Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.976745
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I love being a part of this all volunteer organization. The HS of McCormick County has made amazing progress in this small, rural community toward educating residents about the importance of spay and neuter. I help out at the pens and as a foster home for dogs and I have had overwhelmingly good experiences. Other volunteers are just a phone call away, and always quick to help solve any problems. The recently opened cat barn is a new part of my childrens' and my week- what a great experience for them to be able to volunteer and take responsibility for creatures in need. I am proud to have this organization as part of my community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a protocol for dogs that have been at the pens beyond a certain amount of time- there are adoptable stray dogs being turned away because of lack of space at the shelter, but there are dogs that have been at the shelter up to and over a year. I appreciate that we don't give up on these dogs, but I wonder if there is a way to help them get greater exposure, or a group out there with more resources that could help out in these situations?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My mom and daughter both help out with hsmc. They LOVE it!! They stay busy walking the dogs and have even fostered. I live in Michigan and stay on top of all the events that go on. My son has helped with the dogs when he goes to visit his grandma and grandpa. He loves spending time with the dogs walking and playing with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

When we moved to McCormick in 2008, I knew that the one organization I wanted to be involved with was the Humane Society. It was a great decision. I've been on rescues, gone to adoption events and walk the dogs every week. (Fostering Bridget was a blessing and because our adoption team is so caring, I know that she found the perfect home.) The volunteers of Humane Society of McCormick County in SC are a remarkable group of men and women. All volunteers who give generously of time and money. I am proud to be a small part of this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing. Our new shelter is going up and there will be more room for the animals. Life is good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering at the McCormick Humane Society Shelter about a year ago when we first moved to SLV. Unfortunately, my back problems have kept me away from the pens for awhile and I miss all the dogs terribly. I have never met such a dedicated group of people from the people at the top who run the daily work of the organization to the volunteers who help with the animals. They are so caring and love the animals like they were their own (and some of them have become their own). This is a very worthy cause and thank God for the people who run the McCormick Shelter because if not for them, there would be too many dogs and cats out there who would not have a chance to find loving, caring homes were it not for these volunteers. They work hard to help and protect all the animals in their care and I would hate to see what it would be like if they were not here to do this, sometimes unappreciated job. Thank all of you dedicated volunteers who love our animals in McCormick. Keep up the wonderful work that you are doing. It is truly appreciated!

Helen J

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Having worked with the HSMC for several years now, I am truly honored to do so. The totally volunteer organization has accomplished amazing tasks (TNR, Spay/neuter program, adoptions an hour away every Saturday, organizing volunteers, writing grants, fostering, and the list goes on) and they are still getting better and growing. New facility in the works! There couldn't be any other county the size of McCormick that comes even close to being so fortunate as to have an HSMC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I have been working hands on with the animals for nine years. We are an aging group, and always looking for new, younger people to commit to caring for our homeless animals. It is my passion to help ... more

September 25, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

It has been a busy year at the shelter. Our current Pres. is a hands on get it done kind of guy. With his persistence we were able to begin construction on our cat and dog shelters. In March, 2013 we opened our doors to a newly built cat shelter. We have a wonderful, bright facility with lots of light, cat scratching posts, wooden boxes with ladders for them to cozy up in. The volunteers also love the happy atmosphere. We also just broke ground at the same location to erect our dog shelter. It will have dog runs where they can play which is not possible at our current outdoor kennel situation. We are actively holding fundraisers to obtain the funds needed to complete the building. It is a very exciting time for our small, volunteer run, with private funding only. I have been working for ten years and I hope I can double the volunteer hours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit additional volunteers

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been working hands on with the animals for nine years. We are an aging group, and always looking for new, younger people to commit to caring for our homeless animals. It is my passion to help God's animals be well fed, rehabilitated, find homes and live happy lives. Fostering is a fun way to help the dogs and cats be ready for their forever home. I work with the volunteers in many capacities, bake sales, fundraising by selling chicken dinners, to lavish parties. We help those animals that are discarded, although they are all precious in our eyes. The Humane Society of McCormick County, Inc. is solely supported by private funds. We get no assistance from the County or City. It makes for a huge challenge, but we are working through it with very dedicated people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that I am aware of dogs finding permanent homes after working with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to bring in new volunteers. We have many aging helpers. It is very hard to draw new people from our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Get our shelter built rather than staying in our temporary kennels.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering is the best way to meet people, and it is truly provides a very worthy way to spend your retirement hours.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

There is nothing like having a dog lick your face, or watch a dog gain needed pounds after good receiving nutrition.

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

this HS is made up with people that really really cares for the animals.they give way over 100% of their time.Ron Cook is our man over the adoption of our sweet dogs and cats.This man lives with pain ... more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When we moved from Charlotte NC to here was something else.A small town really!
Then I met this group of people who were giving of their time helping the dogs and cats
who were not getting paid anything for helping these animals and I was amaze at the
love they have for these sweet
animals.I volunteer on Tuesday afternoon with this one lady
whose heart is totally for the dogs.She loves them all and goes all the time helping them.
I have seen some sad cases of a hurt and scared dog come in but by the end of the week
what a change there is in a dog because now he has learned what love is.I want to thank the HSMC
people for moving here and giving of your time for helping these dogs and cats because without them
what would happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

this HS is made up with people that really really cares for the animals.they give way over 100% of their time.Ron Cook is our man over the adoption of our sweet dogs and cats.This man lives with pain but he goes to Petsmart every weekend for these animals to find forever homes.There alot of people that loves these animals but he stands out to me because I see the way he is with the dogs.This HS is made up with great caring people.I wish everyone that lives here would be like this group of people.Thank you all for loving our dogs and cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

While working with this organization I have witness many acts of kindness, and charity for this small community. They have helped many dogs and cats, that have been left to fend for themselves or starved or mistreated. When I first came here, I saw a starving horse...I called them even though they did not work with horses, they went out of there way to help get this animal taken care of. There truly are angels out
there that walk among us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope and pray for more volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Amazeing organization...they do it all with volunteer help and funraising projects...no government money of anykind. Weekly adoption trips, monthly Spay and Neuter program open to the community....24/7 loving care of dogs and cats in the program. I have been involved with many community organizations in my life but this group tops them all.
This organization's effct on McCormick County for the past 13 years has been enormous.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and give the money to them!!! Well, most of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

HSMC is a wonderful organization and is made up of a great group of volunteers that have the interest of the animals at heart. I have been thinking about volunteering to help an animal shelter and wasn't able to decide on one. Two weeks ago I spoke to some of the HSMC volunteers at the Aiken PetSmart Adoption and decided I'd like to help out. If I lived closer I'd help out more than at the pet adoptions in Aiken. The next pet I adopt will be from them. You couldn't ask for a better group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer