Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
308 Reviews
12.81818345
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

If you want to know the truth about HSUS, just download their annual tax returns on Guidestar, then do the math yourself like I did. You don't have to be an accountant to figure out that LESS THAN ONE PERCENT of the money this organization receives each year goes to help shelter animals. You will see that the rest of the money is going in the pockets of executives, lobbyists, attorneys and employee pension funds, and of course to make those heartbreaking commercials showing the sad eyed puppies and kittens in shelters, with their paws reaching through their cages and making you believe that if you send money to HSUS, you will help save those little lives. If you review their tax returns, you will see that they do not have a shelter and they are not out saving shelter animals as they would like you to believe from their commercials. Read their Tax Returns and do the math ~ it is all there. Giving the impression that they save shelter pets is just a marketing angle devised to play on your emotions, break your heart, and make you reach for your check book. If you want to help shelter animals, donate to your local shelter or rescue group ~ they always need pet food, cat litter and help paying veterinary expenses. Sign up to be a volunteer, foster, or adopt a shelter pet and save a life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop the false advertising would be at the top of my list ~

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States does incredible work for all animals - from dogs to seals, elephants to pigs, and all living beings in between! I've been encouraging all of my friends and family to donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Statistics show that the HSUS only gives 1% of the publics donations to local pet shelters. They do some good, but donating directly to a shelter is more worth your time and money. Large groups like the HSUS do help, though smaller shelters and rescue groups are more efficient and thankful (knowing from personal experience). Donate to local groups instead!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Of all the organizations to protect animals, I see HSUS as the one with the most impact. They have a lot of support and they have a very practical approach. They're really getting it done, using moderate avenues. This is the one I choose to support with my time and money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have the power to build a new consensus, which rejects killing as a method for achieving results. And we can look forward to a time when the wholesale slaughter of animals in shelters is viewed as a cruel aberration of the past. We have a choice. We can fully, completely, and without reservation embrace No Kill as our future. Or we can continue to legitimize the two-pronged strategy of failure: adopt a few and kill the rest. It is a choice which history has thrown upon us. We are the generation that questioned the killing. We are the generation that has discovered how to stop it. Will we be the generation that does?

"Sometimes it falls upon a generation to be great. We can be that great generation."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement components of the No Kill Equation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

First, people need to be aware that the HSUS is a LOBBYIST GROUP... They are strictly for Animal RIGHTS (Big difference than Animal Welfare). They donate less than 1% of their donations to the actual Humane Societies and other Shelters which is unacceptable considering their tear jerker commercials of dogs needing help. Also, it is very well documented that they do NOT support "Pit Bulls"... Any dog fighting raids they are a part of, they very vocally and to the Judge state clearly they want ALL the dogs destroyed including the new born puppies!! HSUS have proven to be no friend of the Pit Bulls by calling for their destruction! They called for ALL of Mike Vick's dogs to be killed! Fortunately for those Dogs, other Organizations stepped up to save the dogs! HSUS wants an end to all pet ownership. DONATE TO YOUR LOCAL HUMANE SOCIETIES and Rescues and other Local Organizations! They are NOT affiliated with the HSUS!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed to find that money we donated for Katrina victims was largely "banked" by HSUS. They spent a very small portion of donations in LA and kept the lion's share for themselves. I now know that this is the way they operate, using a "bait & switch" method of fund raising , using tragedies to obtain money for bloated pensions, political donations and lobbying.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for in IRS investigation into their tax exempt status due to large amounts of political donations and lobbying.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 8, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

The Humane Society makes the majority of their profits by advertising dogs and cats in desperate and terrible situations. Much of their money goes towards lobbying, salaries and putting agricultural families out of business! Instead of working with farmers and ranchers, they sneak around and try to make themselves look good. I am especially disappointed that though they advertise the way they do, they only provide 1% of what they make to local shelters, who REALLY could use the money. They are so dishonest! Money would be better spent donating to your local animal shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

July 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have just read a lot of negative comments about Wayne Pacelle and The Humane Society of US. Only 1% of donations goes to shelters. Pacelle doesn't like animals. He was/is a supporter of Michael Vick. True or false?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If above is true...fire Pacelle.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

If you want to help animals donate to your local no kill shelters. To learn more about where your money really goes when you donate to HSUS, visit http://www.humanewatch.org/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers