Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
308 Reviews
12.81818345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

According to the dictionary the word humane means “having or showing compassion or benevolence. ‘regulations ensuring the humane treatment of animals.’” There isn’t anything in that definition that has to do with sheltering. Any one that is confused about HSUS mission and goals need only visit its website for factual information. By design most shelters focus on companion animals; dogs, cats, rabbits and the like, animals that HSUS works to keep out of shelters to begin with through free neutering and sterilization programs for low income pet owners, TNR (trap neuter and release) programs for feral cats, and working to shut down puppy mills, from which a surprisingly large number of shelter pets come from. Puppy mill operators basically dump dogs that don’t meet breed standards at shelters, or dump those that are worn out by continually giving birth to litter after litter. (Many cat breeders are guilty of the same thing). HSUS has done an exemplary job in exposing and ending animal cruelty, particularly with factory farmed animals and horses, which are not the kind of animals one finds in a shelter, or could reasonably shelter, and they work to end animal cruelty in areas such as horse soaring, killing baby seals for fur coats, laboratory animal experimentation, dog fighting, and the like. HSUS is a national organization that compliments, not competes against local shelters. I don’t think anyone at HSUS is claiming a substantial portion of their revenue is going into sheltering and I have yet to find any printed or electronic material from HSUS that makes such a claim. Kelly is however correct in that if you want to know the truth about HSUS download its financials. For the year 2013 they show that 80% of revenues (that’s eighty cents of every dollar received) go into animal protection programs. Only 3% goes into administration, which includes operating costs, salaries and pension funds. If your forte is animal shelters then I encourage you to support them, but people shouldn't try to diminish the work HSUS is doing over a misunderstanding of what its goals and mission are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a volunteer on the HSUS National Disaster Animal Response Team. I signed up because of Katrina. I've been called to help with hoarding situations and male chicken fighting. I've known Eric Sakach for ten years. He is in charge of the male chicken (I can't type that word because the obscenity filter thinks it's obscene) fighting raids. He and his organization have always done a great job. While I don't always agree 100% with what HSUS does, they still help a lot of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to promote veganism more. If one truly loves animals, one would not want to eat or use them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


4 previous reviews - show all
September 26, 2012

The fact that Richard Berman's front groups, Humanewatch, No Kill Nation and petakills animals sends its' members over here to try to damage the HSUS ratings is all the proof I need that the HSUS is t... more

September 9, 2013

The HSUS is simply the largest, most effective organization in the US working for real and meaningful positive change in our treatment of all other animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

The fact that Richard Berman's front groups, Humanewatch, No Kill Nation and petakills animals sends its' members over here to try to damage the HSUS ratings is all the proof I need that the HSUS is the most effective animal welfare organization in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

The HSUS is simply the largest and most effective animal welfare organization in the US. The HSUS knows how to effectively get legislation passed that helps all animals. Their focus is just not companion animals, though their leadership in getting anti puppy mill legislation on ballots, disaster relief and their spay/neuter campaign helps animals and shelters. The HSUS leads campaigns to stop abuse in many areas. Seal hunts, fur farms, canned hunts, factory farms and anti-horse slaughter are just a few of the areas in which the HSUS is raising awareness and fighthing for the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer. HSUS is the largest, most effective, animal welfare organization in the world. Through their legislative efforts, shelter assistance programs, veterinary services and their many campaigns, HSUS has positively touched the lives of animals all over the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ballot initatives to improve the lives of those animals used for food. Puppy Mill raids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing needs to change. HSUS is a fantastic charity.

June 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The HSUS has done more to help animals all over the world than any other organization. HSUS is an effective, intelligent and compassionate organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Puppy mill and rooster fighting legislation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2012

The Humane Society of the United States is a fantastic non-profit organization that has made amazing strides in the field of animal welfare. The HSUS constantly works to ensure that the lives of all a... more

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became familiar with the HSUS when I was 13. I was so upset about the Canadian Seal Hunt, and I wanted to do something about it, and here was a group that was doing something! The greatest thing about HSUS is even if you are a teenager or college student with no income, the HSUS still provides ways to help rather than just donating! You are actually doing work and making a difference. I have met many state directors and Wayne Pacelle and they are incredibly passionate and dedicated to their work and they are making a real change for animals in the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Humane Society of the United States is a fantastic non-profit organization that has made amazing strides in the field of animal welfare. The HSUS constantly works to ensure that the lives of all animals are made better through legislation, rescue efforts, and education.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my everyday life. The experience I gained with the HSUS has given me the confidence to fight for animals in my every day life and to make a positive change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to somehow distinguish the HSUS from all the local Humane Societies and shelters to prevent confusion as to where money is being donated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

My volunteer experience was amazing, they shouldn't change a thing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Because of my volunteer experience, I now have contacts all throughout the United States to help me pursue my career in animal welfare. I also have started my own student animal rights organization, which has improved my leadership, organization, and event planning skills. Through the HSUS, I have also gotten involved in several local animal groups, which has introduced me to many amazing animal lovers in Colorado.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

VERY HAPPY and like I was doing something significant with my life.

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2012

HSUS is an amazing organization with campaigns across the U.S., covering a staggering array of anti-cruelty issues. They are by far my favorite nonprofit! The fact that the HSUS is the target of mult... more

April 24, 2013

The HSUS is the nation's most effective and most powerful animal welfare organization -- so effective, in fact, that they are the number one target of smear campaigns from animal abusing corporations who have had to change the way they do business.

HSUS confronts puppy mills, inhumane
factory farms, seal clubbers, horse abusers, dog fighters, cockfighters, and dozens of other varieties of cruelty and abuse... And they put an end to it.

I know that my donations are being put to the best possible use by the HSUS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

HSUS is an amazing organization with campaigns across the U.S., covering a staggering array of anti-cruelty issues. They are by far my favorite nonprofit! The fact that the HSUS is the target of multi-million dollar smear campaigns funded by puppy mills, factory farms, furriers, circuses -- even seal clubbers -- is a testament to the effectiveness of this organization. They are the #1 enemy of animal abusers because they are the #1 charity confronting cruelty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

most of the negative comments here pertain to the fact that HSUS does not fund or run shelters. That is not the objective of this organization. They are instrumental in stopping cruelty, either in hoarding, or dog & cockfighting. I am part of their field response team, have seen it first hand, and are proud to be a member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 7, 2011

Dear Charity Navigator, I am totally upset that Humane Society of the United States get a three star Rating...I just got an email from you telling me that you revised your system...well you really n... more

February 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Charity Navagator really needs to do their homework on this charity....THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF THE UNITED STATES has been found guilty of corruption concerning Fields Entertainment...they are to pay millions in fines....this organization is very corrupt and giving them 4 stars only hurts charity navagators
credibility....the ASPCA was also involved and already paid their 9 million. Plus HSUS socks away more money in their retirement plans than they do to help animals....DO NOT GIVE THIS ORGINIZATION ONE DIME! please give money to help animals to local rescues...they are the hands on hard working people who deserve the help....GOD BLESS! It will not let me post this unless i select a rating...I want to give them 0 stars, but if will not do that so just to get this posted I have to give them one star....but they deserve none!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 7, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

Dear Charity Navigator,
I am totally upset that Humane Society of the United States get a three star Rating...I just got an email from you telling me that you revised your system...well you really need to revise it again...this rating only hurts yourself as a reliable source as a charity
navigator...I will never take your work again.
As for the Humane Society of The United States, they are a fraudulant group that begs people for money, whom most people are duped into believing that it is gonna be used to feed and shelter the poor animals that are in their commercials. It does not once mention that most of the money will be used to pay off lobbiests, pay for large salaries, the the money given by these people will be taken food out of their mouths and causing their food bills to sky rocket because of their attacks on the agriculture in america...they are out to destroy america. How dare you give them a 3 star rating and mis-lead the public into giving them more money...to further push their vegan, anti agriculture, anti american agenda...SHAME ON YOU!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the rising cost of our food supplies, their never ending sickning commercials. The attacks on our agriculture.. the mis use of funds, their lying behavor ect. ect. ect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire the CEO, actually share money with hands on rescues and shelters that actually care for the animals. Quit trying to push the vegan agenda down the throats of the american people...Quit lying to the american people Quit putting millions of dollars per year in the retirement funds, more than is given to help animals. Quit being the THUG organization that you are. Oh Geeze, will not let me post unless I rate this organization....you should be able to not rate them as they do not deserve a rating.

November 19, 2012

I am confused. Some people say that this charity is a fraud and, others say it is good. Can someone please show me proof?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with HSUS as a volunteer for nearly 20 years now as they work tirelessly for better antti-cruelty legislation, care for animals, help in disasters, and do so many good works, it is impossible to list here. With an organization as large and influential as HSUS, you will hear from their detractors loud and clear. THE NEG REVIEWS BELOW ARE WRITTEN BY THOSE HIRED TO ATTACK HSUS.Y HSUS is comprised of people who deeply love animals. But they are constantly and vehemently harrassed by the State Farm Bureaus who actually harrassed me and my fellow volunteers on the street as we collect signature on petitions. People who make a living by selling/trading Exotic Pets are cruel, selfish, and greedy people. I have spent weeks helping take care of dogs and cats in horrible condtion who were rescued from large so called 'sanctuaries'. Those who run them are criminals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

HSUS sponsors ALF and is no different than any other home grown terrorist group. I did not know I was volunteering to terrorize people out of their pets and to wind having most of them killed. They abuse the victims of these raids, plant false evidence and make false charges. I saw them spray urine on puppies and smear than with feces when taking them out of their kennels. They pushed the owners physically no matter their age or gender. They treated these human being like trash for owning pets. Although some had more than most people most of them were well fed although not all were groomed. But they were healthy and particularly saddening for me was to go to raid a sanctuary. In sanctuaries you will see animals with infections or under weight who have been recently taken in to the sanctuary for safety. However, HSUS raids were conducted on sanctuaries instead of giving these sanctuaries money to help care for these animals at their last place of rescue they took them and killed then and not only that destroyed the sanctuaries building and houses for the animals. This was sickening. I felt like I was a nazi collecting jews for concentration camp killings. This organization is sick throughout. I am sending my information in through a friend because these people are really scary.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

harassing lonely individuals with no support other than their pensions and their animals. Taking animals to be killed in local shelters from a sanctuary that was their last stop before dying.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire the animal rights cult members who run it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

quit lying to the public about what they really do which is to push for laws that make owning or using an animal impossible. They know the public will not like giving up their pets so they pass laws that make owning a pet impossible or expensive.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me sick how they treat people and leave the animals to die in a local shelter when they have more than enough money to take care of every lost dog or cat in every shelter right now.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Sick about this so called lobbying agency being called a charity and it makes me think that your rating system is flawed.

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers