Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
341 Reviews
12.96774345
Write A Review
July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience has been as a volunteer in multiple capacities. The opportunities have been numerous and various, and I have been continuously impressed at how HSUS spends its funds. Truly, they are offer support across the nation to animals of all kinds. In addition, they have staff and educational materials to help rescue groups and shelters. Their grassroots work are second to none.

It feels great to be a part of something like HSUS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States is the only national, full-spectrum animal protection organization that addresses the issues affecting all animals, from pets to wildlife to farm animals. It is tremendously effective in raising awareness of the conditions affecting animals and bringing forward workable solutions. HSUS serves as a leader in setting standards and offering grants to local shelters, proposing legislation to prevent cruelty, and working with corporations to end cruelty in their supply chains. I have volunteered in numerous capacities for HSUS for several years and continue to be impressed by its effectiveness and the sincerity of the people who work there. HSUS is exceptional in meeting the critical needs of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not found anything to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

My experience as a volunteer has been very worthwhile - the staff and my fellow volunteers are friendly, capable, and united by a common desire to help end the needless suffering of animals. The organization also seems to be very well run from a financial perspective and I am confident that my donations go directly to HSUS' advocacy programs, which are designed to improve animal welfare through legislation as well as encouraging people to make humane choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help people understand the difference between HSUS, which does amazing advocacy work at the local, state, and national levels, and the Humane Societies in local communities, which focus on direct care and sheltering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

HSUS does great work! They work to protect ALL animals and address the root causes of suffering. They support local shelters through their national conferences, online resources, etc. And they provide hands-on care through their rescue work and sanctuaries. But they do so much more than that! Legislation, law enforcement training, corporate outreach, public education...the list goes on and on. HSUS is a mainstream organization fighting to help create a more humane society. Their name says it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved in the advocacy efforts of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The scope of work done by the HSUS is truly amazing. As a long-term supporter and now volunteer for this organization, I continue to be impressed by their accomplishments in advocacy, education, rescue and working tirelessly to prevent cruelty to all animals. Without the work of the HSUS, there would be far fewer animal protection laws passed, resulting in significantly more suffering for our animal friends. As a volunteer, the HSUS has provided me with great training and resources. As a result, I have learned a great deal about our legislative process and have the opportunity to interact with my local, state and federal legislators; allowing me to successfully advocate and be the "voice" for those who need our help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with the HSUS to help animals in my town. Consequently, this experience led to my volunteering with them, as well as being a supporter. I am impressed by their level of professionalism, compassion, effectiveness and transparency. CEO Wayne Pacelle has effectively grown and led this organization to one that has millions of members. The numbers don't lie, and there is a reason to be supportive of HSUS - they make a difference for animals. That fact is proven by the actions of those entities who feel threatened enough to retaliate. HSUS will always have my respect and support as one of the most successful animal welfare organizations in the world and one of the most deserving charities. I never worry about where my contributions are going and I intend to include them in my final arrangements as my last gesture for animal welfare. They rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been giving to the HSUS for at least over a year and a half now. They were highly rated on CharityNavigator and were the only animal rights charity that maintained such a status consistently each year. Their campaign is far reaching, affecting animals of all kinds and also different parts of the world and also multiple important areas of animal rights needing dire attention such as factory farming, animal fights, emergency response, wildlife protection, shelter advocacy, animal testing, meatless monday outreach, and humane population control. They are a large organization and have a powerful outreach. I strongly believe in their goals, motives, and great success in coming times.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding through grants and other awards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took a lot of training to become a volunteer for HSUS, and I was amazed at the wide scope of its work. I donate money as well as time to support their many efforts to help animals. Through e-mails, I am kept informed of HSUS concerns and possible actions I can take locally to further the welfare of animals. I have met several people who work for HSUS and am always impressed with their range of knowledge about animal issues, and their passion for their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think I would like fewer freebies that come in the mail. I would like to see as much as possible going to help animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended their annual meeting last year and was so impressed with their work I became a state council member. Additionally, I donate substantially . They also have made a grant of $100,000 to Stray Rescue in St Louis that is having a very positive impact as an outreach program.

This is
a 5 star organization!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more $s, add more state council members

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer with and donate to The Humane Society of the United States because they effectively protect animals in all sorts of situations (including shelters, factory farms, etc.) all over the country (and the world, in partnership with their affiliate Humane Society International). They care about ALL animals, no matter where they are or what situation they're in. They use smart, strategic tactics to win big victories for animals in the legislative, corporate, and other arenas, and you won't find a more dedicated staff anywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers