Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
308 Reviews
12.81818345
| 1 2 3 4...30 |
Write A Review
May 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS is an incredibly effective and strong animal welfare organization. It reaches members of the public from all sectors, and targets about every animal abuse imaginable. Though they help with on-the-ground work, the HSUS is also capable of fighting for animals in a very different arena: the government. They have helped to pass laws, bans, and ordinances that benefit animals and people alike. Rather than pick up the pieces, they hit cruelty at the source.

I love seeing their bills passed. I love getting the e-mail updates. I am completely satisfied with where my money is going.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a member of the Humane Society of the united States Advisory Board and Teen Advisory Board. I would just like to say how amazing, and awesome this organization is. It is an amazing feeling to see others hard work and dedication to animals, besides your own. I am so blessed and thankful to have become a part of this organization and witness all the benefits it brings. The Humane Society of the Unites States not only has wonderful people, with beneficial skills, but life changing experiences. It has taught me to follow my heart, when you love something, and never give up. You can help animals and change the world while doing it. Animals can't speak, so we must speak up and be their voice! Let us be heard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Whoever threw this charity in the mixed, has hoodwinked you, just as bad as PETA hoodwinks you. Please , when you donate, learn the difference between the HSUS and the AHA, among other "Similarly named charities". Since they have to release their financial records as a charitable non profit, it has been shown that in the past their actual donations to animal shelters are as low as 1% of their yearly income. Figures based on a 2010 study, where $187,515,301.00 that the group raked in , only 1% seen its way to actually helping starving or homeless animals at shelters.
When people speak of this charity, its really a misnomer for an activist group rivaling PETA. In fact, this group is listed as #2 to 4, on the top 10 dirty'est charities when dealing with animals.
If you like being mislead, and your donation misused, pocketed, while someone preaches to you they are fighting the good fight and you believe it, then this charity is for you. If you want to do it right, just go down to your local animal shelter, and make a donation to them. Buy food, help fund pet population problems, and humane treatment of animals. Just look at the reviews, and you can see very fast that something about this group just doesn't add up, while most if ot all of the others are garnerng 5 star support. STAY away from these frauds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a nationally known activist for animal welfare and human health issues. My work currently in bringing an end to commercial horse slaughter in North America brings me in contact with the efforts of The Humane Society of the United States and their opposition daily. From being personally involved in this conflict with the Agriculture Industry and fighting for exposure and education with the public, I have found that HSUS is currently being attacked by organizations intent upon spreading misinformation and lies in attempts to affect the funding, lobbying efforts and litigation effectively gained by this very worthwhile organization. HSUS was never set up to primarily support local shelters. They are the most effective advocacy, lobbying, litigation and enforcement agency for animals in the U.S. The work they have done to create and enforce legislation that protects animals from abuse, specifically in the Research and Agriculture fields is the reason why they are being attacked. Bottom line, to treat animals with respect, care and prevent abuse in these industries is much, much more expensive and HSUS does not let up. They are affecting these companies and corporations "bottom line" and that is why illegitimate organizations such as HumaneWatch exist. The fact they are being attacked is evidence of how effective they really are. The Ag Industry plays down and dirty. They make money off killing animals. Humane chemical euthanasia is the ONLY humane way to extinguish unwanted animal life on this planet. Slaughter is NOT humane euthanasia. Get an education yourself and research this very reputable and effective organization today. They are worth all of our support and encouragement.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I've donated to the HSUS every month for years. It's pitiful, really, because I am now learning how much my donations have been truly used to benefit animals directly. They won't answer me when I ask them not to spam me with their requests for money. They won't answer me when I try to volunteer at their local program. I tried calling their Gaithersburg, Md office twice and left a voicemail, but no one answered or called back. I am saddened to hear people say how great the organization is because I really wish that were true. I want to help animals not executives' pockets, so I will be sending my money directly to my local shelter from now on, and no "gift" in the mail is going to change my mind.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

HSUS breaks its back to bring animal abuse to light. Keep on fighting HSUS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The HSUS is nothing but a lobbying group that bullies the agriculture industry. They give 1% of every dollar to actually helping animals. Their ads look like they are helping animals but they don't. If you want to help animals, donate to the ASPCA and local shelters. They're the ones that need the money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

HSUS continues to be an effective advocate for animals at the national, state and local level. I am a regular donor and keep tabs on their activities and accomplishments, and am more than satisfied by what my donations go toward. They are professional and understand what needs to be done to combat animal cruelty. A+ as usual!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2012

HSUS is an amazing organization with campaigns across the U.S., covering a staggering array of anti-cruelty issues. They are by far my favorite nonprofit! The fact that the HSUS is the target of mult... more

April 24, 2013

The HSUS is the nation's most effective and most powerful animal welfare organization -- so effective, in fact, that they are the number one target of smear campaigns from animal abusing corporations who have had to change the way they do business.

HSUS confronts puppy mills, inhumane
factory farms, seal clubbers, horse abusers, dog fighters, cockfighters, and dozens of other varieties of cruelty and abuse... And they put an end to it.

I know that my donations are being put to the best possible use by the HSUS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

HSUS is an amazing organization with campaigns across the U.S., covering a staggering array of anti-cruelty issues. They are by far my favorite nonprofit! The fact that the HSUS is the target of multi-million dollar smear campaigns funded by puppy mills, factory farms, furriers, circuses -- even seal clubbers -- is a testament to the effectiveness of this organization. They are the #1 enemy of animal abusers because they are the #1 charity confronting cruelty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Humane Society of the United States is instrumental in being a mainstream advocate for animal rights. Their work in the fields, in the trenches and at scenes of animal cruelty everywhere are second to none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers