fun it is to read! I am forever thankful to The Literacy Alliance for helping me instill a love of learning and reading in young readers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

The Literacy Alliance has transformed and changed many lives in the Central Florida area including my own. Growing up I did not enjoy reading and did not feel creative. Once I was in high school I needed to volunteer and thought this organization would be something low key and easy to finish my hours with. Although it wasn't what I expected, it was just what I needed to break out of my shell. We were traveling to schools and doing puppet shows for children. We also brought books and learning materials to families in need. The puppet shows were so much fun for us as volunteers and the kids loved them! They were engaged in the stories and could participate in activities and crafts reminding them of the story line or lesson being told. The founder, Diane Keyes, has put her heart and soul into building this organization. She and her team enriches the lives children and families every day in the community. Even though I have now graduated, I continue to support this and can't wait to see the next group of kids enjoy our puppet shows every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

We had our first experience with Literacy Alliance this year. What an amazing experience for us! They did two presentations for about 80 VPK children. The ladies were charasmatic, engaging and prepared. They did a wonderful job of mixing listening with actual participation. One lady even sent something home she had made to remind the children of one of her stories. The children loved it! Our budget is very tight so we were thrilled to have this literacy rich opportunity for our students at no cost. We have booked them for next school year and look forward to them coming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I work with Diane Keyes and have had opportunities to see the teenagers who volunteer for Book Busters and withness their enthusiasm for this project. Not only do they bring the joy of books to other kids, they get to experience the reward of helping others. It is a win-win situation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Without education and critical thinking a society becomes stagnant. That's why I believe with all my heart on the principals and work of the Literacy Alliance. This is an organization that understands that developing a love for and engaging children, teens and adults in reading is critical for a better community and stronger individuals. It's a pleasure to be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The Literacy Alliance did a wonderful job helping keep the children engaged at our monthly support meetings for Mended Little Hearts of Orlando. The activities were educational, interactive, and fun! Diane and the other volunteers were warm and friendly and made all the kids, no matter their age and abilities, feel welcomed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Diane Keys came to Champion Elementary to read with our First Grade Classes. The students absolutely loved it. They were very excited about the content and it kept their attention. I liked how she had students participate in the lesson. She even made a tree out of newspapers. Some of my students went home and made them too. If you get a chance, this program is awesome and would be great for all students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I've had the privilege of observing some programs given by the Literacy Alliance. The are fun, lively and filled with joy. Best of all the kids are learning through this activity. Overall it is a wonderful experience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I work at Eugene Gregory Memorial Youth Academy, a school for at-risk youth. Diane and her staff at The Literacy Alliance bring a love of reading to the students in a unique way - through the use of puppets. It is incredible to see these "tough kids" get into character. Diane and her staff are patient and creative. With their expertise and leadership, our students came in 2nd place in the school-wide PSA contest on bullying. Each week, the students want confirmation that "the Puppet Lady" is coming. The Literacy Alliance's relationship with the students is price-less. And experience the students receive is definitely something they'll never forget.

Leslie Joyner-Cunningham
Teacher

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers