Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
327 Reviews
12.9419345
Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

As a volunteer in Arizona, I have seen firsthand the incredible work done by The Humane Society of the United States. It works to make the world a better place for animals in so many ways, such as working for much-needed better laws to protect animals, rescuing animals from cruel situations, and educating the public about problems and issues animals have. HSUS is one of the few organizations working to improve the lives of "all animals, everywhere." HSUS focuses on helping animals in the U.S. and has an international affiliate that works to help animals across the globe. There are thousands of volunteers such as me very serious about helping animals who appreciate the backing, support and information provided by HSUS. I make a significant financial contribution every year according to my means, and work regularly with the great people at HSUS. They truly have one of the best organizations and collection of expertise in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 9, 2013

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail c... more

August 1, 2014

I became a member of the HSUS, when one of their agents helped get improvements made for impounded animals in my city in 1974. At the time I was impressed with the outreach and accomplishments of the organization, when it was a lot smaller than it is now. Over the years, I have been thrilled with the organization, as it grew into the effective organization that it is today.

The HSUS was founded in 1954 to do what small local or regional humane organizations cannot do, including working on state and national legislation. I have had opportunities to work on grassroots efforts with the HSUS on legislative issues.

The work of the HSUS is fully explained on its vast website, its magazines and in its official history, that was published on its 50th anniversary. As a volunteer in various aspeccts of humane work on a local level, information from the HSUS was always just a phone call away.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

engage in a long period of study and analysis before I made changes, if any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a proud member of the HSUS since 1974 - almost 40 years. During that time, I have had the priviledge of knowing several staff members personally and many others through phone and e-mail contacts as I am also an active volunteer in local humane work and have had reasons to contact the HSUS for information or advice from time to time. There is no more transparent organization than the HSUS. They display what they do on their website and in their frequently published magazine. If the HSUS says they did this or did that in connection with a large rescue effort, you will find newspaper and TV accounts that back up their claims. No other humane organization is attacked by animal abusers as widely as is the HSUS. And that is simply because the HSUS is exposing the cruelties that are suffered by animals, cruelties that are carefully hidden from the public - puppy mills, horse soring, and abuses within factory farms, to name a few. Those who profit from those enterprises involving cruelty to animals don't want the HSUS interfering in their business. They especially don't want the HSUS lobbying for better federal and state laws. Since it was only founded in 1954, the history of the HSUS and its purpose is well documented. By the way - the money donated for the Katrina rescue was all spent in the region, some of it being spent after the fact of the actual rescue, spent helping the companion animals in that region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with the HSUS in 1974, when one of their field agents helped bring about needed changes in the local municipal animal shelter where I live. At that time, the HSUS was much smaller than it was today. In attending some of their educational seminars for volunteers and shelter workers in the 1970's, I became more acquainted with their work and was amazed at how much they got done with no larger employee base than they had at that time. I watched very carefully as the HSUS grew in size and function over the years. I have not been disappointed. During the time between 1974 and the present, I have stayed involved in local and state issues and projects relating to animals, and have benefitted from the opportunities to learn more about humane issues from the HSUS by attending seminars, conferences, and the HSUS EXPO events as well as simply calling them up on the phone and discussing my concerns. I believe that my relationship with various agents of the HSUS is the only thing that has kept me active in the humane movement. As I obviously watch the HSUS very closely, I could sit here for a very long time cataloging the things they do to help animals in a meaningful way. Best I just say for those who want to know more about the organization, just go to their website, read their press releases and click on the button that says "News." I am particularly interested in their rescue efforts - rescuing animals in natural disasters and assisting law enforcement agencies in investigating dog fights, puppy mills and hoarder cases. I also like reading about their involvement in these cases in the general media - that is on TV station and newspaper websites. You will find, as I have, that the news media backs up the HSUS website reports of their involvement in these cases.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

My experience has been as a volunteer in multiple capacities. The opportunities have been numerous and various, and I have been continuously impressed at how HSUS spends its funds. Truly, they are offer support across the nation to animals of all kinds. In addition, they have staff and educational materials to help rescue groups and shelters. Their grassroots work are second to none.

It feels great to be a part of something like HSUS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I support HSUS because of its fiscal responsibility and its common sense approach to animal welfare issues.
NATIONAL ORGANIZATION WITH LOCAL IMPACT: One thing that confuses people about HSUS is that is not a group that runs local shelters. It's biggest challenge is brand confusion. HSUS
focuses on national issues that are too big for local shelters to take on or that cross state lines and are actually outside the jurisdiction of local or state systems (e.g. dog fighting rings, puppy mills, farm animals, wildlife protection, to name just a few). This does not mean they don't support community or shelter programs. Their research helps shelters make decisions about care, their Pets for Life program offers low cost vet services to underserved communities and their wildlife services help local government and organizations deal with significant wildlife challenges (i.e. deer population). We need an organization that has the big picture so local organizations have a resource to tap when they need it.
BALANCED APPROACH: What is more, HSUS takes a balanced approach to animal welfare issues unlike some other animal welfare groups. For example, they don't oppose hunting for food, they oppose canned hunting. They don't oppose farming, they oppose factory farming. To me, if you love animals all of their advocacy is just common sense.
EFFICIENCY: HSUS has in impressive number of programs. But the way the organization is structured there is accountability and efficiency within each program so there is no bloat, no cracks for money to fall through. It's impressive.
I am both a donor and volunteer with this organization because I feel it is worth my time and money. Every single person I've met at HSUS could be doing something else but has chosen to dedicate their lives to helping animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

The Humane Society of the United States is the only national, full-spectrum animal protection organization that addresses the issues affecting all animals, from pets to wildlife to farm animals. It is tremendously effective in raising awareness of the conditions affecting animals and bringing forward workable solutions. HSUS serves as a leader in setting standards and offering grants to local shelters, proposing legislation to prevent cruelty, and working with corporations to end cruelty in their supply chains. I have volunteered in numerous capacities for HSUS for several years and continue to be impressed by its effectiveness and the sincerity of the people who work there. HSUS is exceptional in meeting the critical needs of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not found anything to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

My experience as a volunteer has been very worthwhile - the staff and my fellow volunteers are friendly, capable, and united by a common desire to help end the needless suffering of animals. The organization also seems to be very well run from a financial perspective and I am confident that my donations go directly to HSUS' advocacy programs, which are designed to improve animal welfare through legislation as well as encouraging people to make humane choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help people understand the difference between HSUS, which does amazing advocacy work at the local, state, and national levels, and the Humane Societies in local communities, which focus on direct care and sheltering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

HSUS does great work! They work to protect ALL animals and address the root causes of suffering. They support local shelters through their national conferences, online resources, etc. And they provide hands-on care through their rescue work and sanctuaries. But they do so much more than that! Legislation, law enforcement training, corporate outreach, public education...the list goes on and on. HSUS is a mainstream organization fighting to help create a more humane society. Their name says it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved in the advocacy efforts of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The scope of work done by the HSUS is truly amazing. As a long-term supporter and now volunteer for this organization, I continue to be impressed by their accomplishments in advocacy, education, rescue and working tirelessly to prevent cruelty to all animals. Without the work of the HSUS, there would be far fewer animal protection laws passed, resulting in significantly more suffering for our animal friends. As a volunteer, the HSUS has provided me with great training and resources. As a result, I have learned a great deal about our legislative process and have the opportunity to interact with my local, state and federal legislators; allowing me to successfully advocate and be the "voice" for those who need our help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with the HSUS to help animals in my town. Consequently, this experience led to my volunteering with them, as well as being a supporter. I am impressed by their level of professionalism, compassion, effectiveness and transparency. CEO Wayne Pacelle has effectively grown and led this organization to one that has millions of members. The numbers don't lie, and there is a reason to be supportive of HSUS - they make a difference for animals. That fact is proven by the actions of those entities who feel threatened enough to retaliate. HSUS will always have my respect and support as one of the most successful animal welfare organizations in the world and one of the most deserving charities. I never worry about where my contributions are going and I intend to include them in my final arrangements as my last gesture for animal welfare. They rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The scope of the work done by HSUS is simply amazing. Not only do they provide training and resources for small local shelters - like the one I manage, they also tackle the larger issue of animal cruelty in industries around the world. They are by far the largest, most effective animal welfare group that you could donate to. I have always been impressed with my HSUS State Rep who goes above an beyond in a state where animal welfare ranks low in priority for our legislators.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers