Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.955415
Write A Review
November 19, 2014

more

November 19, 2014

Iv'e known about the Gallery from way before I moved to NY. It has this aura of a place that functions as a growing nest for young musicians that gradually become the leading force of the NY jazz scene as well as bringing some of the most incredible veteran musicians to share their talent with a very attentive, loyal and hungry for music audience.

It is one of those places that has this magic about them that's hard to explain, but everyone feels it and knows it.

Please support it as much as you can. This place is important for this music..

November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

The Jazz Gallery has, for almost 20 years, provided a world class performance venue for cutting edge jazz in a city known for such music but, ironically, painfully lacking in venues of this kind. Through it's commissioning of new music, community building, and general support of jazz, the Jazz Gallery leads by example in the jazz capitol of the world.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is one of a kind. There is no other place that is as inviting to a wider diversity of musicians, performers and audiences in New York as the Jazz Gallery. I can't imagine a creative and thriving musical environment in the city without this wonderful venue. The impact of the Jazz Gallery ripples outward into the rest of the world by nurturing young, budding artists in their home in New York- providing them with a stage where they can hone in on their craft but more importantly, take risks and expand their minds. These musicians use the Jazz Gallery as a nest where they learn lessons about their art. We as musicians benefit from having such a place that we always go back to to grow and continue to hold dear in our hearts.
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most prestigious institutions that is committed to promoting young talent as well as established musicians .
Through its Residency / Commission Series I had the opportunity to write a Suite based on the music that surrounded me in my childhood in a poor
neighborhood in my hometown, Santiago de Cuba.
The music was written during a one-week residency and was released on a two-night premiere for a wonderful audience thanks to the promotional work done by members of the staff.
I am eternally grateful for this wonderful opportunity and the effort made by each of the staff members.
This organization is key to the development of jazz and the growth of young artists, a laboratory of ideas, a fundamental space for artists as well as a global beacon for the global jazz community .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most important breeding grounds for improvised music worldwide. Their programming is audacious and varied. Most importantly, it is an established venue in New York City ... more

August 14, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is one of NYC's most vital creative components. For many years the institution has been instrumental in putting on some of the most forward thinking and innovative music. Besides being a world-class venue, it is a hub for creativity and fosters a community by means of residency commissions, mentoring programs, clinics and much more. I've benefitted greatly from all that the Jazz Gallery offers and hope to do so for years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most important breeding grounds for improvised music worldwide. Their programming is audacious and varied. Most importantly, it is an established venue in New York City that is not afraid to take chances by giving younger musicians the opportunity to lead a band. This is an incredibly rare feat. Having been able to perform at the Jazz Gallery has been of invaluable importance to me as a musician.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Jazz Gallery is a special organization. Not only have I been inspired by the many concerts I've attended over the past seven years, I've had the opportunity to develop and to present my music in this amazingly welcoming venue, which has nourished my career as a performer and composer in many ways. Most recently, I was very fortunate to be selected to participate in the Jazz Gallery Residency/Commission Series for 2014. During the month of April, the Jazz Gallery was my workshop where I composed and rehearsed the music for my project entitled, Capturing Sunlight, a musical tribute to one of my great mentors, world-renowned visual artist, Preston Jackson. This project also features a short documentary, which was created by Diana Quinones Rivera, and lyrics created by Brianna Thomas. We presented this work in May at the Jazz Gallery to a wonderfully receptive audience. I am so happy with how this piece came together and will forever be grateful to everyone at the Jazz Gallery for providing me with the opportunity to create this work. So much can be accomplished if we are willing to work hard and if we are provided an opportunity. The Jazz Gallery is providing many opportunities to many up-and-coming artists, as well as presenting the music of some of the greatest performers and composers in the world. This organization is vital to the development of our immediate arts community here in NYC, as well as having a great impact on contemporary improvisational music around the world.

Thanks,
Greg Ward

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is home to some of the most creative and forward thinking music in NYC. It is an incredible home for emerging artists and is vital to the jazz and instrumental scene within this community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

The Jazz Gallery is a beautiful space and an essential part of the New York jazz scene. It highlights some of the most innovative musicians in the community and supports the creation of new music.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

There's probably not a place in the world like The Jazz Gallery. It not only has some of the most cutting-edge programming of any music venue in NYC, but it also puts the spotlight on young, rising artists. They first gave me an opportunity to perform there when I was 16, and the warmth, the enshrined history, and the love of the people working and running The Jazz Gallery make it, to this day, my favorite place to play. Every show I've seen there, I feel in awe of what I'm seeing and listening to, and so happy to see all the audience members relishing in this great and meaningful art. Thank you so much for what you do, it's truly amazing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

The Jazz Gallery is a innovative place for young and established jazz musicians in NYC and around the globe. I heard some of the most forth-thinking music there, some of the most beautiful and sensitive music and some of the most exciting music there...I LOVE THE JAZZ GALLERY!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers