Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

I started volunteering with THP in 1981, volunteered full time from 1981-85, and have participated sporadically as a donor and volunteer since then. THP is one of the most cost-effective NGOs on the planet, reaching 35 million of the world's poorest in over 22,000 villages on an annual budget less than $15 million. THP is so effective because a) THP directly confronts the most important root cause of extreme poverty: gender inequality. Before THP begins working in a community, a leadership team composed equally of men and women from that community is formed. b) THP does not send expensive Western experts to developing countries. Instead, THP develops local leadership. c) With less than 300 paid staff worldwide, THP is actually a volunteer movement, with hundreds of thousands of trained volunteers. THP succeeds because it treats the poorest with a deep respect, and believes that they must be the authors of their own development. By developing their leadership skills, THP is building a better future for humanity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand. Increase fundraising by a factor of 10.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Yes, The Hunger Project has not ceased to exceed my expectations every year since my first investment 25years ago. I haven't found an organization that better expresses my desire to make a difference in the world. I have done and continue to do my due diligence. Gratefully, it is clear that my investment in The Hunger Project is the highest leveraged difference I can make with my money. Not only is the realm of development altered by the principles and methodologies of The Hunger Project but I am confident that time will reveal that the entire course of human history was, and is, altered by our work. By giving my money I am expressing my partnership with our brothers and sisters around the world at the margins of society. It is happening now—hunger and poverty is ending! I now know that the poor don't need our charity—what they truly hunger for is our partnership. I have been to 7 of our program countries(2 twice). What a privilege it is to witness our work on the ground and what an honor it is to meet our partners ending their own hunger and bring back their stories. I am blessed to be a part of this global movement. When I die all that will need to be said about me will be that I was an investor in The Hunger Project—this is my legacy. Enough said.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

The Hunger Project is a gathering of individuals who share the desire to use their lives in a way that empowers, heals, inspires and creates change in our world. In the course of that kind of challenge our own lives are transformed and global citizens, with a wealth of knowledge, emerge. The founding principles of the Hunger Project continue to strengthen the course of, not only ending hunger, but abject poverty, and the rights of women in developing countries. As a Hunger Project volunteer for some years , i will say that I have found greater strength in myself as I worked to strengthen others. i found that partnership creates the energy for lasting change in people in developing and developed countries. The Hunger Project is about democracy in action. The Hunger Project is forward moving, strategic, and cutting edge thinking. I have volunteered, invested, traveled, and learned about our world through the Hunger Project and I have loved every moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I have invested money in The Hunger Project, which is really investing in people ending their own hunger, for years. And I have traveled to Ghana (on my dime) to see the results first hand. The way people are left as authors of their own future is remarkable. Also to see hunger eradicated by the people in the epi-center (villages) themselves in only 5 years, plus women owned banks, plus their own health care, plus greatly lowered infant mortality rate, plus food security is breathtaking. I have worked for the UN and know a lot of the solutions out there, and what The Hunger Project accomplishes is unbelievable for the investment. The biggest problem seems to be that traditional NGO's and donors can't believe the amazing results in such a relatively short period of time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I have experienced nothing less than tremendous inspiration and hope from this organization throughout my years as an investor. Their approach to hunger is unmatched, and the results of their work prove it. I had to choose my role as a "volunteer" on this website, because "investor" is not an option. There are no donors in this organization, there is no pyramid of money or status. Everyone who works within this organization is an investor in our future; no one is a donor. Investing in this organization means investing in infrastructure and education, empowerment and change. They look at the concept of hunger from a holistic paradigm; one can hunger for food, but s/he can also hunger for education, rights, empowerment, voice, or good health. That is why the three pillars of this organization aren't all focused on simply giving those who are hungry food. They focus on the empowerment of women, grassroots mobilization, and forging partnerships with the local government to create a holistic, and most importantly, SUSTAINABLE change. I am a college student that works for a non-profit who donates 100% of its proceeds to the Hunger Project. I began as a member, then the Chairman of Public Relations, and now I am President of my chapter. Every year our chapter donates anywhere from $20,000 to $40,000 to The Hunger Project. Every year we get together and analyze and research other organizations to donate to. We have often thought of splitting our proceeds to a couple of organizations, but our final decision always ends in donating all of our proceeds to this organization, because it is the best. I have met with many people who work within the organization, and they are all truly inspiring and amazing individuals. Please, if you ever doubt their work, visit their website at www.thp.org, or please feel free to visit my non-profit at www.feelgoodworld.org (my chapter is the University of Vermont).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I had the opportunity to see the work of The Hunger Project first hand in Uganda. What they are doing to empower women farmers in Africa is amazing - micro-finance rural banks, education about farming, adult literacy and numeracy, meals for children at school, equal leadership with men in The Hunger Project village organizations and much more. The Hunger Project has decades of experience and methods that WORK!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

share a vision of a hunger free world with friends and family. An empowered volunteer mobilizing their community to invest in The Hunger Project is working in direct partnership with volunteers in developing countries mobilizing their communities to create a healthy and sustainable future. Volunteer