Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We recently relocated to the McCormick area and I was surprised that there was no governmental agency for animals here. Thank goodness for the hard working individuals of the Humane Society of McCormick County who give untiringly of their time and energy to provide for the homeless animals in our community. I am continually amazed at the efforts by these volunteers to provide homes and shelter for so many poor animals who would otherwise starve. When the shelter is full, they find neighbors who are willing to provide foster care until the animals are adopted. On Saturdays, they drive to other towns to spend the day making efforts to find good homes for these sweet animals. The volunteers have wonderful fundraising efforts as well, creating fun events that the entire community enjoys. I can heartily commend this organization for their hard work.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

!st I have to ask the reader of this review if you can imagine living where there is no animal control officer, no shelter funded by your municipality or one that gets any monetary support what so ever other than the money that is raised by the 100% all volunteer effort that is the ONLY help in the county for abandoned or unwanted animals? That is the situation in McCormick County, SC. I live in this county and can tell you that without this group of volunteers we'd be inundated with animals unwanted and suffering. They have saved literally thousands of animals from being born unwanted through their spay/neuter program which allows for those who have bigger hearts than they do pocketbooks to get their animals altered so they stop producing unwanted animals. They've managed in only 15 years from start to finish to build both a dog and cat shelter and they've done this by raising money through fundraising efforts, some grants, and donations from the general public. Additionally, they have found forever homes for many animals and have done this through their no-kill policy. This humane effort is truly an incredible group of folks who work tirelessly to educate, rescue, rehabilitate when needed through their nurturing ways, and place in loving homes all those animals from within our county who have needed help. I thank God for them all every day & pray they will continue to stay strong.
May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

McCormick Humane society is a no kill shelter.The volunteers are very nice and also hard workers.The place is very clean and all the animals are up to date with shots and heartworm treatments.I was very impressed at what I saw the day I visited them..I have rescued several dogs myself and I hate to see animals that people dump on the side of the road or in someones front yard.I know when anyone takes a dog to them they research anyone that wants to adopt that pet before they release them.I really feel good about this place..
September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My mom and daughter both help out with hsmc. They LOVE it!! They stay busy walking the dogs and have even fostered. I live in Michigan and stay on top of all the events that go on. My son has helped with the dogs when he goes to visit his grandma and grandpa. He loves spending time with the dogs walking and playing with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

A wonderful organization, with truly dedicated members. They to a marvelous job helping the community and more importantly the Animals. A loving group of people, with the interest of the animals at heart. I am especially pleased they are "A No Kill" society. Fair weather or foul weather they never ignore their animals. If I lived there I would be a Foster Home or help anyway I could, alas I live in Mississippi. I have personal knowledge of the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to increase donations and encourage volunteer programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

This group is one of the few that wrote back to me with open hearts and open minds when I e-mailed about a situation that we were in. We had saved a dog from a kill shelter and needed to find him a safe place. They were so understanding, so kind, so caring and so willing to help in any possible way. They didn't discriminate or push us away. They offered their advice, ideas and thoughts on what we could do to get the dog a home. We exchanged countless e-mails, each one from them just as full of advice and understanding as the last one. Many other rescues turned us away or wrote back to us with spiteful, negative comments, but not HSMC. They love and care for these animals and I am totally convinced that their rescue could run on their pure love alone! Thank you, thank you, thank you HSMC for being so awesome, especially when others weren't. I appreciate and support this rescue with every fiber of my being :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am a teacher in the rural county served by HSOMC. For over 12 years, volunteers from the Society have come into the schoo to share information to our students on proper animal care. HSOMC has worked hard to develop this education program, and has certainly changed the lives of many of the pets owned by our students. Many of our students have even convinced their parents to have their pets altered - a truly amazing accomplishment considering the lack of resources and education regarding animal welfare in this county. There is no animal control or shelter in this county, and the HSOMC does all it can to help these animals who otherwise would have nowhere to go, and no one to care for them. Given the fact that they have no facility and the "staff" is entirely made up of volunteers, they have done an incredible job. I am so thankful for the work they do every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 15, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I often find myself at the adoptions over weekends, every time I go across to say hello to the volunteers I am met with friendliness and get a few hugs too. They never tire of telling the stories of the dogs and cats that are looking for homes, treat them with such love and devotion it usually brings me to tears. I have volunteered for many organizations over many years and usually there is a sour apple in the mix, but these folks are the real deal. Too many volunteers are burnt out and don't make it pleasant at all but not the HS of McCormick. I wish I could help more other than admire them and their dogs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

weekly adoption events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot find anything to add to what they are doing alreadyl

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer