Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
334 Reviews
12.97305345
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

HSUS continues to be an effective advocate for animals at the national, state and local level. I am a regular donor and keep tabs on their activities and accomplishments, and am more than satisfied by what my donations go toward. They are professional and understand what needs to be done to combat animal cruelty. A+ as usual!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Humane Society of the United States is instrumental in being a mainstream advocate for animal rights. Their work in the fields, in the trenches and at scenes of animal cruelty everywhere are second to none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

Fundraising for animal shelter Please post olso on your Facebook Wall..
You can make donations online on the gofundme site or if you send your email adress via PayPal. Thanks in advance
http://www.gofundme.com/1fnfxk

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2013

People who hate on this organization need to do some research on a man named Richard Berman. He's an industry lobbyist who runs smear campaigns against animal protection groups. Research him and then write your review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I just found out that monies given to HSUS don't benefit ANY animal shelters or animal rescue services. I'd like to know where the money actually goes.
Until then, I will donate directly to my local animal shelter

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I donate to HSUS AND I also donate to my local animal shelter. I realize these are two entirely different organizations. HSUS is using their money to create and enforce laws that protect animals. Until laws are in place to protect ALL animals- yes, even farm animals, and those laws are followed, I will continue to support them. To ding this charity because they do not operate a shelter is narrow-minded. You have to look at the broad picture to see the good they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have three cats that are very important to me. One was a stray and the other two were kittens of strays. The HSUS helps animals that are in need of a home or are abused/neglected or injured.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I live in Oklahoma and I can tell you that HSUS has been invaluable in our state. 30 yrs ago they worked with my local animal group andw/ the OKC Animal Shelter to improve shelter conditions, improve, adoptions (adopting out neutered spayed, vaccinated animals) and change euthanasia methods. Since then HSUS has been involved in helping smaller OK towns build shelters. They've been involved in numerous cruelty investigations that resulted in arrest and punishment of animal abusers. The have conducted workshops to help law enforcement, shelter workers, and us animal advocates on numerous topics, not the least of which is response in emergency situations (we live in tornado Alley). So for all you HSUS naysayers, I personally, and my state, and hundreds of animals have benefitted greatly from HSUS on many levels.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Someone please explain the charity navigator analysis of the FYE 2010/12 data. Fundraising expenses $53M. Program expenses $68.5M. Fundraising expenses 19.1%. Program expenses 77%. Using any reasonable math based on total revenue OR total expenses, program expenses are less than 77% and fundraising expenses are much higher than 19.1%. Charity navigator appears to be over-rating this charity. Fundraising expenses appear to be closer to 35% of total revenue and 42% of total expenses. What exactly are donors paying for?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Humane Society of the United States is an organization that is actually helping animals. Anyone who is listening to what Humane Watch says against the Humane Society is being completely mislead. Humane Watch is only out to enslave animals to line the pockets of the people running the evil corporations profiting from cruel factory farming. Because the Humane Society is trying to prevent cruelty and protect farm animals, Humane Watch is trying to take them down. People, please do your research and you will see for yourselves. Bottom line: Humane Society = good. Humane Watch = evil.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers