Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I love being a part of this all volunteer organization. The HS of McCormick County has made amazing progress in this small, rural community toward educating residents about the importance of spay and neuter. I help out at the pens and as a foster home for dogs and I have had overwhelmingly good experiences. Other volunteers are just a phone call away, and always quick to help solve any problems. The recently opened cat barn is a new part of my childrens' and my week- what a great experience for them to be able to volunteer and take responsibility for creatures in need. I am proud to have this organization as part of my community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a protocol for dogs that have been at the pens beyond a certain amount of time- there are adoptable stray dogs being turned away because of lack of space at the shelter, but there are dogs that have been at the shelter up to and over a year. I appreciate that we don't give up on these dogs, but I wonder if there is a way to help them get greater exposure, or a group out there with more resources that could help out in these situations?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When we moved to McCormick in 2008, I knew that the one organization I wanted to be involved with was the Humane Society. It was a great decision. I've been on rescues, gone to adoption events and walk the dogs every week. (Fostering Bridget was a blessing and because our adoption team is so caring, I know that she found the perfect home.) The volunteers of Humane Society of McCormick County in SC are a remarkable group of men and women. All volunteers who give generously of time and money. I am proud to be a small part of this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing. Our new shelter is going up and there will be more room for the animals. Life is good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering at the McCormick Humane Society Shelter about a year ago when we first moved to SLV. Unfortunately, my back problems have kept me away from the pens for awhile and I miss all the dogs terribly. I have never met such a dedicated group of people from the people at the top who run the daily work of the organization to the volunteers who help with the animals. They are so caring and love the animals like they were their own (and some of them have become their own). This is a very worthy cause and thank God for the people who run the McCormick Shelter because if not for them, there would be too many dogs and cats out there who would not have a chance to find loving, caring homes were it not for these volunteers. They work hard to help and protect all the animals in their care and I would hate to see what it would be like if they were not here to do this, sometimes unappreciated job. Thank all of you dedicated volunteers who love our animals in McCormick. Keep up the wonderful work that you are doing. It is truly appreciated!

Helen J

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

this HS is made up with people that really really cares for the animals.they give way over 100% of their time.Ron Cook is our man over the adoption of our sweet dogs and cats.This man lives with pain ... more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When we moved from Charlotte NC to here was something else.A small town really!
Then I met this group of people who were giving of their time helping the dogs and cats
who were not getting paid anything for helping these animals and I was amaze at the
love they have for these sweet
animals.I volunteer on Tuesday afternoon with this one lady
whose heart is totally for the dogs.She loves them all and goes all the time helping them.
I have seen some sad cases of a hurt and scared dog come in but by the end of the week
what a change there is in a dog because now he has learned what love is.I want to thank the HSMC
people for moving here and giving of your time for helping these dogs and cats because without them
what would happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

this HS is made up with people that really really cares for the animals.they give way over 100% of their time.Ron Cook is our man over the adoption of our sweet dogs and cats.This man lives with pain but he goes to Petsmart every weekend for these animals to find forever homes.There alot of people that loves these animals but he stands out to me because I see the way he is with the dogs.This HS is made up with great caring people.I wish everyone that lives here would be like this group of people.Thank you all for loving our dogs and cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

While working with this organization I have witness many acts of kindness, and charity for this small community. They have helped many dogs and cats, that have been left to fend for themselves or starved or mistreated. When I first came here, I saw a starving horse...I called them even though they did not work with horses, they went out of there way to help get this animal taken care of. There truly are angels out
there that walk among us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope and pray for more volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Amazeing organization...they do it all with volunteer help and funraising projects...no government money of anykind. Weekly adoption trips, monthly Spay and Neuter program open to the community....24/7 loving care of dogs and cats in the program. I have been involved with many community organizations in my life but this group tops them all.
This organization's effct on McCormick County for the past 13 years has been enormous.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and give the money to them!!! Well, most of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

HSMC is a wonderful organization and is made up of a great group of volunteers that have the interest of the animals at heart. I have been thinking about volunteering to help an animal shelter and wasn't able to decide on one. Two weeks ago I spoke to some of the HSMC volunteers at the Aiken PetSmart Adoption and decided I'd like to help out. If I lived closer I'd help out more than at the pet adoptions in Aiken. The next pet I adopt will be from them. You couldn't ask for a better group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have volunteered with HSMC for 12 years. I have never met such a loving group of people. They not only care about the aniamals....they care about each other. My husband, Ron, is the Adoption Chair and has been diagnosed with a disabling disease. He goes on adoption each and every Saturday and the volunteers who accompany him help him loading his walker in and out of the van each and every Saturday.
I appreciate them so much....and so does he.

Judy C.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Can you imagine living in a county where there is no animal control or shelter for abandoned & unwanted animals for the entire county in which you live? When we retired to McCormick County 13 years ago it never occured to us to ask about such things but we soon learned that for anyone who truly cared about animals it would be a shock to find those things for which we took for granted where we'd lived previously did not exist for us any longer. Over the years I have found the people who work for this effort are some of the smartest most caring individuals I've ever had the pleasure of volunteering with bar none! They are not ego-centered in any way and exhibit such a concern for animals that they have for the greater part spent much of their free time focused upon the development and growth of caring for animals in a pro-active way (meaning through thier low cost spay/neuter program thus stopping the flow of unwanted animals at its source) as well as hands on. They aggressively pursue ways to raise funding for their expenses as they get not a penny from city county or state. It's a constant battle but they are determined to fulfill their dream of ending the needless suffering animals endure when abandoned. Watching this group work is like watching a colony of ants! All hardworking, focused, and determined to make it work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 18, 2010

I have been volunteering with the Humane Society of McCormick County for 9 years. I have participated in a variety of activities but the most enjoyable moments are when I am hands on with the dogs and... more

November 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Many people love animals and want to help in some way. The great thing about this organization is that people can volunteer every day, once a week, or just during special events and we need both hands-on volunteers and behind the scenes help. I live an hour from McCormick but I can still help by taking pictures at adoption events, sharing adoptable animals on Facebook, and helping to find grant opportunities online. Of course, if I wanted to walk dogs or trap cats, I would be welcome and someday I might move back and help them this way too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with the Humane Society of McCormick County for 9 years. I have participated in a variety of activities but the most enjoyable moments are when I am hands on with the dogs and cats. I like to help at our adoption events whenever I can. Adoption events are good for the animals because they get socialized, they get some training, and they get lots of attention. And, they might find a forever home! It is the best feeling in the whole world when you know a dog will get to sleep on someone's bed that night because you volunteered that day. And for me, I get to play with puppies, dogs, kittens and cats. I love animals but I can't take them all home with me. My husband says I get my "puppy fix" when I help at adoption events. For every person that helps, one more animal can be shown off and possibly find a home that day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many thank you's I hear when I go on adoption events. Past adopters bring their newest family member back so we can see how well they are doing. The happy families and the healthy dogs/cats are all the motivation I need to continue helping at these events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to strengthen their volunteer base. The entire organization is made up of volunteers but the key 20 people do 85% of the work. Animal rescue is hard work and stressful and the more volunteers that can help, the easier the burden would be on the individuals.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer