Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
151 Reviews
1234.953645
Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most prestigious institutions that is committed to promoting young talent as well as established musicians .
Through its Residency / Commission Series I had the opportunity to write a Suite based on the music that surrounded me in my childhood in a poor
neighborhood in my hometown, Santiago de Cuba.
The music was written during a one-week residency and was released on a two-night premiere for a wonderful audience thanks to the promotional work done by members of the staff.
I am eternally grateful for this wonderful opportunity and the effort made by each of the staff members.
This organization is key to the development of jazz and the growth of young artists, a laboratory of ideas, a fundamental space for artists as well as a global beacon for the global jazz community .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most important breeding grounds for improvised music worldwide. Their programming is audacious and varied. Most importantly, it is an established venue in New York City ... more

August 14, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is one of NYC's most vital creative components. For many years the institution has been instrumental in putting on some of the most forward thinking and innovative music. Besides being a world-class venue, it is a hub for creativity and fosters a community by means of residency commissions, mentoring programs, clinics and much more. I've benefitted greatly from all that the Jazz Gallery offers and hope to do so for years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 17, 2012

The Jazz Gallery is one of the most important breeding grounds for improvised music worldwide. Their programming is audacious and varied. Most importantly, it is an established venue in New York City that is not afraid to take chances by giving younger musicians the opportunity to lead a band. This is an incredibly rare feat. Having been able to perform at the Jazz Gallery has been of invaluable importance to me as a musician.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is a special organization. Not only have I been inspired by the many concerts I've attended over the past seven years, I've had the opportunity to develop and to present my music in this amazingly welcoming venue, which has nourished my career as a performer and composer in many ways. Most recently, I was very fortunate to be selected to participate in the Jazz Gallery Residency/Commission Series for 2014. During the month of April, the Jazz Gallery was my workshop where I composed and rehearsed the music for my project entitled, Capturing Sunlight, a musical tribute to one of my great mentors, world-renowned visual artist, Preston Jackson. This project also features a short documentary, which was created by Diana Quinones Rivera, and lyrics created by Brianna Thomas. We presented this work in May at the Jazz Gallery to a wonderfully receptive audience. I am so happy with how this piece came together and will forever be grateful to everyone at the Jazz Gallery for providing me with the opportunity to create this work. So much can be accomplished if we are willing to work hard and if we are provided an opportunity. The Jazz Gallery is providing many opportunities to many up-and-coming artists, as well as presenting the music of some of the greatest performers and composers in the world. This organization is vital to the development of our immediate arts community here in NYC, as well as having a great impact on contemporary improvisational music around the world.

Thanks,
Greg Ward

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is home to some of the most creative and forward thinking music in NYC. It is an incredible home for emerging artists and is vital to the jazz and instrumental scene within this community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

The Jazz Gallery is an essential organization for the NYC jazz scene and a standard bearer for the world to look to when it comes to showcasing innovation and progress in composition, improvisation, and performance from the artists they present.

They provide an invaluable service through
presenting artists both new and established in an environment that fosters creativity and integrity.

As a first time bandleader, The Jazz Gallery walked me through all the necessary steps to get the most out of my performance both from a musical and professional standpoint. Their guidance and help were invaluable in making my performance a success and helped my project gain greater visibility.

Thank you!
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Our online payment is safe and secure. Every effort is made to ensure soccer jersey,football shirt kits that you bought from us are of great quality,2013/14 New Soccer Jerseys Cheap,Custom soccer Uniforms,Jerseys,Shirts for sale on http://www.bestdealjersey.com

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

The Jazz Gallery is a beautiful space and an essential part of the New York jazz scene. It highlights some of the most innovative musicians in the community and supports the creation of new music.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Many thanks to the Jazz Gallery for the world class performing they provide and talent they foster. Here's to many more years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

There's probably not a place in the world like The Jazz Gallery. It not only has some of the most cutting-edge programming of any music venue in NYC, but it also puts the spotlight on young, rising artists. They first gave me an opportunity to perform there when I was 16, and the warmth, the enshrined history, and the love of the people working and running The Jazz Gallery make it, to this day, my favorite place to play. Every show I've seen there, I feel in awe of what I'm seeing and listening to, and so happy to see all the audience members relishing in this great and meaningful art. Thank you so much for what you do, it's truly amazing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2011

The Jazz Gallery is the most non-pretentious Jazz venue in New York. It has nurtured my abilities to create new works of art in my drawings that I do while musicians are in performance. In some ways, ... more

May 23, 2013

Jazz Gallery is home to many veterans as well as up-and-comers in the jazz world. To me it exemplifies music for music's sake! It is innovative in its programming. Jazz Gallery is vital to have a place where musicians can experiment and feel free to do so. I feel grateful that I am amongst the community of listeners and appreciators of the music. I personally recommend Jazz Gallery as a venue to anyone who wants to hear the same quality music as a Village Vanguard or Blue Note, but who doesn't want to spend $60/ set. Jazz Gallery is affordable and the experience of hearing such great music in an intimate space should be a destination for anybody who loves jazz!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2011

The Jazz Gallery is the most non-pretentious Jazz venue in New York. It has nurtured my abilities to create new works of art in my drawings that I do while musicians are in performance. In some ways, I would not have such a close connection with art and music were it not for Jazz Gallery. Sure I can make art on any subject and I can listen to music at home. But Jazz Gallery is about opportunities to listen to great music as it is taking shape with importance placed on the musicians development. In this way, I have become a better artist and a better appreciator of this great form and ever-changing music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my work and in personal relationships with those that put music first and foremost.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change that much as the board is always fostering new talent and expanding its ability to inspire new works.

Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers