Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
308 Reviews
12.81818345
Previous | 1 2 3...30 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

According to the dictionary the word humane means “having or showing compassion or benevolence. ‘regulations ensuring the humane treatment of animals.’” There isn’t anything in that definition that has to do with sheltering. Any one that is confused about HSUS mission and goals need only visit its website for factual information. By design most shelters focus on companion animals; dogs, cats, rabbits and the like, animals that HSUS works to keep out of shelters to begin with through free neutering and sterilization programs for low income pet owners, TNR (trap neuter and release) programs for feral cats, and working to shut down puppy mills, from which a surprisingly large number of shelter pets come from. Puppy mill operators basically dump dogs that don’t meet breed standards at shelters, or dump those that are worn out by continually giving birth to litter after litter. (Many cat breeders are guilty of the same thing). HSUS has done an exemplary job in exposing and ending animal cruelty, particularly with factory farmed animals and horses, which are not the kind of animals one finds in a shelter, or could reasonably shelter, and they work to end animal cruelty in areas such as horse soaring, killing baby seals for fur coats, laboratory animal experimentation, dog fighting, and the like. HSUS is a national organization that compliments, not competes against local shelters. I don’t think anyone at HSUS is claiming a substantial portion of their revenue is going into sheltering and I have yet to find any printed or electronic material from HSUS that makes such a claim. Kelly is however correct in that if you want to know the truth about HSUS download its financials. For the year 2013 they show that 80% of revenues (that’s eighty cents of every dollar received) go into animal protection programs. Only 3% goes into administration, which includes operating costs, salaries and pension funds. If your forte is animal shelters then I encourage you to support them, but people shouldn't try to diminish the work HSUS is doing over a misunderstanding of what its goals and mission are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

If you want to know the truth about HSUS, just download their annual tax returns on Guidestar, then do the math yourself like I did. You don't have to be an accountant to figure out that LESS THAN ONE PERCENT of the money this organization receives each year goes to help shelter animals. You will see that the rest of the money is going in the pockets of executives, lobbyists, attorneys and employee pension funds, and of course to make those heartbreaking commercials showing the sad eyed puppies and kittens in shelters, with their paws reaching through their cages and making you believe that if you send money to HSUS, you will help save those little lives. If you review their tax returns, you will see that they do not have a shelter and they are not out saving shelter animals as they would like you to believe from their commercials. Read their Tax Returns and do the math ~ it is all there. Giving the impression that they save shelter pets is just a marketing angle devised to play on your emotions, break your heart, and make you reach for your check book. If you want to help shelter animals, donate to your local shelter or rescue group ~ they always need pet food, cat litter and help paying veterinary expenses. Sign up to be a volunteer, foster, or adopt a shelter pet and save a life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop the false advertising would be at the top of my list ~

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Humane Society of the United States is not what it seems. **HSUS doesn’t run a single pet shelter** Despite the words “humane society” in its name, the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) isn’t affiliated with any community-based humane societies or other pet shelters. , According to HSUS’s 2008 tax return, less than half of one percent (0.5%) of HSUS budget consisted of grants to hands-on pet shelters. And in 2009, again according to HSUS’s the tax returns, less than one percent of HSUS’s budget (0.8%, to be exact) consisted of grants to shelters. Donations go to lobbyists for anti-pet, pro AR extremist agenda, and HSUS pension fund.

Get the facts. HSUS is not what it seems.
February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States does incredible work for all animals - from dogs to seals, elephants to pigs, and all living beings in between! I've been encouraging all of my friends and family to donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014

more

January 19, 2014

SUPER......all the way. Wayne P. knows what he is doing. He has saved MILLIONS of animals in my state alone. Have closely followed his work for years. Wayne is a GENIUS. ALL who are intelligent follow Wayne.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. People need to take it upon themselves to get the material they need to read about this organization. ALL the information is OUT THERE. TAX RETURNS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. Documents are not difficult to obtain. HSUS is very transparent about all activities in all the affiliates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a volunteer on the HSUS National Disaster Animal Response Team. I signed up because of Katrina. I've been called to help with hoarding situations and male chicken fighting. I've known Eric Sakach for ten years. He is in charge of the male chicken (I can't type that word because the obscenity filter thinks it's obscene) fighting raids. He and his organization have always done a great job. While I don't always agree 100% with what HSUS does, they still help a lot of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to promote veganism more. If one truly loves animals, one would not want to eat or use them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been donating monthly and I have yet to find a reason to regret it. They focus on lobbying for better laws for animal protection and more enforcement of those laws, and they are quite powerful and successful, inciting the wrath of powerful opponents, opponents who are trying to protect their right to treat animals as they will in order to most profit from them (such as using battery cages for egg-laying hens and puppy mills and killing local wild animals). HSUS actually try really hard to work with people who practice animal cruelty in their business to help them turn a profit while ALSO treating animals humanely, yet they of course focus first and foremost on animals and ending their suffering as soon as possible. Helping animals in shelters is important for the now (and I think is important, so I also donate to and volunteer at a local one), while helping HSUS is important for the now AND the future. BTW, I love their magazine, All Animals, which is just one example of their professionalism and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to volunteer during a puppy mill raid or such, but they seem to only want people who know what they're doing, lol, which I guess I don't really want them to change...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great charity led by Mr. Pacelle. I have to wonder at the negative comments here about no kill shelters contributions, etc. and the efforts to discredit this organization. What is really going on?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Statistics show that the HSUS only gives 1% of the publics donations to local pet shelters. They do some good, but donating directly to a shelter is more worth your time and money. Large groups like the HSUS do help, though smaller shelters and rescue groups are more efficient and thankful (knowing from personal experience). Donate to local groups instead!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Of all the organizations to protect animals, I see HSUS as the one with the most impact. They have a lot of support and they have a very practical approach. They're really getting it done, using moderate avenues. This is the one I choose to support with my time and money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...30 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers