Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My 13 years with HSMC NO KILL SHELTER has been so rewarding, not just because of the incredible people I have met, but the feeling of giving & helping all the unwanted furbabies that come in all shapes & sizes & need us to love them & make them feel they are wanted...I started volunteering when we had a low small shed we stored the food in & when it was raining the only part of you that was covered was your head. It would be cold & wet, very miserable I might say, but when you saw the faces looking at you so appreciatively & lovingly, it made it all worth it. The ALL volunteer effort is beyond words & I love them ALL...also am enjoying our newly built shelter...warm & cool...
I will also add that most of the volunteers are not spring chickens,no offense guys,you are great...!
November 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for 14 years at this rescue. I was a volunteer from its inception. I have adopted 3 dogs in the last 14 years. I walked and fed and cleaned pens for 11 years. I no longer volunteer weekly, but as a sub, since I am getting on in years. I have never worked with an organization that is so caring and so committed to saving animals as this organization. The volunteers are passionate about saving the dogs and cats of our county. We have no animal control in our county and without the Humane Society of McCormick County with their spay/neuter program the amount of dogs and cats not being under control, due to not spaying or neutering and just being let out into the wild would be in the thousands. I am proud to be a part of this organization.
Karen Hoyt
November 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is the most caring group of people I have had the opportunity to work with. The time and effort they put into taking care of the feral cats and rescue animals is amazing. It is a labor of love, and it shows in all the volunteers that work tirelessly to make a better life for all the unwanted and abandoned animals. Their future is much brighter thanks to these fine people.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a resident of McCormick County for three and a half years and a "dog walker" for the Humane Society of McCormick County for a little over a year, I'd like everyone to know that this organization is full of the most dedicated volunteers ever. Because we receive no government support, the volunteers work constantly to raise the funds to care for our abandoned or homeless dogs and cats. This is a major effort. No fund-raising event (yard sale, dinner, nut sale, etc.) is over before another one takes its place. This requires hours of selfless dedication to our animals. We have no paid staff. Through the support of our community and these volunteers, we are able to provide veterinary care, food and shelter for our animals. We are a no-kill shelter that even has a very successful trap-neuter-release (& feed) our feral cats. It never ceases to amaze me what this group accomplishes. And we are so successful at finding forever homes for our animals as well. I can't tell you how much I admire what the HSMC does. It is a truly great organization.
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Th McCormick Humane Society is full of the most dedicated volunteers. They have done a wonderful job of providing a shelter for both dogs and cats. Strictly volunteer with no funding from county. Willing to go out of their way to help. Very devoted to their cause.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is comprised of volunteers only, who are passionate animal lovers in a county with no services whatsoever for strays and unwanted pets. Through vigorous, non-stop fundrasing they have built a modest cat and dog shelter, aggressive spay and neuter program and high success with rehoming hundreds of dogs and cats. Can't think of a better way to contribute back to society and advocate for those who share our planet.
July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is am amazing organization that is doing wonderful things for the community. They are making peoples and dogs lives better on a daily basis. It is organizations like these that truly make the world a better place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I don't know where to begin. We live in the woods in McCormick. One day my husband was mowing the lawn and he heard the sound of an animal in pain. He went walking through a forestry path and a dog came running up to him, he put his paws and my husband's shoulders and starts giving kisses. We don't know where he came from, but he was approximately 3 yrs. old, black Shepard with light brown socks, his eyes were the same light brown color. He brought him back to the house and we noticed metal things hanging off him. I called the police department and it turned out he has been tasered . I called the president of the humane society and he quickly put us in touch with a vet to surgically remove these things. All the while the volunteers stayed in touch with us and after a week or so they took him under their wings and found him a furever home. While doing this for any pet, the volunteers are VERY thorough with potential adopters to be sure the pets are going to a safe home. Homes inspections are done. Because of this my husband and I volunteer by feeding and walking the dogs and going to adoptions on Saturdays. I am continually amazed by the commitment and caring of the volunteers from fundraising to adoptions to spay neuter and most important educating the community about pet care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 1, 2013

Can you imagine living in a county where there is no animal control or shelter for abandoned & unwanted animals for the entire county in which you live? When we retired to McCormick County 13 years ag... more

July 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Can you can imagine living in an area where your entire county has no animal control, no shelter, no help what so ever for abandoned or unwanted animals?That is McCormick County, a very poor area of South Carolina. And so enters the 100% ALL volunteer, no-kill effort called the Humane Society of McCormick County, Inc. These volunteers are fully responsible for not only helping these animals but also raising all the money needed to care for them! They are remarkable!!! They receive not one single penny from city, county or state yet in 16 years of effort they have managed to only recently move the cats and dogs from outside pens to a cat and a dog shelter they've built in the past two years. They have not lost site of what no-kill is as their spay/neuter program remains a priority and they managed to alter apx 500 animals just last year. It's an on going process and this organization, it's volunteers and its leadership could be used as a standard for other no-kill efforts. They are truly selfless going out in rain, snow,utterly ugly conditions to tend to these animals, they'll drop social commitments to help an animal in distress, and they literally plan their lives around the needs of this organization. There truly are no words to adequately express the good they do for the county and its animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to give them the money they need to grow as they envision so that they could meet their goal of altering every animal in McCormick County for those who can not afford the procedure. McCormick County suffers from high unemployment so folks have bigger hearts than pocketbooks and many can't afford to have their animals spayed/ or neutered. The "No more litters.... fix your critters" program the HSMC has that helps those folks but money is hard to come by.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Can you imagine living in a county where there is no animal control or shelter for abandoned & unwanted animals for the entire county in which you live? When we retired to McCormick County 13 years ago it never occured to us to ask about such things but we soon learned that for anyone who truly cared about animals it would be a shock to find those things for which we took for granted where we'd lived previously did not exist for us any longer. Over the years I have found the people who work for this effort are some of the smartest most caring individuals I've ever had the pleasure of volunteering with bar none! They are not ego-centered in any way and exhibit such a concern for animals that they have for the greater part spent much of their free time focused upon the development and growth of caring for animals in a pro-active way (meaning through thier low cost spay/neuter program thus stopping the flow of unwanted animals at its source) as well as hands on. They aggressively pursue ways to raise funding for their expenses as they get not a penny from city county or state. It's a constant battle but they are determined to fulfill their dream of ending the needless suffering animals endure when abandoned. Watching this group work is like watching a colony of ants! All hardworking, focused, and determined to make it work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization stands out and above all others. I have recently retired and was looking for an avenue for my time. This is the most organized and passionate group of volunteers that all keep their focus on a single goal, to help the animals. A no-kill shelter that is totally self-sufficient with 100% volunteers and run by donations alone. I find I am excitedly trying to help the cause because the commitment of these people is contagious. The impact made on McCormick County is impressive and a godsend to homeless animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help find monies to support such an expensive cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer