Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.975615
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is am amazing organization that is doing wonderful things for the community. They are making peoples and dogs lives better on a daily basis. It is organizations like these that truly make the world a better place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I don't know where to begin. We live in the woods in McCormick. One day my husband was mowing the lawn and he heard the sound of an animal in pain. He went walking through a forestry path and a dog came running up to him, he put his paws and my husband's shoulders and starts giving kisses. We don't know where he came from, but he was approximately 3 yrs. old, black Shepard with light brown socks, his eyes were the same light brown color. He brought him back to the house and we noticed metal things hanging off him. I called the police department and it turned out he has been tasered . I called the president of the humane society and he quickly put us in touch with a vet to surgically remove these things. All the while the volunteers stayed in touch with us and after a week or so they took him under their wings and found him a furever home. While doing this for any pet, the volunteers are VERY thorough with potential adopters to be sure the pets are going to a safe home. Homes inspections are done. Because of this my husband and I volunteer by feeding and walking the dogs and going to adoptions on Saturdays. I am continually amazed by the commitment and caring of the volunteers from fundraising to adoptions to spay neuter and most important educating the community about pet care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 1, 2013

Can you imagine living in a county where there is no animal control or shelter for abandoned & unwanted animals for the entire county in which you live? When we retired to McCormick County 13 years ag... more

July 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Can you can imagine living in an area where your entire county has no animal control, no shelter, no help what so ever for abandoned or unwanted animals?That is McCormick County, a very poor area of South Carolina. And so enters the 100% ALL volunteer, no-kill effort called the Humane Society of McCormick County, Inc. These volunteers are fully responsible for not only helping these animals but also raising all the money needed to care for them! They are remarkable!!! They receive not one single penny from city, county or state yet in 16 years of effort they have managed to only recently move the cats and dogs from outside pens to a cat and a dog shelter they've built in the past two years. They have not lost site of what no-kill is as their spay/neuter program remains a priority and they managed to alter apx 500 animals just last year. It's an on going process and this organization, it's volunteers and its leadership could be used as a standard for other no-kill efforts. They are truly selfless going out in rain, snow,utterly ugly conditions to tend to these animals, they'll drop social commitments to help an animal in distress, and they literally plan their lives around the needs of this organization. There truly are no words to adequately express the good they do for the county and its animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to give them the money they need to grow as they envision so that they could meet their goal of altering every animal in McCormick County for those who can not afford the procedure. McCormick County suffers from high unemployment so folks have bigger hearts than pocketbooks and many can't afford to have their animals spayed/ or neutered. The "No more litters.... fix your critters" program the HSMC has that helps those folks but money is hard to come by.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Can you imagine living in a county where there is no animal control or shelter for abandoned & unwanted animals for the entire county in which you live? When we retired to McCormick County 13 years ago it never occured to us to ask about such things but we soon learned that for anyone who truly cared about animals it would be a shock to find those things for which we took for granted where we'd lived previously did not exist for us any longer. Over the years I have found the people who work for this effort are some of the smartest most caring individuals I've ever had the pleasure of volunteering with bar none! They are not ego-centered in any way and exhibit such a concern for animals that they have for the greater part spent much of their free time focused upon the development and growth of caring for animals in a pro-active way (meaning through thier low cost spay/neuter program thus stopping the flow of unwanted animals at its source) as well as hands on. They aggressively pursue ways to raise funding for their expenses as they get not a penny from city county or state. It's a constant battle but they are determined to fulfill their dream of ending the needless suffering animals endure when abandoned. Watching this group work is like watching a colony of ants! All hardworking, focused, and determined to make it work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization stands out and above all others. I have recently retired and was looking for an avenue for my time. This is the most organized and passionate group of volunteers that all keep their focus on a single goal, to help the animals. A no-kill shelter that is totally self-sufficient with 100% volunteers and run by donations alone. I find I am excitedly trying to help the cause because the commitment of these people is contagious. The impact made on McCormick County is impressive and a godsend to homeless animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help find monies to support such an expensive cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

McCormick Humane society is a no kill shelter.The volunteers are very nice and also hard workers.The place is very clean and all the animals are up to date with shots and heartworm treatments.I was very impressed at what I saw the day I visited them..I have rescued several dogs myself and I hate to see animals that people dump on the side of the road or in someones front yard.I know when anyone takes a dog to them they research anyone that wants to adopt that pet before they release them.I really feel good about this place..
May 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Nine years ago we moved here from the north and immediately were introduced to the Humane Society. We began assisting with rescuing puppies, fostering them, and helping with adoptions. I have enjoyed every second in fostering their puppies and mama dogs. They provided food, paid for the vet visits, and I got to do all the fun stuff! I've noticed a huge drop in puppies being left by the side of the road since the spay and neuter program took off. Barbara, one of their longtime volunteers, goes to the elementary school to teach the kids about proper care of their pets. The McCormick Humane Society has changed this town for the better and continues to push forward. One day there will be no more homeless, abandoned or mistreated pets in McCormick.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay some of the volunteers so someone is always available to talk to on their phone line.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I would like to say how thankful I am for The Humane Society Of McCormick, South Carolina. Someone had came through my neighborhood and dropped of a beautiful young female dog. I took her in and kept her for several weeks trying to figure out how I was going to care for another dog. I have three myself and really couldn't afford it. My mother and I took Bella to the vet to have her checked for health issues as well as shots. She was in perfect health. I emailed the HS of McCormick and they quickly responded. They stepped up to the plate by taking Bella, having her spayed and gave her lots of love and attention, until they found her forever home. I was very impressed because the staff were so caring and they reassured me that she would do great. They have the cleanest facility that I've ever visited, along with excellent care, love and affection for the animals there. I know if I ever need help again, they will be the only shelter I'll call. Thank you HS of McCormick for everything you do!!! You have the best staff and volunteers I've ever met!!!

Lisa Stanley

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have several run ins with the human society of McCormick..My mother was struggling to take care of two dogs outside and 4 cats on the inside . They brought by food several times, they helped to get both the mother and daughter fixed , then at last when moma could no longer take care of them they took them and found great homes for them..
September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I love being a part of this all volunteer organization. The HS of McCormick County has made amazing progress in this small, rural community toward educating residents about the importance of spay and neuter. I help out at the pens and as a foster home for dogs and I have had overwhelmingly good experiences. Other volunteers are just a phone call away, and always quick to help solve any problems. The recently opened cat barn is a new part of my childrens' and my week- what a great experience for them to be able to volunteer and take responsibility for creatures in need. I am proud to have this organization as part of my community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a protocol for dogs that have been at the pens beyond a certain amount of time- there are adoptable stray dogs being turned away because of lack of space at the shelter, but there are dogs that have been at the shelter up to and over a year. I appreciate that we don't give up on these dogs, but I wonder if there is a way to help them get greater exposure, or a group out there with more resources that could help out in these situations?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My mom and daughter both help out with hsmc. They LOVE it!! They stay busy walking the dogs and have even fostered. I live in Michigan and stay on top of all the events that go on. My son has helped with the dogs when he goes to visit his grandma and grandpa. He loves spending time with the dogs walking and playing with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer