Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
337 Reviews
12.96736345
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
May 6, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I've donated to the HSUS every month for years. It's pitiful, really, because I am now learning how much my donations have been truly used to benefit animals directly. They won't answer me when I ask them not to spam me with their requests for money. They won't answer me when I try to volunteer at their local program. I tried calling their Gaithersburg, Md office twice and left a voicemail, but no one answered or called back. I am saddened to hear people say how great the organization is because I really wish that were true. I want to help animals not executives' pockets, so I will be sending my money directly to my local shelter from now on, and no "gift" in the mail is going to change my mind.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS breaks its back to bring animal abuse to light. Keep on fighting HSUS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

HSUS continues to be an effective advocate for animals at the national, state and local level. I am a regular donor and keep tabs on their activities and accomplishments, and am more than satisfied by what my donations go toward. They are professional and understand what needs to be done to combat animal cruelty. A+ as usual!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Humane Society of the United States is instrumental in being a mainstream advocate for animal rights. Their work in the fields, in the trenches and at scenes of animal cruelty everywhere are second to none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

Fundraising for animal shelter Please post olso on your Facebook Wall..
You can make donations online on the gofundme site or if you send your email adress via PayPal. Thanks in advance
http://www.gofundme.com/1fnfxk

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2013

People who hate on this organization need to do some research on a man named Richard Berman. He's an industry lobbyist who runs smear campaigns against animal protection groups. Research him and then write your review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I just found out that monies given to HSUS don't benefit ANY animal shelters or animal rescue services. I'd like to know where the money actually goes.
Until then, I will donate directly to my local animal shelter

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I donate to HSUS AND I also donate to my local animal shelter. I realize these are two entirely different organizations. HSUS is using their money to create and enforce laws that protect animals. Until laws are in place to protect ALL animals- yes, even farm animals, and those laws are followed, I will continue to support them. To ding this charity because they do not operate a shelter is narrow-minded. You have to look at the broad picture to see the good they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have three cats that are very important to me. One was a stray and the other two were kittens of strays. The HSUS helps animals that are in need of a home or are abused/neglected or injured.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I live in Oklahoma and I can tell you that HSUS has been invaluable in our state. 30 yrs ago they worked with my local animal group andw/ the OKC Animal Shelter to improve shelter conditions, improve, adoptions (adopting out neutered spayed, vaccinated animals) and change euthanasia methods. Since then HSUS has been involved in helping smaller OK towns build shelters. They've been involved in numerous cruelty investigations that resulted in arrest and punishment of animal abusers. The have conducted workshops to help law enforcement, shelter workers, and us animal advocates on numerous topics, not the least of which is response in emergency situations (we live in tornado Alley). So for all you HSUS naysayers, I personally, and my state, and hundreds of animals have benefitted greatly from HSUS on many levels.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers