Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
337 Reviews
12.96736345
Previous | 1 2 3...32 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014

Powerful lobbyist for animals, strong voice for those who cannot speak.
September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

I volunteered for HSUS efforts in an eastern state after the hurricane. Problem was, they were more interested in getting photo ops than helping animals.
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Im an EX-Donor after I read about this recently:
Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) Exposed: Stripped of Charity Rating After $15 Million Payout http://www.hfa.org/pdf/Corruption-RICO_Lawsuit-HSUS.pdf
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I have volunteered for many organizations (animal - as well- as people-oriented). I have spent many hours searching on the web for information about charitable organizations from credible sources, as I contribute a substantial amount of my income to them.

HSUS is staffed, from top to
bottom, with such dedicated, skilled, and capable people. I have seen very few organizations that run so efficiently and effectively. I work with HSUS because it is such a successful and positive agent of change for animals - thanks in such large measure to Wayne Pacelle's exceptional leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have stopped donating to this organization. They have paid $15 million of donated funds in a scandal associated with the Corrupt Organizations and Racketeering (RICO) suit. Wayne Pacelle, CEO, Mike Markarian, VP, John Lovvorn, VP have all been accused of illicit witness payments. The Charity Navigator has suspended it's rating of HSUS and recommends donors re-evaluate their donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

HSUS is an organization that works extremely hard to protect family animals, animals in the wild, and the well being of individuals by promoting healthy food choices. I know of no other organization who has done so much for so many.
The biggest and toughest role that the HSUS champions is to
secure laws in our local, state and national governments which PROTECT animals from cruel treatment and needless killing. I am very proud of HSUS's constant work to protect all animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would welcome HSUS to work more with educational institutions to educate and communicate the need for awareness on how animals are treated in industry, e.g. factory farming, and its impact on the environment; as well as the need for animal welfare laws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

The HSUS is an effective, hugely impactful organization making big changes for animals in a number of areas that range from stopping the testing of cosmetics on animals to fighting for better, more humane conditions animals raised for food in industrial agriculture.

Critics often
disparage HSUS by saying it doesn't do enough to help local shelters, but its mission is so much broader than that. HSUS recognizes that to achieve meaningful change for animals, it's critical to work at the policy and "big picture" levels by strengthening laws and raising public awareness about the many forms are animal cruelty that are ingrained in modern society and so often hidden from public view. I believe that even people who aren't "animal people" would be horrified if they had even the most basic information about where their eggs come from and how that chicken sitting on those nice clean supermarket shelves was raised.

We need better laws to protect animals from egregious forms of cruelty and HSUS is working hard to achieve that goal and to educate the public so people can make more informed choices in aspects of their lives that implicate animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give HSUS even more staff and resources so it would have an even larger footprint.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States is an incredible animal protection organization. They exist to solve major problems & to protect as many animals as possible. Some groups like Humanewatch (a DC front group) say they want the HSUS to fund local Humane Societies, but this is only part of the story. Humanewatch & many of the people against the HSUS profit from the exploitation of animals. It would help them if the HSUS was less powerful & effective.

The HSUS was created to protect ALL ANIMALS. They fight against route causes of animal suffering, by changing laws & educating the public. The HSUS fights against factory farms, puppy mills, dog fighting, seal clubbing, shark finning, the fur industry, exotic animal ownership/exploitation, horse slaughter, and all forms of exploitation. The HSUS is truly an amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the HSUS even more powerful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sadly, this is largely a misunderstood, but incredible organization. The H.S.U.S. often gets lumped together with extreme animal rights groups who they may not share ideals with, and have to defend itself.
The Humane Society of the U.S. helps ALL animals/wildlife on the planet from disaster
relief, dog fighting, puppy mills, & factory farming, to effecting change through legislation to protect companion, farm and wildlife/marine animals, and more.
As our AZ state district leader, Kari Nienstedt, put it, "Local state shelters are like the buckets catching the rain under the holes in your roof, whereas the H.S.U.S. is trying to repair and strengthen the roof."
The H.S.U.S. is NOT in the business of physically assisting local shelters. They use their limited resources to fight for basic animal welfare around the globe. Every living creature on this earth deserves to have BASIC biological and emotional needs met (food, water, shelter, humane treatment...) This organization is NOT an extremist group calling for all Americans to become vegetarians. They are just trying to achieve humane treatment of all species with whom we share this planet. I think most Americans are in support of that idea.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

As an intern at The HSUS, I've seen the amazing work this organization does. They understand that change is incremental and expertly choose those causes that are important and will help end an immense amount of suffering. They are truly advocates for all animals, whether companion animals, farm animals, marine mammals, wild animals, or any other group or species. They work to end animal suffering at all levels, and I am proud to have worked with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...32 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers