Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.976745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough great things about the McCormick County Humane Society. Everyone I've met has a passion for giving all animals good health and a good home. My neighbor and now friend, has been a volunteer with them for over 10 years. She devotes herself above and beyond what most people would ever consider doing in order to help ANY animal. Every Sat. she volunteers at the pet adoptions, 45 minutes away from her home. She fosters animals, she has paid out of her pocket for medical care for neighborhood animals, she helps friends/neighbors when they need assistance with their pets, she helps fund raise and she stays involved in community issues relating to pets. She is just ONE of their volunteers.

When I mentioned that I was ready for another dog, she immediately had one in mind that she thought would be a great fit for us both. BELLA was brought into the shelter after being found by another animal lover who wasn't able to take on a fourth dog. Bella had more energy than I knew how to handle. My friend/volunteer not only gave me suggestions, she gave me many toys, loaned a crate to me and frequently followed up on me. Most impressive was that she came over in the evenings to take Bella for a walk when I was working. This was far and above what I could have ever hoped for in a friend or volunteer. Again, she is just ONE of their volunteers. From her stories, all the volunteers sound just a dedicated as she it.

I've had Bella now for 2 1/2 months. She is the light of my life and makes me smile more than I can say. She goes to day care while I'm at work and we both come home exhausted. She's allowed on the sofa now and thinks she is in heaven. Thank you so much Judy for being a great person and thanks also to Lisa for making sure Bella wouldn't remain a stray by bringing her in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 21, 2012

Many people love animals and want to help in some way. The great thing about this organization is that people can volunteer every day, once a week, or just during special events and we need both hands... more

July 23, 2014

I am a proud failed foster home. We fostered a shy, loving dog named Barrett and after a couple of months, we realized that he fit in perfect in our home and with our other dog. We made it official and adopted him. After he gets settled, we plan on fostering more dogs for the HSMC. It is very rewarding and fostering first is a great way to know if a dog is going to fit into your household.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more people involved. Once you learn the great impact that the HSMC has on the community, you just want to help. And working with the dogs and cats is the best part. They are worthy of our time and love.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Many people love animals and want to help in some way. The great thing about this organization is that people can volunteer every day, once a week, or just during special events and we need both hands-on volunteers and behind the scenes help. I live an hour from McCormick but I can still help by taking pictures at adoption events, sharing adoptable animals on Facebook, and helping to find grant opportunities online. Of course, if I wanted to walk dogs or trap cats, I would be welcome and someday I might move back and help them this way too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with the Humane Society of McCormick County for 9 years. I have participated in a variety of activities but the most enjoyable moments are when I am hands on with the dogs and cats. I like to help at our adoption events whenever I can. Adoption events are good for the animals because they get socialized, they get some training, and they get lots of attention. And, they might find a forever home! It is the best feeling in the whole world when you know a dog will get to sleep on someone's bed that night because you volunteered that day. And for me, I get to play with puppies, dogs, kittens and cats. I love animals but I can't take them all home with me. My husband says I get my "puppy fix" when I help at adoption events. For every person that helps, one more animal can be shown off and possibly find a home that day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many thank you's I hear when I go on adoption events. Past adopters bring their newest family member back so we can see how well they are doing. The happy families and the healthy dogs/cats are all the motivation I need to continue helping at these events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to strengthen their volunteer base. The entire organization is made up of volunteers but the key 20 people do 85% of the work. Animal rescue is hard work and stressful and the more volunteers that can help, the easier the burden would be on the individuals.

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I would like to say how thankful I am for The Humane Society Of McCormick, South Carolina. Someone had came through my neighborhood and dropped of a beautiful young female dog. I took her in and kept her for several weeks trying to figure out how I was going to care for another dog. I have three myself and really couldn't afford it. My mother and I took Bella to the vet to have her checked for health issues as well as shots. She was in perfect health. I emailed the HS of McCormick and they quickly responded. They stepped up to the plate by taking Bella, having her spayed and gave her lots of love and attention, until they found her forever home. I was very impressed because the staff were so caring and they reassured me that she would do great. They have the cleanest facility that I've ever visited, along with excellent care, love and affection for the animals there. I know if I ever need help again, they will be the only shelter I'll call. Thank you HS of McCormick for everything you do!!! You have the best staff and volunteers I've ever met!!!

Lisa Stanley

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have several run ins with the human society of McCormick..My mother was struggling to take care of two dogs outside and 4 cats on the inside . They brought by food several times, they helped to get both the mother and daughter fixed , then at last when moma could no longer take care of them they took them and found great homes for them..
July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

On Saturdays, the Humane Society of McCormick County brings animals that are up for adoption to our local PetSmart. I have been multiple times to the adoption events and everyone from HMSC is very friendly and knowledgeable. They helped me find a cat that worked for me. Each Saturday that I went, they let me hold the cats they had brought and told me about their history and their personality. One Saturday I went, and they had just brought a cat, Leo, who was an owner surrender. I was able to meet him and I fell in love. The adoption process was smooth and we brought him home the next day! I am forever grateful for HMSC for recommending Leo to me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

We are the proud new parents of Charlie! Charlie is a sweet loveable hound mix from the Humane Society of McCormick County that we fell in love with when we visited Petsmart. He captured our hearts immediately. All the people from the Mc Cormick group were so helpful and worked with us to be sure Charlie was going to a good home. His foster parents gave us alot of information about Charlie and all they had been doing with him...you could certainly tell they loved him and had taken such good care of him. The Humane Society of McCormick County does so much good with minimal resources. Their volunteers have hearts of gold and do eveything they can to save the lives of as many animals as possible and make sure they get forever homes! They took adoption pictures of Charlie that day and made it a "family picture"...me, my husband, Emma (our 8 year old dog) and Charlie! What a good memory to have of that day! Charlie has been with us a week now and is a wonderful addition to our family! Our many thanks go to everyone involved with the McCormick group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

We happened to stop by PetSmart when HSOMC was having one of their adoption events. We were just taking our dog (Blade) for some socialization with people and animals. They were set-up in the front of the store, where everyone could see their BABIES!!! When I say babies, I mean that they treat every one of their animals as if they were part of their own family. All of the ladies and gentlemen that are involved with HSOMC are so loving, caring, helpful and compassionate for what they do. We walked over to let Blade see their animals. We ended up falling in love with a 12 week old puppy by the name of Tandi (now named Marlee) and adopted her that day. Ms. Barbara said that when it was time for her to be fixed, she would get in touch with me to set up her surgery at the Aiken SPCA because it was closer to where we live. A couple of days after Marlee turned 4 months old Ms. Barbara called and had everything set up for us. On occasion, we stop in at PetSmart when HSOMC is there so they can see how Marlee is doing. They know it is her time she walks in the door. These ladies and gentlemen go above and beyond for the sake of animals. We love them so much for changing our lives with our Sweet Marlee!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had my female dog altered through the Humane Society. They were really awesome and the nicest people you could ever encounter. I knew my dog was in excellent hands once I dropped her off.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

We adopted our dog from HSOMC. All of the volunteers at the Petsmart Adoption Event were so kind and helpful. While we were shopping for our new dog, they offered to watch her. They also sent us home with her dog food and her favorite bed. You can tell they truly cared for all of the pets and their well being. I was simply amazed at all of these incredible individuals who are working so hard to find the pets homes and bring awareness to responsible pet ownership. I would recommend anyone looking to get a dog or cat to check out HSOMC. They are a great organization doing a wonderful thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer