Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I have been volunteering with The Literacy Alliance for 4 years now, and I have loved it. It has taught me so many things and I can say with confidence that this is one of the best Nonprofits ever! The Literacy Alliance has touched the lives so many kids, adults, and volunteers. It truly is a great nonprofit and I hope everyone see that.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

My teenage son has enjoyed a one-month stay in Florida with the Keyes family to practice the language and learn about life in USA. In this way he could know The Literacy Alliance and had an enriching volunteer work. Diane showed him the value of helping the community and the importance of never quitting the reading. My compliments to the organization for a wonderful job.

Maite Uriarte (Spain)
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been volunteering with The Literacy Alliance for almost two years now and all I can say is that it brings me joy to be volunteering with an organization so involved in spreading the word about the importance of reading to children. They are consistently having programs at schools, libraries, hospitals etc. and at every event there are always smiles put on kid's faces. The amount of effort put into the creation of these nonprofit programs is all in an attempt to make the shows worth watching. The kids are always involved in at least one "skit" and there is always an attempt to engage them with the activity being shown. I wouldn't change volunteering with The Literacy Alliance for anything, it's a fun and intriguing way to be engaged in my community. Please support them! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to make more time to volunteer with them and participate in their amazing programs which are absolutely worth watching! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

The Literacy Alliance is a well run volunteer organization that does wonderful work with teens. I highly recommend supporting them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have observed Literacy Alliance since its inception. It is a wonderful group and they do amazing programs to promote reading and enjoyment for children from all works of life. A definate worthwhile group with all that they are accomplishing!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

as a volunteer for the lit alliance i had so much fun going to daycare facilities and putting on shows for the kids. they always remembered us from last time and were so excited to see us perform again. the literacy alliance is a wonderful organization that makes reading fun and accessible to the audience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When I hear & see all of the amazing things the LA is involved with, I can't help but be impressed. Kids of all ages and backgrounds are better off because of Diane and her hard-working volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more donations for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

Last week I brought my daughter who has ADHD to the library to see the Bookbusters. The program was so fun and entertaining that she was engaged the whole time. And even though she often has anxiety about getting in front of others she felt very comfortable participating and getting involved. It was such a cool and creative show! She doesn't usually like to spend time with books but she loved the books presented with the puppets. I think it's awesome that the Bookbusters go out into the community and bring the library to kids who usually don't get to go. It's also great the way they make books fun for kids who sometimes struggle with the challenge of reading.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

The Literacy Alliance has brought many smiles, giggles, and pure enjoyment to over 100 primary grade students, and their teachers, in my school. Through puppet shows, music with story books, magic, and much more my students experienced how fun it is to read! I am forever thankful to The Literacy Alliance for helping me instill a love of learning and reading in young readers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Literacy Alliance has transformed and changed many lives in the Central Florida area including my own. Growing up I did not enjoy reading and did not feel creative. Once I was in high school I needed to volunteer and thought this organization would be something low key and easy to finish my hours with. Although it wasn't what I expected, it was just what I needed to break out of my shell. We were traveling to schools and doing puppet shows for children. We also brought books and learning materials to families in need. The puppet shows were so much fun for us as volunteers and the kids loved them! They were engaged in the stories and could participate in activities and crafts reminding them of the story line or lesson being told. The founder, Diane Keyes, has put her heart and soul into building this organization. She and her team enriches the lives children and families every day in the community. Even though I have now graduated, I continue to support this and can't wait to see the next group of kids enjoy our puppet shows every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help children in homeless shelters and the hospital smile and laugh by sharing literature and puppets. Volunteer