Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
341 Reviews
12.96774345
Write A Review
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Im an EX-Donor after I read about this recently:
Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) Exposed: Stripped of Charity Rating After $15 Million Payout http://www.hfa.org/pdf/Corruption-RICO_Lawsuit-HSUS.pdf
February 25, 2015

more

February 25, 2015

HSUS and it's defenders respond to criticism by accusing opponents of operating as fronts for animal torturers. I would argue that HSUS itself is a front for the dregs of the fundraising industry. HSUS has been much more than a client of it's multinational mail mills Quadriga Art and Market Development Group. HSUS has been deeply involved for decades in the overseas operations of both. Quadriga was at the center of a blistering CNN expose that led to a 2014 $25 million settlement with the New York Attorney General. Market Development Group has been exposed all over Europe for operating dozens of scam and even fake charities - 22 just in France alone.

HSUS donors need to know that Market Development Group's donor list division rents and sells the personal information of HSUS donors to some of the worst F rated "charities" in the country. MDG markets ELEVEN HSUS lists. MDG's list division is one of a very few that is not a member of the Direct Marketing Association. It has "no privacy policy." Huge red flags. If you give as little as $5 to HSUS or any of it's subsidiaries, your personal info will remain on the market for 60 months aka 5 years.

HSUS is run by predators and has been for decades. If only more people knew where HSUS donations really go, they could redirect their hard earned contributions and save the lives of our furry buddies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have HSUS's faux Hong Kong branch investigated. "The Humane Society of Hong Kong Ltd. has been listed on the HSUS tax returns for 12 years, while having no record of ever helping animals. The address listed in Hong Kong corresponds to a money processing office run completely by Market Development Group. Sounds criminal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

HSUS is a big RIPOFF each of the last 2 years they have sent over $20 million in their offshore accounts they have given only 1% of donated money to benefit animals Do the research before you throw your money away, Give locally LD
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I am living in Belgium but I have been a donor to HSUS for a few years now. They are great and they do a great job. They should get as much support as possible along with other non-profits like 'Big cats rescue' and so many others
November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS impressed me so much as I learned about what they do, that I have reached out to volunteer for them whenever possible. They are committed to making sure ALL animals are treated fairly. They help support other animal agencies, they provide places of care for animals and most uniquely, they work to change and create laws that protect animals. We can all rescue animals in need every day of our lives, but until there are laws to stop the people and industries from causing these problems, it will never end.
Before supporting HSUS financially, I made sure they used donor dollars in the most responsible way possible and am pleased with what I found. I support other charities, as well, but HSUS is my #1 organization!
October 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014

Powerful lobbyist for animals, strong voice for those who cannot speak.
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for HSUS efforts in an eastern state after the hurricane. Problem was, they were more interested in getting photo ops than helping animals.
August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for many organizations (animal - as well- as people-oriented). I have spent many hours searching on the web for information about charitable organizations from credible sources, as I contribute a substantial amount of my income to them.

HSUS is staffed, from top to
bottom, with such dedicated, skilled, and capable people. I have seen very few organizations that run so efficiently and effectively. I work with HSUS because it is such a successful and positive agent of change for animals - thanks in such large measure to Wayne Pacelle's exceptional leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have stopped donating to this organization. They have paid $15 million of donated funds in a scandal associated with the Corrupt Organizations and Racketeering (RICO) suit. Wayne Pacelle, CEO, Mike Markarian, VP, John Lovvorn, VP have all been accused of illicit witness payments. The Charity Navigator has suspended it's rating of HSUS and recommends donors re-evaluate their donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS is an organization that works extremely hard to protect family animals, animals in the wild, and the well being of individuals by promoting healthy food choices. I know of no other organization who has done so much for so many.
The biggest and toughest role that the HSUS champions is to
secure laws in our local, state and national governments which PROTECT animals from cruel treatment and needless killing. I am very proud of HSUS's constant work to protect all animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would welcome HSUS to work more with educational institutions to educate and communicate the need for awareness on how animals are treated in industry, e.g. factory farming, and its impact on the environment; as well as the need for animal welfare laws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers