Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.173915
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

What a great opportunity to be able to share our feelings about The Jericho House. To be a part of a ministry that is only two years old and growing is a God sent. We are not only volunteers but have a son in the program as well. We have been able to watch up close the changes the Jericho House has made in so many men's lives. The brotherhood that developes between the men is life long.

For us, we have seen the positive changes in our son, more confidence, dealing with feelings good and bad and buidling back bridges with people he loves. He has a renewed realtionship with God and understands the life long journey he is on.

As for Larry and Rick, these men give of themselves day in and day out with little if nothing in monitary compensation. The pay they get is the part they play in helping someone turn their lives around and live a happy and productive life. Both of these men care deeply for the men that come to them for help.

Being a part of The Jericho House has also changed us, we have made close realtionships with other families who know and understand the journey we are on. And through the recovery clases have learned how to deal with our own emotions and those of our son.

We are blessed that Larry and Rick have come into our lives. We will continue to work long after our son has graduated to help build an awareness of The Jericho House, and help in raising money for their continued success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having a son go through the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more people aware of the Jericho House and help further in their fund raising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

a great satisfaction in helping.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've been associated with non-profits for over thirty years and have known Larry McKenna for the past ten years. During my time with him for seven plus years at NLB, Larry not only helped my family, but helped me personally. He is one of the most dedicated men I've EVER known. He has always put others before himself and is a tireless leader and devote Christain. Because of Larry, I'm still at NLB daily and have been for the past 10 years. He is the main reason, I am teaching Famly Recovery at NLB and has recently helped me thru a tragic loss in our family (non-drug/alcohol related). Unfortunately, the world we now live in does not have enough Larry McKennas in it.

Sincerely.............Gene Alderman

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have had NLB folks go to Larry's J.H. and do well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Addictions can lead to a premature death! We are grateful parents for the many ways that Larry, Rick and their families have helped save our son's life! The directors of The Jericho House ministry make many sacrifices to teach, mentor, counsel and sow seeds of biblical principles into the lives of the men and their families. We have personally witnessed a progression of healing in countless lives because of the "tough love" that is practiced day after day. Family Recover and Inner Healing classes have helped us understand the depth of a person's struggles and pain along with learning we are powerless over others choices. It has been a blessing to be part of a ministry where truth is uncovered, chains are set free and hope is found! We believe God has great things in store for The Jericho House.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Sometimes people come to recovery looking for help and they get the help they need, not the help they want. I have known Larry McKenna personally for more than 10 years. In that time I have been blessed to see Larry in action from many angles. I and my wife sat under his teachings in marriage classes. I have worked as a volunteer in two of his ministries and was on the original board of directors for Waypoint.
There is no doubt in my mind that Larry operates with character. His ethics are based on Godly principles and beyond reproach.
Recovery is a renewing of the mind. We come into recovery having been convinced of lies about God, about ourselves and about others.
When Larry challenges these faulty belief systems in addicts and co-dependent spouses it can either be received or rejected. Either way it is a painful experience to deal with the truth about ourselves.
Larry has a deep relationship with God and his recovery is Christ centered. If you think about it, each addict has set up their own throne and kingdom in their hearts and these kingdoms must be given up by the current ruler and the thrones made empty for the King of Kings. Those not willing to abdicate; who continue to hold on to the lies they believe will never know the truth and the Truth is a Person who could set them free.
This program is a Christ Centered program and it is the Dunklin curriculum. So someone looking to successfully attain sobriety with serenity must be open to a relationship with a living Christ. Otherwise it would be an exercise in futility; a bed and a job with no pay... With Christ it is a doorway into an eternal experience with God and a family of people who are pursuing the same passion. It doesn't get easier, it just gets better. Hardship becomes a pathway to peace.
Larry and his family have sacrificed more than can be imagined to serve the people society would rather not deal with. They suffer to minister to those who most churches would rather not be bothered with. When I see negative comments like the very few that are here, I praise God because I know that Larry is doing what is best for the men, even if the men can't see it now. AND because of this scripture: “Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires.” Matthew 5:10
So Take heart Larry McKenna and family. You are doing what is right and the people who have known you the longest are standing in a circle with you. We believe in what you have done and will do for the body of Christ.
If you are considering a Nonprofit for either donations or for help for a loved one, or yourself consider this ministry and this leader very seriously. The ministry will change lives and the leader will do what God asks of him, no matter what to facilitate that change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes. I have watched Larry and worked for him. He is dedicated to God, the men and the ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. As much as this economy has hurt so many families, donations are down for all charities. It has been no different for this ministry.

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I met Larry M. in 2000 when he was director of NLB. Through his Inner Healing class, I found freedom from many destructive behaviors and more importantly, the self-hatred that was causing me to live a life full of self-sabotage. After taking the class 4 times, he invited me to be a part of the ministry by helping teach that same material to women who were significant to the men in the program. I taught there for a long time and continue to teach Inner Healing to women; seeing many lives changed because of his influence on mine.
Larry knows addiction and is an expert at helping addicts! Most people in the life of an addict are co-dependent and continually enable them. Larry is definitely not an enabler! He knows that, at any time, one of his men could go back to drug use and it be their last fix. He knows that what he does is really a life or death ministry! And I have seen him rescue many perishing men, and their families, from the brink of destruction! He knows what he is doing and does what he does because he knows what works with addicts! I send people his way that I know need the serious kind of heart surgery that Larry does. Jericho House is an incredible organization! It has a great success rate (with people who really want to change and not just stay the same).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Inner Healing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SEnd it money so they can do even more!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers