Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
308 Reviews
12.81818345
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
January 19, 2014

more

January 19, 2014

SUPER......all the way. Wayne P. knows what he is doing. He has saved MILLIONS of animals in my state alone. Have closely followed his work for years. Wayne is a GENIUS. ALL who are intelligent follow Wayne.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. People need to take it upon themselves to get the material they need to read about this organization. ALL the information is OUT THERE. TAX RETURNS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. Documents are not difficult to obtain. HSUS is very transparent about all activities in all the affiliates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been donating monthly and I have yet to find a reason to regret it. They focus on lobbying for better laws for animal protection and more enforcement of those laws, and they are quite powerful and successful, inciting the wrath of powerful opponents, opponents who are trying to protect their right to treat animals as they will in order to most profit from them (such as using battery cages for egg-laying hens and puppy mills and killing local wild animals). HSUS actually try really hard to work with people who practice animal cruelty in their business to help them turn a profit while ALSO treating animals humanely, yet they of course focus first and foremost on animals and ending their suffering as soon as possible. Helping animals in shelters is important for the now (and I think is important, so I also donate to and volunteer at a local one), while helping HSUS is important for the now AND the future. BTW, I love their magazine, All Animals, which is just one example of their professionalism and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to volunteer during a puppy mill raid or such, but they seem to only want people who know what they're doing, lol, which I guess I don't really want them to change...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2013

I became acquainted with the HSUS in 1974, when one of their field agents helped bring about needed changes in the local municipal animal shelter where I live. At that time, the HSUS was much smaller... more

September 9, 2013

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail contacts as I am also an active volunteer in local humane work and have had reasons to contact the HSUS for information or advice from time to time. There is no more transparent organization than the HSUS. They display what they do on their website and in their frequently published magazine. If the HSUS says they did this or did that in connection with a large rescue effort, you will find newspaper and TV accounts that back up their claims. No other humane organization is attacked by animal abusers as widely as is the HSUS. And that is simply because the HSUS is exposing the cruelties that are suffered by animals, cruelties that are carefully hidden from the public - puppy mills, horse soring, and abuses within factory farms, to name a few. Those who profit from those enterprises involving cruelty to animals don't want the HSUS interfering in their business. They especially don't want the HSUS lobbying for better federal and state laws. Since it was only founded in 1954, the history of the HSUS and its purpose is well documented. By the way - the money donated for the Katrina rescue was all spent in the region, some of it being spent after the fact of the actual rescue, spent helping the companion animals in that region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with the HSUS in 1974, when one of their field agents helped bring about needed changes in the local municipal animal shelter where I live. At that time, the HSUS was much smaller than it was today. In attending some of their educational seminars for volunteers and shelter workers in the 1970's, I became more acquainted with their work and was amazed at how much they got done with no larger employee base than they had at that time. I watched very carefully as the HSUS grew in size and function over the years. I have not been disappointed. During the time between 1974 and the present, I have stayed involved in local and state issues and projects relating to animals, and have benefitted from the opportunities to learn more about humane issues from the HSUS by attending seminars, conferences, and the HSUS EXPO events as well as simply calling them up on the phone and discussing my concerns. I believe that my relationship with various agents of the HSUS is the only thing that has kept me active in the humane movement. As I obviously watch the HSUS very closely, I could sit here for a very long time cataloging the things they do to help animals in a meaningful way. Best I just say for those who want to know more about the organization, just go to their website, read their press releases and click on the button that says "News." I am particularly interested in their rescue efforts - rescuing animals in natural disasters and assisting law enforcement agencies in investigating dog fights, puppy mills and hoarder cases. I also like reading about their involvement in these cases in the general media - that is on TV station and newspaper websites. You will find, as I have, that the news media backs up the HSUS website reports of their involvement in these cases.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 13, 2013

I am grateful for organizations such as the Humane Society. They are constantly addressing issues of interest to me. I am glad to say that this year I chose to donate to HSUS and I feel my money is we... more

September 8, 2013

The Humane Society is the preeminent animal welfare organization in the world.

It is the primary target of the most wealthy anti-animal welfare organizations and ag groups. That in itself should tell you how well they do what they do.

I am a proud member and advocate for HSUS. I
am very thankful to have them fighting for the animals. They do so many good things for all animals, and I look forward to helping them in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

I am grateful for organizations such as the Humane Society. They are constantly addressing issues of interest to me. I am glad to say that this year I chose to donate to HSUS and I feel my money is well spent given they address a multitude of issues and very well at that. I highly recommend them and look forward to continuing my support for them next year and beyond.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I've donated to the HSUS every month for years. It's pitiful, really, because I am now learning how much my donations have been truly used to benefit animals directly. They won't answer me when I ask them not to spam me with their requests for money. They won't answer me when I try to volunteer at their local program. I tried calling their Gaithersburg, Md office twice and left a voicemail, but no one answered or called back. I am saddened to hear people say how great the organization is because I really wish that were true. I want to help animals not executives' pockets, so I will be sending my money directly to my local shelter from now on, and no "gift" in the mail is going to change my mind.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

HSUS breaks its back to bring animal abuse to light. Keep on fighting HSUS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

HSUS continues to be an effective advocate for animals at the national, state and local level. I am a regular donor and keep tabs on their activities and accomplishments, and am more than satisfied by what my donations go toward. They are professional and understand what needs to be done to combat animal cruelty. A+ as usual!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Humane Society of the United States is instrumental in being a mainstream advocate for animal rights. Their work in the fields, in the trenches and at scenes of animal cruelty everywhere are second to none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

Fundraising for animal shelter Please post olso on your Facebook Wall..
You can make donations online on the gofundme site or if you send your email adress via PayPal. Thanks in advance
http://www.gofundme.com/1fnfxk

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2013

People who hate on this organization need to do some research on a man named Richard Berman. He's an industry lobbyist who runs smear campaigns against animal protection groups. Research him and then write your review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers