Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
335 Reviews
12.96716345
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Humane Society of the United States is an organization that is actually helping animals. Anyone who is listening to what Humane Watch says against the Humane Society is being completely mislead. Humane Watch is only out to enslave animals to line the pockets of the people running the evil corporations profiting from cruel factory farming. Because the Humane Society is trying to prevent cruelty and protect farm animals, Humane Watch is trying to take them down. People, please do your research and you will see for yourselves. Bottom line: Humane Society = good. Humane Watch = evil.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We NEED this organization for legislation purposes. They are big and powerful and can change the animal cruelty laws. So if you really love animals you will donate to your local shelters AND donate to this this very effective, hard-working organization. Donating only to animal shelters will not change any laws. We need to get laws changed to make animal cruelty a felony. The HSUS is big enough to do it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS provides leadership in public policy issues that help companion and food animals live stress free lives. They started a new university to train new shelter managers who will reduce the astronomical numbers of animals euthanized each year. I have met their leadership team and they truely are very passionate about the work they do. Many are vegans. They have a pet friendly work place. They are the real deal. The work they do helps millions of animals in many ways.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

The HSUS is on the front lines of animal welfare, and because of this, they are slandered by groups that profit from animal exploitation. Unfortunately, there is a selection of the general public that believes the lies spread by HumaneWatch. I live in a state that is known as being "puppy mill friendly" and I have seen the Humane Society acting on behalf of these neglected and exploited animals. I know that they do good work, not just for companion animals, but for all animals whose environment and well-being are at the mercy of humans and business. They are an essential organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

I do support this charity as I feel only a large organization with a national presence can help with certain issues. However, I really really do not want all the stuff they send you in the mail and that I then end throwing out. No way/mechanism to tell them this. Think a LOT of money wasted this way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Someone wrote about the Center for Consumer Freedom bashing HSUS. I just want to say that CCF is a lobbying group who works for restaurants and the food and fur industry...Their job is to denigrate animals welfare and rights groups because of the threat animal rights groups pose to businesses and industries that deal in animals for food, clothing, and entertainment. If you check out their websites, that should become apparent. I suspect the person who posted the HSUS bashing message was a member of CCF...They are very busy little elves trying to manipulate people to abandon animal welfare organizations. I assure you, they don't like vegetarians, and they would NEVER recommend an animal charity. The bigger the organization, the more they go after it, and HSUS and PETA are big.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would never donate to any organization listed as NON Profit when so much of the money is used for anything other than what most people believe is being used to bring greater conditions to the animals they claim it for. I only donated for a short time and will never donate to them again, I have been breeding, raising, training and LOVING horses for over 45+ years, good registered horses not the run of the mill backyard type produced by ubknowledgable animal lover's (?) that have flooded the market in the last few years A couple of years ago a certain horse was brought to my attention by a woman that owns a rescue in CA. to ask if she could have been bred to my Paint stallion, I knew the mare and she proceeded to tell me where the mare came from, I received photo's which were horrific, the mare was rated a 1 on a scale of 1 (being near death) to 10. the woman did not know if she could be saved or not, but with diligent care, a good vet and lots of prayers she survivred, this mare was an aged mare with teeth that prevented her from eating at all, they had to wait a couple months to be able to work on the teeth, during which time the mare was fed a diet of soupy alfalfa pellets and gained weight. The incident was reported to San Diego Animal Control, THEY WENT TO THE PLACE WHERE THE MARE CAME FROM AND CHECKED THE OTHER ANIMALS, THEY NEVER WENT TO CHECK THE MARE HERSELF NOR DID THEY GET IN TOUCH WITH RESCUE THAT HAD RECEIVED HER. I made a trip to the HSUS offices in San Diego, they would do nothing told me if it was investigated by Animal Control (which it was not) they would not do anything. I wonder if Wayne Pacelle would stay in his position if his salary,comps and perks were less than he makes at this time ?????

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm only weighing in because some of the reviewers here are straight-up nut jobs- most likely "hoarders" with a strange sense of animal kindness. First off, ALF no longer exists- hasn't for years. The HSUS are not terrorists or Nazis - they try to stop "hoarders", puppy mills, cruel farmers and those who abuse animals in general that's all. Believe me the world is a much better place due to their hard work and dedication.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

HSUS is by no means a radical animal welfare group, as some have indicated in their reviews here. However, I cannot in good faith make a monthly donation to HSUS of say, $10.00 in order for it to go into a general fund, when I know $10.00 will pay for a heartworm test at my local pound. I believe that my money can go a lot farther if I use it to enable my local pound to perform a h/w test or rabies shot to an impounded dog or cat.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

HSUS deserves commendation for its fight for humane legislation and commitment to improving the welfare of animals through policy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers