Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
335 Reviews
12.96716345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I have volunteered for many organizations (animal - as well- as people-oriented). I have spent many hours searching on the web for information about charitable organizations from credible sources, as I contribute a substantial amount of my income to them.

HSUS is staffed, from top to
bottom, with such dedicated, skilled, and capable people. I have seen very few organizations that run so efficiently and effectively. I work with HSUS because it is such a successful and positive agent of change for animals - thanks in such large measure to Wayne Pacelle's exceptional leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

HSUS is an organization that works extremely hard to protect family animals, animals in the wild, and the well being of individuals by promoting healthy food choices. I know of no other organization who has done so much for so many.
The biggest and toughest role that the HSUS champions is to
secure laws in our local, state and national governments which PROTECT animals from cruel treatment and needless killing. I am very proud of HSUS's constant work to protect all animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would welcome HSUS to work more with educational institutions to educate and communicate the need for awareness on how animals are treated in industry, e.g. factory farming, and its impact on the environment; as well as the need for animal welfare laws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

The HSUS is an effective, hugely impactful organization making big changes for animals in a number of areas that range from stopping the testing of cosmetics on animals to fighting for better, more humane conditions animals raised for food in industrial agriculture.

Critics often
disparage HSUS by saying it doesn't do enough to help local shelters, but its mission is so much broader than that. HSUS recognizes that to achieve meaningful change for animals, it's critical to work at the policy and "big picture" levels by strengthening laws and raising public awareness about the many forms are animal cruelty that are ingrained in modern society and so often hidden from public view. I believe that even people who aren't "animal people" would be horrified if they had even the most basic information about where their eggs come from and how that chicken sitting on those nice clean supermarket shelves was raised.

We need better laws to protect animals from egregious forms of cruelty and HSUS is working hard to achieve that goal and to educate the public so people can make more informed choices in aspects of their lives that implicate animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give HSUS even more staff and resources so it would have an even larger footprint.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sadly, this is largely a misunderstood, but incredible organization. The H.S.U.S. often gets lumped together with extreme animal rights groups who they may not share ideals with, and have to defend itself.
The Humane Society of the U.S. helps ALL animals/wildlife on the planet from disaster
relief, dog fighting, puppy mills, & factory farming, to effecting change through legislation to protect companion, farm and wildlife/marine animals, and more.
As our AZ state district leader, Kari Nienstedt, put it, "Local state shelters are like the buckets catching the rain under the holes in your roof, whereas the H.S.U.S. is trying to repair and strengthen the roof."
The H.S.U.S. is NOT in the business of physically assisting local shelters. They use their limited resources to fight for basic animal welfare around the globe. Every living creature on this earth deserves to have BASIC biological and emotional needs met (food, water, shelter, humane treatment...) This organization is NOT an extremist group calling for all Americans to become vegetarians. They are just trying to achieve humane treatment of all species with whom we share this planet. I think most Americans are in support of that idea.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

As an intern at The HSUS, I've seen the amazing work this organization does. They understand that change is incremental and expertly choose those causes that are important and will help end an immense amount of suffering. They are truly advocates for all animals, whether companion animals, farm animals, marine mammals, wild animals, or any other group or species. They work to end animal suffering at all levels, and I am proud to have worked with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

As a volunteer in Arizona, I have seen firsthand the incredible work done by The Humane Society of the United States. It works to make the world a better place for animals in so many ways, such as working for much-needed better laws to protect animals, rescuing animals from cruel situations, and educating the public about problems and issues animals have. HSUS is one of the few organizations working to improve the lives of "all animals, everywhere." HSUS focuses on helping animals in the U.S. and has an international affiliate that works to help animals across the globe. There are thousands of volunteers such as me very serious about helping animals who appreciate the backing, support and information provided by HSUS. I make a significant financial contribution every year according to my means, and work regularly with the great people at HSUS. They truly have one of the best organizations and collection of expertise in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 9, 2013

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail c... more

August 1, 2014

I became a member of the HSUS, when one of their agents helped get improvements made for impounded animals in my city in 1974. At the time I was impressed with the outreach and accomplishments of the organization, when it was a lot smaller than it is now. Over the years, I have been thrilled with the organization, as it grew into the effective organization that it is today.

The HSUS was founded in 1954 to do what small local or regional humane organizations cannot do, including working on state and national legislation. I have had opportunities to work on grassroots efforts with the HSUS on legislative issues.

The work of the HSUS is fully explained on its vast website, its magazines and in its official history, that was published on its 50th anniversary. As a volunteer in various aspeccts of humane work on a local level, information from the HSUS was always just a phone call away.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

engage in a long period of study and analysis before I made changes, if any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail contacts as I am also an active volunteer in local humane work and have had reasons to contact the HSUS for information or advice from time to time. There is no more transparent organization than the HSUS. They display what they do on their website and in their frequently published magazine. If the HSUS says they did this or did that in connection with a large rescue effort, you will find newspaper and TV accounts that back up their claims. No other humane organization is attacked by animal abusers as widely as is the HSUS. And that is simply because the HSUS is exposing the cruelties that are suffered by animals, cruelties that are carefully hidden from the public - puppy mills, horse soring, and abuses within factory farms, to name a few. Those who profit from those enterprises involving cruelty to animals don't want the HSUS interfering in their business. They especially don't want the HSUS lobbying for better federal and state laws. Since it was only founded in 1954, the history of the HSUS and its purpose is well documented. By the way - the money donated for the Katrina rescue was all spent in the region, some of it being spent after the fact of the actual rescue, spent helping the companion animals in that region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with the HSUS in 1974, when one of their field agents helped bring about needed changes in the local municipal animal shelter where I live. At that time, the HSUS was much smaller than it was today. In attending some of their educational seminars for volunteers and shelter workers in the 1970's, I became more acquainted with their work and was amazed at how much they got done with no larger employee base than they had at that time. I watched very carefully as the HSUS grew in size and function over the years. I have not been disappointed. During the time between 1974 and the present, I have stayed involved in local and state issues and projects relating to animals, and have benefitted from the opportunities to learn more about humane issues from the HSUS by attending seminars, conferences, and the HSUS EXPO events as well as simply calling them up on the phone and discussing my concerns. I believe that my relationship with various agents of the HSUS is the only thing that has kept me active in the humane movement. As I obviously watch the HSUS very closely, I could sit here for a very long time cataloging the things they do to help animals in a meaningful way. Best I just say for those who want to know more about the organization, just go to their website, read their press releases and click on the button that says "News." I am particularly interested in their rescue efforts - rescuing animals in natural disasters and assisting law enforcement agencies in investigating dog fights, puppy mills and hoarder cases. I also like reading about their involvement in these cases in the general media - that is on TV station and newspaper websites. You will find, as I have, that the news media backs up the HSUS website reports of their involvement in these cases.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience has been as a volunteer in multiple capacities. The opportunities have been numerous and various, and I have been continuously impressed at how HSUS spends its funds. Truly, they are offer support across the nation to animals of all kinds. In addition, they have staff and educational materials to help rescue groups and shelters. Their grassroots work are second to none.

It feels great to be a part of something like HSUS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States is the only national, full-spectrum animal protection organization that addresses the issues affecting all animals, from pets to wildlife to farm animals. It is tremendously effective in raising awareness of the conditions affecting animals and bringing forward workable solutions. HSUS serves as a leader in setting standards and offering grants to local shelters, proposing legislation to prevent cruelty, and working with corporations to end cruelty in their supply chains. I have volunteered in numerous capacities for HSUS for several years and continue to be impressed by its effectiveness and the sincerity of the people who work there. HSUS is exceptional in meeting the critical needs of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not found anything to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

My experience as a volunteer has been very worthwhile - the staff and my fellow volunteers are friendly, capable, and united by a common desire to help end the needless suffering of animals. The organization also seems to be very well run from a financial perspective and I am confident that my donations go directly to HSUS' advocacy programs, which are designed to improve animal welfare through legislation as well as encouraging people to make humane choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help people understand the difference between HSUS, which does amazing advocacy work at the local, state, and national levels, and the Humane Societies in local communities, which focus on direct care and sheltering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers