Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.173915
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have had the joy of knowing Larry and his family for over twenty years. My Dad served as Larry's Pastor as Larry experienced God's grace in dealing with his own battle as well as a call into this incredible ministry of freedom.

What a spiritual battlefield Larry and the team at Jericho
House have entered. A battle to see men delivered from a life of addiction and pain.

They don't compromise and work to lift high the only name that can save a person from himself and that is our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Larry has years of experience and uses a proven model of recovery that has been being used in a number of settings for years.

Take the time to learn more about this incredible ministry and get involved as the Lord leads you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing exciting testimonies of life change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the ministry more exposure.

November 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for the love, support and teachings given to my son at the Jericho House. My son is an addict and has fought his demons for years. The Jericho House staff and Larry McKenna taught my son to love God as well as learning to love himself. Larry McKenna teaches and rules with tremendous love , understanding and compassion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son's spiritual growth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is a wonderful place for men to learn to deal with their addictions. I couldn't think of any changes needed except in the increase in donations.

November 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've been associated with non-profits for over thirty years and have known Larry McKenna for the past ten years. During my time with him for seven plus years at NLB, Larry not only helped my family, but helped me personally. He is one of the most dedicated men I've EVER known. He has always put others before himself and is a tireless leader and devote Christain. Because of Larry, I'm still at NLB daily and have been for the past 10 years. He is the main reason, I am teaching Famly Recovery at NLB and has recently helped me thru a tragic loss in our family (non-drug/alcohol related). Unfortunately, the world we now live in does not have enough Larry McKennas in it.

Sincerely.............Gene Alderman

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have had NLB folks go to Larry's J.H. and do well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Addictions can lead to a premature death! We are grateful parents for the many ways that Larry, Rick and their families have helped save our son's life! The directors of The Jericho House ministry make many sacrifices to teach, mentor, counsel and sow seeds of biblical principles into the lives of the men and their families. We have personally witnessed a progression of healing in countless lives because of the "tough love" that is practiced day after day. Family Recover and Inner Healing classes have helped us understand the depth of a person's struggles and pain along with learning we are powerless over others choices. It has been a blessing to be part of a ministry where truth is uncovered, chains are set free and hope is found! We believe God has great things in store for The Jericho House.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

The first time I met Larry McKenna... It was 2003 and I was entering my first of at Christian Regeneration programs at NLB. Since those days I've come to think of Bro Larry as a second Father. I followed him to Waypoint Center. Where I can honestly say that he has seen me at my worst. It was there that I expierenced what you are reffering to as his " Tough Love"... but, little did I know or realize at the time that was what I needed. He helped me go through Dunklin Memorial Church. and then to his Servant Builders program. I Love Larry McKenna... and I trust him with my Life. Throughout the Years. I have watched him struggle. Sacrifice time with his Family, Money, and Nice Houses to devot his life to the Ministry. He has never tried to make a dime. and virtually given up everything he has ever had to help others.. And the payoff.. well, the reward is to see people like me. 30 years old. Running one of the largest half way houses/ Programs in the Gainesville Area. Great life and Success story. that Came to Him A Broken Child in 2003. I believe in Larry McKenna. I would follow him into any battle. He is My Mentor. My Friend. And My Brother. And it has Been a Pleasure in Life Knowing him.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Its devotion to the Community through helping other Addicts find help. and Reconciling Families

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Volunteer more of my time to them.

November 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Sometimes people come to recovery looking for help and they get the help they need, not the help they want. I have known Larry McKenna personally for more than 10 years. In that time I have been blessed to see Larry in action from many angles. I and my wife sat under his teachings in marriage classes. I have worked as a volunteer in two of his ministries and was on the original board of directors for Waypoint.
There is no doubt in my mind that Larry operates with character. His ethics are based on Godly principles and beyond reproach.
Recovery is a renewing of the mind. We come into recovery having been convinced of lies about God, about ourselves and about others.
When Larry challenges these faulty belief systems in addicts and co-dependent spouses it can either be received or rejected. Either way it is a painful experience to deal with the truth about ourselves.
Larry has a deep relationship with God and his recovery is Christ centered. If you think about it, each addict has set up their own throne and kingdom in their hearts and these kingdoms must be given up by the current ruler and the thrones made empty for the King of Kings. Those not willing to abdicate; who continue to hold on to the lies they believe will never know the truth and the Truth is a Person who could set them free.
This program is a Christ Centered program and it is the Dunklin curriculum. So someone looking to successfully attain sobriety with serenity must be open to a relationship with a living Christ. Otherwise it would be an exercise in futility; a bed and a job with no pay... With Christ it is a doorway into an eternal experience with God and a family of people who are pursuing the same passion. It doesn't get easier, it just gets better. Hardship becomes a pathway to peace.
Larry and his family have sacrificed more than can be imagined to serve the people society would rather not deal with. They suffer to minister to those who most churches would rather not be bothered with. When I see negative comments like the very few that are here, I praise God because I know that Larry is doing what is best for the men, even if the men can't see it now. AND because of this scripture: “Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires.” Matthew 5:10
So Take heart Larry McKenna and family. You are doing what is right and the people who have known you the longest are standing in a circle with you. We believe in what you have done and will do for the body of Christ.
If you are considering a Nonprofit for either donations or for help for a loved one, or yourself consider this ministry and this leader very seriously. The ministry will change lives and the leader will do what God asks of him, no matter what to facilitate that change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes. I have watched Larry and worked for him. He is dedicated to God, the men and the ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. As much as this economy has hurt so many families, donations are down for all charities. It has been no different for this ministry.

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I met Larry M. in 2000 when he was director of NLB. Through his Inner Healing class, I found freedom from many destructive behaviors and more importantly, the self-hatred that was causing me to live a life full of self-sabotage. After taking the class 4 times, he invited me to be a part of the ministry by helping teach that same material to women who were significant to the men in the program. I taught there for a long time and continue to teach Inner Healing to women; seeing many lives changed because of his influence on mine.
Larry knows addiction and is an expert at helping addicts! Most people in the life of an addict are co-dependent and continually enable them. Larry is definitely not an enabler! He knows that, at any time, one of his men could go back to drug use and it be their last fix. He knows that what he does is really a life or death ministry! And I have seen him rescue many perishing men, and their families, from the brink of destruction! He knows what he is doing and does what he does because he knows what works with addicts! I send people his way that I know need the serious kind of heart surgery that Larry does. Jericho House is an incredible organization! It has a great success rate (with people who really want to change and not just stay the same).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Inner Healing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SEnd it money so they can do even more!

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have followed the work at Jericho house for over 4 years. ?The work that they are doing has helped many otherwise helpless cases get back into society. Yes he is tough. It take a tough love approach to get people to admit their addiction and beat it. His program is based on the biblical principles of gods forgiveness through Jesus Christ.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many of the group stay off their addition for several years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not qualified to answer this.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I personally know Larry Mckenna and Rick Aanonsen. They have both worked in this field for well over 20 years and their ability to help men overcome addiction is proven by the many men's lives who are now living in freedom. As far as honesty and integrity go you won't find two men who are more trustworthy. I am very proud to say that I believe Jericho House is one of the top programs to help men out of addiction in the United States.
As far as the critism goes, I know Rick and Larry are men who are teachable. That said I do not believe the men who wrote these criticisms have ever run a ministry like this and have absolutely no clue what it takes to do so. If I could offer them some advice, clean your heart up.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 24, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

This place operates on a shoestring budget and utilizes food stamps to feed the men in the program. In my time in the program I witnessed numerous guys berated at the director's mood and that is contingent on how the wind was blowing on that given day.

It would also appear your treatment
in this program was contingent on how much money you or your family possessed and was willing to give to the program.

I have seen them solicit (extort) donations from guy's currently in the program to buy items we did not have the money to purchase. Item's that were needed for day to day operations.

I have personally witnessed people who drank or used drugs multiple times who were allowed to stay in the program and other people who broke a rule once were kicked out.

In the likely event you are kicked out!

Don't ask for a refund!

You are graciously given a ride to town and left on the side of the road .
No phone call or help period. Don't bother to ask.

If you are repeat customer then this is the place to go as you can graduate in mere weeks or a few months at most.

Plan on working everyday in the cold or the heat or rain/snow. Class time is max 2 hours 2 times a week.

Trust me you are too busy working to have class.

After experiencing first hand just how fake the pretend pious nature Rick espouses to others and his real nature is revealed to you as he is kicking you out.

Which he loves doing, you can tell he neither care's if you live or die once he has quickly made up his mind to toss you away like a bag of garbage. No consideration is given to your legal matters or even if you have a place to go.

He carries mace in his pocket to protect himself, that should be an indication of his treatment of others, no golden rule here.

Let's not forget the "shoot from the hip" half-truths spouted by Larry. I am sure he thinks he is justified in his embellishment because in his own mind he is helping to save your life. If he doesn't know the answer he will make one up while you wait!

If you have any legal troubles I would not consider this facility as they will constantly threaten to call you P.O. about anything they consider a problem.

I am speaking of small stuff the judge looks at you and shakes his head ruefully like why am I being bothered with this pettiness!

This place is famous for making a mountain out of mole hill and sweeping mountains under the carpet if you have cash.

The only positive comment I can give on this facility is the curriculum from Dunklin Memorial Camp is good.

I love all of these reviews by people who have not lived in that house, nor have experienced the wrath of Larry or Rick. It is easy to say how great someone is until you have lived with them, then you can give an honest opinion on just how bad the conditions really are every day.

Board Member's reviewing the program, such as Jared & Emily Flowe how is that really a honest review. I can see Jared doing a review on NLB, but since he does not live there, nor has he ever lived at TJH just how accurate can it be!

How can he do an honest review?

Mr. Maddox you work there! Yet you speak of us not knowing how to run a ministry, I think Paul covers it best in 1 Corinthians 13:4–8a

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

Isn't this what Jesus taught??

I think these reviews should be for people who have been in the program or family, not friends of Larry's and Rick's and certainly not people who have not been in the The Jericho House program.

I am glad to see this is turning into a No Longer Bound and Waypoint review page. Talk about strongholds!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

living in a house with 10 to 14 guys. We shared 2 bathrooms and had 1 hot water heater on a septic tank that was built for a family of 4 to 6 tops. The smell of raw sewage in the field behind the house is horrible. one washer and dryer for the entire house and you are only allowed to use cold water when you do your one load of laundry per week. One of my favorites is the TV in the living room that is a misnomer as it is for show only as they do not have cable or even an antenna.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

First get a board that does not bend to the will of every whimsical idea of the director. Being held accountable is drilled into you , try holding everyone to the same level of accountability starting with the staff. If you are gonna talk the talk then walk the walk!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers