Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The I AM Foundation is one of the best nonprofits I have ever encountered. I met the founders, Steve Viglione and Marilyn Powers, in Kenya and helped to gift 17,000 copies of the I AM! Affirmation Book to children in schools, slums, and orphanages there. What makes them special is these books are printed in English and in the local language, which encourages both reading and literacy, as well as building self esteem and respect for others in a non-denominational, universal way children can understand. Since then I have gifted books in America and the Philippines, and I am working to raise funds to print the book in Nepali/English for the children of Nepal. I have been a volunteer and donor since 2008 and encourage everyone who wishes to make an impact in a country of your choosing to contact Steve and Marilyn via their website to learn how. It will enhance any travel experience you take in a life changing way. And pick up a copy of The Bridge, Marilyn's powerful book about life transitions: when I read it, I felt she was talking directly to me. The Bridge is a clear roadmap through life's progressions, written with love and wisdom to help us to live honoring our true selves and heading in the right direction.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Each year our church participates in mission work traveling to Jamaica where we visit schools, orphanage, home for severly disabled children, hospital (children's ward) and even hospice. 14-16 locations are visited as missionaries share the message of Christmas and bring gifts and supplies. The I Am Foundation learned of our work to edify children and enhanced our visit to enable us to not only bring a gift for the children, but to provide them with something of greater value....the gift of books to enhance reading. It was a pleasure to visit one of our schools in the hills and sit down with the teachers and students and present them with a book for each of the children. They were elated and our group, the Jamaica Children's Fund, was blessed. After learning about the newest book which is written in both English and Spanish, I shared it with colleagues who work in the national child care and healthy living initiatives. These books send such a beautiful message to children about taking care of themselves and the environment in a colorful and creative manner. I sincerely appreciate how the I Am Foundation finds a way to help other agencies who have children as their key focus as well. I am so thankful to have learned about them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Steve through a conscious parenting magazine I published several years back, in which we featured pages from The I AM! Affirmation book along with an article in each issue of the magazine. Steve came up with a number of powerful ways to collaborate to further both our missions. I can't think of anyone else I know who is as committed to the mission and success of their non-profit as Steve is. I have worked and volunteered for The I AM Foundation to help publish their books, translations, curriculum, blog posts and to host book launches. I've seen Steve & Marilyn speak across the country and be very well received. While I was traveling in India, my husband and I also shared the I AM Affirmation books with dozens of kids in a couple different schools. The kids (and adults) were positively impacted by the book.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am the founding donor of this organization and have also volunteered with The I AM Foundation since its inception. The Foundation's mission is unique, and the support that they offer to the beneficiaries of their amazing gifts is ongoing and continuous, because of the nature of the gifts. They help to teach kids and adults something they may never get anywhere else - the knowledge that they are special and loved - and this they will carry with them for the rest of their lives. Steve and Marilyn and among the kindest and most giving people I know, and it has been a pleasure to know and work with them for so many years. - Susan Shapiro

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I love the Mission of The I AM Foundation, especially the dedication and love that two Founders, Steve Viglione and Dr. Marilyn Powers have for their mission to empower children and young adults worldwide through publishing and gifting books and music that make a positive difference in their lives. Educating and empowering our children is the most important thing we can do to help bring about real social change. We know that food, water and shelter rank high on the list to help those in poverty and that's true, but what is going to change poverty in the first place? Education and empowerment of our youth! We support this foundation and the selfless contribution and time these beloved founders and volunteers have dedicated to the lives of others. Please help us continue to support his important I AM Foundation. With Compassion, Jerry Conti

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I am a long-term volunteer on the staff of the I AM Foundation. What this organization does astounds and amazes me. As a writer and editor (my profession), of course I would like what this Foundation does. However, when they gift books to children, teens, and adults in need, they leave such good feelings in the hearts of those who receive them. Even as an experienced writer and editor, I cannot begin to express, in words, how much that means to me and how their mission touches my heart. Can you imagine what it means to those who receive these books as gifts? And how it changes their lives in such positive ways? I am honored and privileged to be associated with this Foundation and their incredible mission. Vicki Worthington, Writer/Editor, www.scissorhandsedit.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Roger Mayer. Over the past several years, I have volunteered to assist The I AM Foundation in their mission to deliver an affirmative state of mind to the world we live in. They do this by gifting books and music worldwide and they deliver them with love. Simply said, "The I AM Foundation changes Lives!" To this point, The Foundation has gifted almost 1.5 millions books to communities in the inner cities and the third world. If you have the ability to donate to The I AM Foundation...DO IT! You will feel wonderful for having done so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers