Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
339 Reviews
12.97935345
Write A Review
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Im an EX-Donor after I read about this recently:
Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) Exposed: Stripped of Charity Rating After $15 Million Payout http://www.hfa.org/pdf/Corruption-RICO_Lawsuit-HSUS.pdf
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I am living in Belgium but I have been a donor to HSUS for a few years now. They are great and they do a great job. They should get as much support as possible along with other non-profits like 'Big cats rescue' and so many others
October 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014

Powerful lobbyist for animals, strong voice for those who cannot speak.
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States is an incredible animal protection organization. They exist to solve major problems & to protect as many animals as possible. Some groups like Humanewatch (a DC front group) say they want the HSUS to fund local Humane Societies, but this is only part of the story. Humanewatch & many of the people against the HSUS profit from the exploitation of animals. It would help them if the HSUS was less powerful & effective.

The HSUS was created to protect ALL ANIMALS. They fight against route causes of animal suffering, by changing laws & educating the public. The HSUS fights against factory farms, puppy mills, dog fighting, seal clubbing, shark finning, the fur industry, exotic animal ownership/exploitation, horse slaughter, and all forms of exploitation. The HSUS is truly an amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the HSUS even more powerful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I support HSUS because of its fiscal responsibility and its common sense approach to animal welfare issues.
NATIONAL ORGANIZATION WITH LOCAL IMPACT: One thing that confuses people about HSUS is that is not a group that runs local shelters. It's biggest challenge is brand confusion. HSUS
focuses on national issues that are too big for local shelters to take on or that cross state lines and are actually outside the jurisdiction of local or state systems (e.g. dog fighting rings, puppy mills, farm animals, wildlife protection, to name just a few). This does not mean they don't support community or shelter programs. Their research helps shelters make decisions about care, their Pets for Life program offers low cost vet services to underserved communities and their wildlife services help local government and organizations deal with significant wildlife challenges (i.e. deer population). We need an organization that has the big picture so local organizations have a resource to tap when they need it.
BALANCED APPROACH: What is more, HSUS takes a balanced approach to animal welfare issues unlike some other animal welfare groups. For example, they don't oppose hunting for food, they oppose canned hunting. They don't oppose farming, they oppose factory farming. To me, if you love animals all of their advocacy is just common sense.
EFFICIENCY: HSUS has in impressive number of programs. But the way the organization is structured there is accountability and efficiency within each program so there is no bloat, no cracks for money to fall through. It's impressive.
I am both a donor and volunteer with this organization because I feel it is worth my time and money. Every single person I've met at HSUS could be doing something else but has chosen to dedicate their lives to helping animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a long time supporter of the HSUS as they are doing a fantastic job to help all animals--from dogs and cats to chickens and seals. As an animal protection organization, the HSUS gives some of the most silenced animals a fighting chance by providing services to more than 100,000 animals each year through its rescue, sanctuaries, veterinary care, and other programs. Additionally, the HSUS is the number one advocacy organization preventing cruelty to millions of animals through education and policy campaigns while also providing excellent training and materials to animal care professionals. The HSUS takes on the most horrendous abusers--puppy mills, factory farmers and other major corporations and trades involved with cruelty to animals. The HSUS stands up for ALL animals and their efforts are so very much needed to enact long-lasting change through new humane policies and community outreach. The nonprofit is building a more humane world, and I am so happy to help them in any way that I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization truly cares about their mission. They have hired the right people and do the best job for fighting for animal welfare.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SUPER......all the way. Wayne P. knows what he is doing. He has saved MILLIONS of animals in my state alone. Have closely followed his work for years. Wayne is a GENIUS. ALL who are intelligent follow Wayne.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. People need to take it upon themselves to get the material they need to read about this organization. ALL the information is OUT THERE. TAX RETURNS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. Documents are not difficult to obtain. HSUS is very transparent about all activities in all the affiliates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been donating monthly and I have yet to find a reason to regret it. They focus on lobbying for better laws for animal protection and more enforcement of those laws, and they are quite powerful and successful, inciting the wrath of powerful opponents, opponents who are trying to protect their right to treat animals as they will in order to most profit from them (such as using battery cages for egg-laying hens and puppy mills and killing local wild animals). HSUS actually try really hard to work with people who practice animal cruelty in their business to help them turn a profit while ALSO treating animals humanely, yet they of course focus first and foremost on animals and ending their suffering as soon as possible. Helping animals in shelters is important for the now (and I think is important, so I also donate to and volunteer at a local one), while helping HSUS is important for the now AND the future. BTW, I love their magazine, All Animals, which is just one example of their professionalism and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to volunteer during a puppy mill raid or such, but they seem to only want people who know what they're doing, lol, which I guess I don't really want them to change...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 9, 2013

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail c... more

August 1, 2014

I became a member of the HSUS, when one of their agents helped get improvements made for impounded animals in my city in 1974. At the time I was impressed with the outreach and accomplishments of the organization, when it was a lot smaller than it is now. Over the years, I have been thrilled with the organization, as it grew into the effective organization that it is today.

The HSUS was founded in 1954 to do what small local or regional humane organizations cannot do, including working on state and national legislation. I have had opportunities to work on grassroots efforts with the HSUS on legislative issues.

The work of the HSUS is fully explained on its vast website, its magazines and in its official history, that was published on its 50th anniversary. As a volunteer in various aspeccts of humane work on a local level, information from the HSUS was always just a phone call away.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

engage in a long period of study and analysis before I made changes, if any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail contacts as I am also an active volunteer in local humane work and have had reasons to contact the HSUS for information or advice from time to time. There is no more transparent organization than the HSUS. They display what they do on their website and in their frequently published magazine. If the HSUS says they did this or did that in connection with a large rescue effort, you will find newspaper and TV accounts that back up their claims. No other humane organization is attacked by animal abusers as widely as is the HSUS. And that is simply because the HSUS is exposing the cruelties that are suffered by animals, cruelties that are carefully hidden from the public - puppy mills, horse soring, and abuses within factory farms, to name a few. Those who profit from those enterprises involving cruelty to animals don't want the HSUS interfering in their business. They especially don't want the HSUS lobbying for better federal and state laws. Since it was only founded in 1954, the history of the HSUS and its purpose is well documented. By the way - the money donated for the Katrina rescue was all spent in the region, some of it being spent after the fact of the actual rescue, spent helping the companion animals in that region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with the HSUS in 1974, when one of their field agents helped bring about needed changes in the local municipal animal shelter where I live. At that time, the HSUS was much smaller than it was today. In attending some of their educational seminars for volunteers and shelter workers in the 1970's, I became more acquainted with their work and was amazed at how much they got done with no larger employee base than they had at that time. I watched very carefully as the HSUS grew in size and function over the years. I have not been disappointed. During the time between 1974 and the present, I have stayed involved in local and state issues and projects relating to animals, and have benefitted from the opportunities to learn more about humane issues from the HSUS by attending seminars, conferences, and the HSUS EXPO events as well as simply calling them up on the phone and discussing my concerns. I believe that my relationship with various agents of the HSUS is the only thing that has kept me active in the humane movement. As I obviously watch the HSUS very closely, I could sit here for a very long time cataloging the things they do to help animals in a meaningful way. Best I just say for those who want to know more about the organization, just go to their website, read their press releases and click on the button that says "News." I am particularly interested in their rescue efforts - rescuing animals in natural disasters and assisting law enforcement agencies in investigating dog fights, puppy mills and hoarder cases. I also like reading about their involvement in these cases in the general media - that is on TV station and newspaper websites. You will find, as I have, that the news media backs up the HSUS website reports of their involvement in these cases.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers