Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

From the very start, the leadership of this relatively young organization has been willing to push the envelope to serve new clients.
Forty-eight hours before I was to depart for Anchorage, Alaska I mentioned to a friend at The Joy of Sox that i would be attending a fundraiser at Anchorage's
Downtown Soup Kitchen (DSK) - and that at the event, the DSK would be collecting gloves and socks for clients. If there is one place in the U.S. where gloves and socks are needed, it's Anchorage.
The next day, The Joy of Sox delivered to my home 89 pair of sox, which I took to Alaska and deposited at the DSK 72 hours later.
The Joy of Sox CARES!
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

From personal experience, I first hand, know the power of a pair of socks. Since discovering The Joy of Sox and speaking with Tom, my life has changed. I am now in a home and showering my community with 100s of socks. A GREAT Nonprofit to support and volunteer with. I am blessed.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This is a great non-profit! The people are fantastic, and everyone should get involved.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The Joy of Sox is a program meeting fundamental needs for the most marginalized in our societies. Our world would undoubtedly be a better place if each of us perceived human beings with the love and respect that this organization embodies. We each have rights and responsibilities to our brothers and sisters, and The Joy of Sox lives those responsibilities with conviction.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Several years ago I met the "Sock Man" through his wife, Nancy. Hearing Tom's story of how "The Joy of Sox" came about moved my heart. I decided for Christmas I would make a donation to this worthy nonprofit organization as my Christmas present for my family. I even shared his story in my Christmas letter. At another time I volunteered to sort the socks knowing that so many homeless are in need of such a basic simple piece of clothing that I take for granted. Fast forward, this fall I began a new ministry at a Detention Center where I assist in providing hygiene items for the women in which many are brought in off the streets. I connected with Tom asking if he could help me out in providing socks for the women. He didn't hesitate a moment in offering me assistance. Each time I offer a woman a pair of socks, I see a smile of appreciation for a warm pair of socks. I smile, too, in gratitude for the service that The Joy of Sox" provides beyond local neighborhoods to my neighborhood in Baltimore. Sister Kathy Claflin, SSJ
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am doing my 2nd year of post-graduate servoce with Cabrini Mission Corps and at some point last year was introduced to the founder, Tom, through his wife Nancy. Nancy and I both work at the college and once I found out about the great work Tom was doing for some of the most vulnerable and marginalized in our society, I couldn't help but want to learn more. I would like to get more involved, but with graduate school, service, work, and building my community it hasn't been easy. Nevertheless, I will find time to do some small things to help the cause including getting Cabrini College students involved! I hope others do small things too and together we'll make a big difference!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am a staff member of St. Thomas of Villanova Parish Community in Rosemont, PA.

We collect socks for the Joy of Sox throughout the year and also have parishioners volunteer with local Joy of Sox events (packaging, phone calls to local agencies, organizing volunteers.)

Our
parish volunteers appreciate how their volunteer gifts are utilized and they appreciate the efficiency of this organization. When we do a sock drive - parishioners know that the socks are going to get to people who really need those socks.

Thanks for this opportunity to express my appreciation for this nonprofit that fills a much needed gap in social services.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I work for The Salvation Army in South Bend IN. We were collecting socks to put in care packages for homeless individuals in our community. Tom called and discussed our needs with me personally, and was willing to ship the donation across the country to us. I've never spoken with anyone who demonstrates such enthusiasm and passion for his chosen service! We were excited to have a great agency partner to help us with filling the needs in our community, and our homeless clients are very grateful for new, warm socks, especially as the weather gets colder.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I met the leader and founder, Tom Costello Jr, of The Joy Of Sox, the day I showed up for an Entrepreneur class. He was to be our instructor. Over the length of that class I gained a strong respect for a man that I could tell, was dedicated to this cause. It seems so simple a thing to supply the homeless with socks but no one had been doing it on a large scale. What a great idea was my first thought. I've watched this charity grow from a local beginning to a solid national entity succeeding at their goal. I wish them well and totally support their efforts. I wholeheartedly recommend them and have no qualms about supporting them financially as well as with my well wishes. JohnnyK
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Been working with the Joy of Sox for three years and have enjoyed the partnership. Tom does such a great job educating the volunteers on why the work that they are doing is important. He enjoys celebrating the successes and, at the same time, look for ways to improve the organization. Joy of Sox is a great non-profit!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sort, pack and possibly deliver the new socks to facilities for the homeless and needy around Philadelphia and the surrounding area.