Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
340 Reviews
12.97353345
Write A Review
October 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

Statistics show that the HSUS only gives 1% of the publics donations to local pet shelters. They do some good, but donating directly to a shelter is more worth your time and money. Large groups like the HSUS do help, though smaller shelters and rescue groups are more efficient and thankful (knowing from personal experience). Donate to local groups instead!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Of all the organizations to protect animals, I see HSUS as the one with the most impact. They have a lot of support and they have a very practical approach. They're really getting it done, using moderate avenues. This is the one I choose to support with my time and money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

We have the power to build a new consensus, which rejects killing as a method for achieving results. And we can look forward to a time when the wholesale slaughter of animals in shelters is viewed as a cruel aberration of the past. We have a choice. We can fully, completely, and without reservation embrace No Kill as our future. Or we can continue to legitimize the two-pronged strategy of failure: adopt a few and kill the rest. It is a choice which history has thrown upon us. We are the generation that questioned the killing. We are the generation that has discovered how to stop it. Will we be the generation that does?

"Sometimes it falls upon a generation to be great. We can be that great generation."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement components of the No Kill Equation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
September 26, 2012

The fact that Richard Berman's front groups, Humanewatch, No Kill Nation and petakills animals sends its' members over here to try to damage the HSUS ratings is all the proof I need that the HSUS is t... more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The HSUS is simply the largest, most effective organization in the US working for real and meaningful positive change in our treatment of all other animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

The fact that Richard Berman's front groups, Humanewatch, No Kill Nation and petakills animals sends its' members over here to try to damage the HSUS ratings is all the proof I need that the HSUS is the most effective animal welfare organization in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

The HSUS is simply the largest and most effective animal welfare organization in the US. The HSUS knows how to effectively get legislation passed that helps all animals. Their focus is just not companion animals, though their leadership in getting anti puppy mill legislation on ballots, disaster relief and their spay/neuter campaign helps animals and shelters. The HSUS leads campaigns to stop abuse in many areas. Seal hunts, fur farms, canned hunts, factory farms and anti-horse slaughter are just a few of the areas in which the HSUS is raising awareness and fighthing for the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer. HSUS is the largest, most effective, animal welfare organization in the world. Through their legislative efforts, shelter assistance programs, veterinary services and their many campaigns, HSUS has positively touched the lives of animals all over the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ballot initatives to improve the lives of those animals used for food. Puppy Mill raids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing needs to change. HSUS is a fantastic charity.

June 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The HSUS has done more to help animals all over the world than any other organization. HSUS is an effective, intelligent and compassionate organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Puppy mill and rooster fighting legislation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 13, 2013

I am grateful for organizations such as the Humane Society. They are constantly addressing issues of interest to me. I am glad to say that this year I chose to donate to HSUS and I feel my money is we... more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Humane Society is the preeminent animal welfare organization in the world.

It is the primary target of the most wealthy anti-animal welfare organizations and ag groups. That in itself should tell you how well they do what they do.

I am a proud member and advocate for HSUS. I
am very thankful to have them fighting for the animals. They do so many good things for all animals, and I look forward to helping them in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

I am grateful for organizations such as the Humane Society. They are constantly addressing issues of interest to me. I am glad to say that this year I chose to donate to HSUS and I feel my money is well spent given they address a multitude of issues and very well at that. I highly recommend them and look forward to continuing my support for them next year and beyond.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
24 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
24 people found this review helpful

First, people need to be aware that the HSUS is a LOBBYIST GROUP... They are strictly for Animal RIGHTS (Big difference than Animal Welfare). They donate less than 1% of their donations to the actual Humane Societies and other Shelters which is unacceptable considering their tear jerker commercials of dogs needing help. Also, it is very well documented that they do NOT support "Pit Bulls"... Any dog fighting raids they are a part of, they very vocally and to the Judge state clearly they want ALL the dogs destroyed including the new born puppies!! HSUS have proven to be no friend of the Pit Bulls by calling for their destruction! They called for ALL of Mike Vick's dogs to be killed! Fortunately for those Dogs, other Organizations stepped up to save the dogs! HSUS wants an end to all pet ownership. DONATE TO YOUR LOCAL HUMANE SOCIETIES and Rescues and other Local Organizations! They are NOT affiliated with the HSUS!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed to find that money we donated for Katrina victims was largely "banked" by HSUS. They spent a very small portion of donations in LA and kept the lion's share for themselves. I now know that this is the way they operate, using a "bait & switch" method of fund raising , using tragedies to obtain money for bloated pensions, political donations and lobbying.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for in IRS investigation into their tax exempt status due to large amounts of political donations and lobbying.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 8, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

The Humane Society makes the majority of their profits by advertising dogs and cats in desperate and terrible situations. Much of their money goes towards lobbying, salaries and putting agricultural families out of business! Instead of working with farmers and ranchers, they sneak around and try to make themselves look good. I am especially disappointed that though they advertise the way they do, they only provide 1% of what they make to local shelters, who REALLY could use the money. They are so dishonest! Money would be better spent donating to your local animal shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

July 12, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I have just read a lot of negative comments about Wayne Pacelle and The Humane Society of US. Only 1% of donations goes to shelters. Pacelle doesn't like animals. He was/is a supporter of Michael Vick. True or false?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If above is true...fire Pacelle.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

If you want to help animals donate to your local no kill shelters. To learn more about where your money really goes when you donate to HSUS, visit http://www.humanewatch.org/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers