Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Joy of Sox is an organization that is filling a much needed niche for the homeless. Homeless individuals have shared that they are often the recipients of other articles of clothing and for this they are grateful, however, no one thinks of providing them with new socks and new socks are a much needed, much sought after item.
Ever stepped In a puddle on a cold wintry day? It's extremely uncomfortable. What is the first thing you want to do when you get home? Put on a pair of new warm socks! Our homeless brothers and sisters sadly don't have this option. And, cold, wet feet can lead to major podiatric and systemic health problems.
The Joy of Sox is working to ameliorate this suffering by providing homeless shelters with new socks to provide their guests.
New socks are something thing most of the population simply takes for granted. This organization is working to bring the joy of new socks into the lives of the homeless - one pair of socks at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find a generous person to donate space for the storage of our socks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been in the sock business for over twenty years and have always love the fashion business but wanted to make and impact in the lived of others. The Joy of Sox does that! This organization and it's founder make be proud to be a sock professional who can design and develop product for fashion and at the same time make an impact in the lives of those who are living on the street where your feet take a beating.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This nonprofit is the epitome of what began as one person, truly making a difference. I have had the honor of delivering socks, to a number of shelters in our area over the past couple of years. The organizations who benefit from Joy of Sox always comment how this is an item they usually don't receive. Used clothes are donated but what do you do with used socks - they are thrown away. Something so simple, that we take for granted, truly brings great joy & comfort to those in need! I am honored and humbled to see the hard work/dedication of those participating in this program and pray their good deeds will continue for many, many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find more time to be more involved with Joy of Sox!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to intern for a semester with The Joy of Sox. Not only is the service provided essential and tangible, but the education element is amazing. I learned not only about homelessness as a phenomenon, but also about general health, health of the homeless, and how something as simple as a new pair of socks once a month can radically improve someone's health. A great experience with a great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

As someone who has helped with publicity for The Joy of Sox since the beginning, I am proud of my affiliation with this outstanding non-profit. Tom is a visionary, and working with him has been a privilege. A lot of non-profits falter by trying to do too many things. The Joy of Sox has one very simple and clear purpose, and makes a direct impact on the homeless population. He makes interacting, donating, and volunteering easy, fun, and rewarding. I would strongly suggest to anyone looking for an opportunity to make a difference to volunteer or donate to The Joy of Sox.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

A local parish invited me to speak at their Sunday Masses. Afterwards, Tom Costello approached me and said he would like to help out with the agency I mentioned, Catherine McAuley Center in Scranton, PA. Sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy Mid-Atlantic community, this center provides temporary shelter for women and children in crisis and assists women to attain safe, affordable, permanent housing.

Tom and his terrific team provided 1511 pairs of socks that will warm both the feet and hearts of the recipients in Scranton. By providing NEW socks they also help promote the dignity of women, children and men who will gratefully receive them.
Sister Beth Flannery, RSM

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them advertise their mission more broadly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

First class organization. Really impressed by everything that they do. We work with the homeless, and it is dangerous to wear wet socks. And gross to wear horribly dirty ones. Joy of Sox helps us help them. And they do it in a remarkably professional and joyful manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Our organization provides everyday essentials for children living in poverty. New socks and underwear are always items in short supply. Joy of Sox has identified, and focuses on fulfilling, an unmet need in low-income communities that is urgent and ongoing, and often under the radar. We look forward to our regular donations of brand new socks which enhance our ability to perform out mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I like working with Tom and Nancy and all the people, I meet at the sock drives. I am trying to get my school involved because there are many homeless kids and they need socks too. I'm happy that my mom got me to be part of this fun and great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

A friend "resurfaced" after a period of living on the streets and the subject of The Joy of Sox came up. He emphatically reinforced the point that for the homeless foot issues are a major problem and that there were many times he had foot issues created by not having clean dry sox.

Who
knew that clean, dry sox, like so many things we take for granted, can have a big public health impact and improve the quality of life for the unfortunate? Well, they do. I heard it from the source.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sort, pack and possibly deliver the new socks to facilities for the homeless and needy around Philadelphia and the surrounding area.