Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Kentuck Arts Festival has open arms. On the third weekend of October every year, this outdoor gathering provides a magnificent environment where the tall and the small celebrate art. This year I watched again as pilgrims pranced, polished off, picked up on, and perused wondrous cross-genre offerings plucked from imagination and eased into our midst. For the first time since its inception, the young and the young-at-heart got messy and built memories at Kentuck for Kids without the enthusiastic encouragement of Carolyn Fritz, longtime volunteer and advocate who passed away earlier this year. Her spirit and generosity linger. Faith, persistence, and inclusion have secured this arts festival for 41 years. With its big heart, Kentuck grows community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012


There are so many wonderful things to say about Kentuck - and all well-deserved.  From a non-profit perspective, what amazes me about Kentuck is that such a small organization can successfully execute an iconic, nationally recognized event.

Kentuck has put hosted a Nationally
acclaimed art show for 41 years. From their small building, the Kentuck staff has consistently attracted some of the best outsider and folk artists in the nation, and some of the best collectors of art. Additionally , the Kentuck has actively sought out unrecognized talent.. Some of which had skyrocketed to the top, with the recognition of Kentuck.

In addition to identifying and promoting great art, they have educated the community: both local and those who travel from afar as patrons. It is an inclusive event which is attended by patrons who buy major works, as well as families simply coming to view art and participate in children's events.

I believe that Kentuck's commitment has truly played a part in not only recognizing, but also developing Southern Folk Art and, at the same time, educating and developing an educated art buyer.

I have been an invited artist for many years and attribute much of my children's keen eye to the years they have spent at Kentuck.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I had never been to the Kentuck Art Festival, but this weekend I had an opportunity to go and had such a great time. There was so much more to do and see than I had anticipated. The quality of the musical performances and storytellers was just wonderful, and the artists all showcased such lovely work. It was a real treat to spend the weekend perusing the vendors and enjoying the community atmosphere. I will definitely go again!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have had the honor of being an invited artist at Kentuck Festival of the Arts for many years. I have been doing shows as a working artist for 20 plus years. It is without a doubt my favorite show that I do throughout the year.
Upon arrival I am greeted each year by the staff and
volunteers as a member of the Kentuck family. These kind of special touches are a welcome change. I look forward all year to this show, as it is where I feel I am truly with my tribe. Kentuck has a great mix a folk/outsider art, contemporary art & outstanding craft. The music and demonstrating artists make this a well-rounded event. Even the activities for children have an unusual twist; my favorite is the musical instruments tent, where kids get a chance to try out an array of instruments.
In the past, when the park has encountered rain & flooding the staff was there coming up with solutions and working with the venue on long term solutions. The public is supportive of the event and the local newspapers to a great job with articles and spotlights on musicians and artists. They have a Patron Program that works wonderfully. The show hours are perfect, 9-5 Sat/Sun with load-in on Friday. What more can I say? I look forward to next year!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been participating in juried art festivals throughout the midwest and southwest for more than twenty years. Kentuck is indeed unique from my prospective.It is a wonderful mix of true folk art, pseudo folk art, semi folk, wanna be folk, contemporary work and just plain good art made by sincere craftsmen. It is a safe environment to brings kids and let them wander and wonder. It is the only art show about the art, craft and creativity, not about presentation . My first year the man across from us hung his work from a tree and leaned against a chicken wire fence. I was entranced as i watched throughout the day as he almost sold out. Its the only show I've gone to where a staff member stood in the path in front of my booth and said, "you need help? I'll get someone right over!" And did! Most of the artists I know come back year after year despite the mud, dust, pollen, floods, sunshine and cheer. It feels like an art show for artists though the public is a vital force- after all, we do need an audience!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Kentuck is a collage of talent, creativity and fun. Walking through the paths and finding the perfect piece of art is a delight. The music, the people, the entire experience is not to be missed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Kentuck is the best non-profit with which I have ever been involved. It provides year-round activities on its campus while its "signature", nationally-acclaimed festival occurs annually and attracts visitors across the country. Kentuck attracts all ages and provides a wide scope of art-related activities. All these activities are done with the end goal of perpetuating the arts, engaging the community, and empowering the artist. The organization operates in a professional manner, has an active board, a deep volunteer base, and a dynamic staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Kentuck is a fantastic, magical place--a place where children can be taught about art, and what the imagination can actually do when let loose. The art at Kentuck spans from very fine art to the essence of Southern folk art. The staff, board and volunteers are there, and they far exceed what is normally given. They treat the artist like royalty, and the visitors to this event even better. It is a wonderful place..and the morning after the show, I start looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Kentuck is a rare and unique art festival with an eclectic selection of art. I look forward to Kentuck Art Festival every year and each year I am impressed with the artists from around the country. The staff, volunteers, and board members do a great job implementing this event and it is obvious they take careful consideration when choosing the artists for the festival. I am also equally impressed with the ease of traffic associated with this event particularly when there is a home football game which also draws a large crowd. It is apparent that everyone involved takes every detail into consideration when planning and implementing this fantastic event. I am already looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Long running art festival in Northport, AL. Beloved by art lovers, families, artists and kids. Great way to engender love of art in younsters. I volunteer in Kentuck for KIds

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers