Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
340 Reviews
12.97353345
Write A Review
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Im an EX-Donor after I read about this recently:
Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) Exposed: Stripped of Charity Rating After $15 Million Payout http://www.hfa.org/pdf/Corruption-RICO_Lawsuit-HSUS.pdf
December 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 27, 2014

HSUS is a big RIPOFF each of the last 2 years they have sent over $20 million in their offshore accounts they have given only 1% of donated money to benefit animals Do the research before you throw your money away, Give locally LD
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I am living in Belgium but I have been a donor to HSUS for a few years now. They are great and they do a great job. They should get as much support as possible along with other non-profits like 'Big cats rescue' and so many others
November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS impressed me so much as I learned about what they do, that I have reached out to volunteer for them whenever possible. They are committed to making sure ALL animals are treated fairly. They help support other animal agencies, they provide places of care for animals and most uniquely, they work to change and create laws that protect animals. We can all rescue animals in need every day of our lives, but until there are laws to stop the people and industries from causing these problems, it will never end.
Before supporting HSUS financially, I made sure they used donor dollars in the most responsible way possible and am pleased with what I found. I support other charities, as well, but HSUS is my #1 organization!
October 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014

Powerful lobbyist for animals, strong voice for those who cannot speak.
September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

I volunteered for HSUS efforts in an eastern state after the hurricane. Problem was, they were more interested in getting photo ops than helping animals.
August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for many organizations (animal - as well- as people-oriented). I have spent many hours searching on the web for information about charitable organizations from credible sources, as I contribute a substantial amount of my income to them.

HSUS is staffed, from top to
bottom, with such dedicated, skilled, and capable people. I have seen very few organizations that run so efficiently and effectively. I work with HSUS because it is such a successful and positive agent of change for animals - thanks in such large measure to Wayne Pacelle's exceptional leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have stopped donating to this organization. They have paid $15 million of donated funds in a scandal associated with the Corrupt Organizations and Racketeering (RICO) suit. Wayne Pacelle, CEO, Mike Markarian, VP, John Lovvorn, VP have all been accused of illicit witness payments. The Charity Navigator has suspended it's rating of HSUS and recommends donors re-evaluate their donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HSUS is an organization that works extremely hard to protect family animals, animals in the wild, and the well being of individuals by promoting healthy food choices. I know of no other organization who has done so much for so many.
The biggest and toughest role that the HSUS champions is to
secure laws in our local, state and national governments which PROTECT animals from cruel treatment and needless killing. I am very proud of HSUS's constant work to protect all animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would welcome HSUS to work more with educational institutions to educate and communicate the need for awareness on how animals are treated in industry, e.g. factory farming, and its impact on the environment; as well as the need for animal welfare laws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The HSUS is an effective, hugely impactful organization making big changes for animals in a number of areas that range from stopping the testing of cosmetics on animals to fighting for better, more humane conditions animals raised for food in industrial agriculture.

Critics often
disparage HSUS by saying it doesn't do enough to help local shelters, but its mission is so much broader than that. HSUS recognizes that to achieve meaningful change for animals, it's critical to work at the policy and "big picture" levels by strengthening laws and raising public awareness about the many forms are animal cruelty that are ingrained in modern society and so often hidden from public view. I believe that even people who aren't "animal people" would be horrified if they had even the most basic information about where their eggs come from and how that chicken sitting on those nice clean supermarket shelves was raised.

We need better laws to protect animals from egregious forms of cruelty and HSUS is working hard to achieve that goal and to educate the public so people can make more informed choices in aspects of their lives that implicate animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give HSUS even more staff and resources so it would have an even larger footprint.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers