Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.173915
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

The Jericho House not only helps men and their families over come addictions. They provide services as weell landscaping and remodeling.
December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a recovering alcoholic and addict and have recently completed my Master’s in Psychology. I am interested in helping others like myself. Larry has been a family friend for over 30 years and I wanted his advice on how to get involved in a rehabilitation program to help other addicts. My dad and I spent several days at the Jericho House this July sharing meals, prayer time, and a church service with the men and their families. What I saw was amazing. A house full of addicts committed to Jesus, to each other, and to being sober whatever the cost. Addicts, including myself and Larry, spend lifetimes destroying friends, families, and loved ones. One year of life-saving separation from those same people to bring healing and restoration seems to be a small price to pay. The men I met seemed to agree.

I have kept in weekly contact with one of the men in the house since my visit through the mail. He celebrated his 5th month of sobriety this week which is the longest he has ever been sober. His letters are full of the love of Jesus. He constantly writes about what he is learning and the wonderful opportunity God has given him to spend this time at the Jericho House with other men that he has grown to trust and love. He has rebuilt relationships with his children and family. He now has a hope in a future he would not have dreamed of before.

If his were the only life changed by the Jericho House, it would be enough. Thank you to the McKenna’s who have lived through addiction and STILL CHOSE to help other addicts anyway.

To you Larry,

People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway. If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway. What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway. If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway. The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway. Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway. In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway. – Mother Teresa

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As the wife of one of the success stories from The Jericho House, I can't say enough positive things about this organization. I admit, I thought Larry was insane after our first counseling sessions. Telling me I couldn't call my husband, or come see him, I thought was horrible. What I LEARNED was my husband and I were horrible to each other. He was an addict looking for an excuse to use, I was an enabler who needed someone who needed me to take care of him. Our marriage was in shambles when my husband went to the Jericho House, we were just to co-dependent to see the mess. After several months, and several mistakes and missteps on both our parts, Larry suggested a ladies program in Vero Beach, Florida for me. I fought the idea for awhile, but gave in eventually. When I arrived in Florida, I was still clueless as to how destructive we were to each other. After 9 months of counseling, classes, and tons of inner healing, I had changed and I came home to a different husband. We spent weeks getting to know each other, and working on our marriage--especially our communication. It has not been a bed of roses, it has been a lot of hard work, and lots of forgiveness on both parts, but our marriage today is healthy, happy, and blossoming. I look forward to seeing my husband each night when he comes home, we enjoy our time together, and time that was spent fighting, is spent praying and affirming each other. This does not mean we never fight, all couples do, but we use skills taught to us through the Jericho House and inner healing to resolve the situation. We now appreciate our differences and embrace our similarities. Thank you Larry for not giving up on us, when everybody else (including ourselves) had. Your patience and tough love helped us grow up and move forward into the life Christ intends for us!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life, my husband's life, and in our marriage.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the family recovery classes, to include the inner healing class. Many family members need healing too.

November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have had the joy of knowing Larry and his family for over twenty years. My Dad served as Larry's Pastor as Larry experienced God's grace in dealing with his own battle as well as a call into this incredible ministry of freedom.

What a spiritual battlefield Larry and the team at Jericho
House have entered. A battle to see men delivered from a life of addiction and pain.

They don't compromise and work to lift high the only name that can save a person from himself and that is our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Larry has years of experience and uses a proven model of recovery that has been being used in a number of settings for years.

Take the time to learn more about this incredible ministry and get involved as the Lord leads you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing exciting testimonies of life change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the ministry more exposure.

November 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for the love, support and teachings given to my son at the Jericho House. My son is an addict and has fought his demons for years. The Jericho House staff and Larry McKenna taught my son to love God as well as learning to love himself. Larry McKenna teaches and rules with tremendous love , understanding and compassion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son's spiritual growth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is a wonderful place for men to learn to deal with their addictions. I couldn't think of any changes needed except in the increase in donations.

November 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I love how this program is helping my husband over come his addictions spirtually, mentally and physically.

BUT I do not appreciate how its been eight months and wont allow him to have anything to do with his wife. We are unable to work on our family and marriage even when the program
directly says thats part of what they do. It appears that they are trying to encourage us to get a divorce. Especially when the director of the program has gone as far as talking poorly about me to my husband and even in front of the other guys.

I've also been upset how in six months he was only allowed to talk to his 4 year old daughter twice and in the seventh month my daughter was begging for her dad so much I had to call the program and talk to a head counselor about her disstress. It was only then that he was allowed to start calling her. I appreciate Rick for making that happen. My daughter is exstatic when he calls and even though he is forbidden to talk to me I'm still greatful that he can finally talk to her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think all the guys should have the same rules and families should not have to go through any prejudice opinions just because of their unique situations. All the families should be allowed the same form of help regardless of any personal opinions of the counselors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers