Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My 13 years with HSMC NO KILL SHELTER has been so rewarding, not just because of the incredible people I have met, but the feeling of giving & helping all the unwanted furbabies that come in all shapes & sizes & need us to love them & make them feel they are wanted...I started volunteering when we had a low small shed we stored the food in & when it was raining the only part of you that was covered was your head. It would be cold & wet, very miserable I might say, but when you saw the faces looking at you so appreciatively & lovingly, it made it all worth it. The ALL volunteer effort is beyond words & I love them ALL...also am enjoying our newly built shelter...warm & cool...
I will also add that most of the volunteers are not spring chickens,no offense guys,you are great...!
November 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for 14 years at this rescue. I was a volunteer from its inception. I have adopted 3 dogs in the last 14 years. I walked and fed and cleaned pens for 11 years. I no longer volunteer weekly, but as a sub, since I am getting on in years. I have never worked with an organization that is so caring and so committed to saving animals as this organization. The volunteers are passionate about saving the dogs and cats of our county. We have no animal control in our county and without the Humane Society of McCormick County with their spay/neuter program the amount of dogs and cats not being under control, due to not spaying or neutering and just being let out into the wild would be in the thousands. I am proud to be a part of this organization.
Karen Hoyt
November 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is the most caring group of people I have had the opportunity to work with. The time and effort they put into taking care of the feral cats and rescue animals is amazing. It is a labor of love, and it shows in all the volunteers that work tirelessly to make a better life for all the unwanted and abandoned animals. Their future is much brighter thanks to these fine people.
November 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

As a resident of McCormick County for three and a half years and a "dog walker" for the Humane Society of McCormick County for a little over a year, I'd like everyone to know that this organization is full of the most dedicated volunteers ever. Because we receive no government support, the volunteers work constantly to raise the funds to care for our abandoned or homeless dogs and cats. This is a major effort. No fund-raising event (yard sale, dinner, nut sale, etc.) is over before another one takes its place. This requires hours of selfless dedication to our animals. We have no paid staff. Through the support of our community and these volunteers, we are able to provide veterinary care, food and shelter for our animals. We are a no-kill shelter that even has a very successful trap-neuter-release (& feed) our feral cats. It never ceases to amaze me what this group accomplishes. And we are so successful at finding forever homes for our animals as well. I can't tell you how much I admire what the HSMC does. It is a truly great organization.
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Th McCormick Humane Society is full of the most dedicated volunteers. They have done a wonderful job of providing a shelter for both dogs and cats. Strictly volunteer with no funding from county. Willing to go out of their way to help. Very devoted to their cause.
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

This group has done so much over the years for the animals in McCormick.
Everyone works hard to protect the animals and get them a forever home.
They now have a new place to stay which keeps them warm and dry till they are adopted.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We recently relocated to the McCormick area and I was surprised that there was no governmental agency for animals here. Thank goodness for the hard working individuals of the Humane Society of McCormick County who give untiringly of their time and energy to provide for the homeless animals in our community. I am continually amazed at the efforts by these volunteers to provide homes and shelter for so many poor animals who would otherwise starve. When the shelter is full, they find neighbors who are willing to provide foster care until the animals are adopted. On Saturdays, they drive to other towns to spend the day making efforts to find good homes for these sweet animals. The volunteers have wonderful fundraising efforts as well, creating fun events that the entire community enjoys. I can heartily commend this organization for their hard work.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is comprised of volunteers only, who are passionate animal lovers in a county with no services whatsoever for strays and unwanted pets. Through vigorous, non-stop fundrasing they have built a modest cat and dog shelter, aggressive spay and neuter program and high success with rehoming hundreds of dogs and cats. Can't think of a better way to contribute back to society and advocate for those who share our planet.
November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

!st I have to ask the reader of this review if you can imagine living where there is no animal control officer, no shelter funded by your municipality or one that gets any monetary support what so ever other than the money that is raised by the 100% all volunteer effort that is the ONLY help in the county for abandoned or unwanted animals? That is the situation in McCormick County, SC. I live in this county and can tell you that without this group of volunteers we'd be inundated with animals unwanted and suffering. They have saved literally thousands of animals from being born unwanted through their spay/neuter program which allows for those who have bigger hearts than they do pocketbooks to get their animals altered so they stop producing unwanted animals. They've managed in only 15 years from start to finish to build both a dog and cat shelter and they've done this by raising money through fundraising efforts, some grants, and donations from the general public. Additionally, they have found forever homes for many animals and have done this through their no-kill policy. This humane effort is truly an incredible group of folks who work tirelessly to educate, rescue, rehabilitate when needed through their nurturing ways, and place in loving homes all those animals from within our county who have needed help. I thank God for them all every day & pray they will continue to stay strong.
July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough great things about the McCormick County Humane Society. Everyone I've met has a passion for giving all animals good health and a good home. My neighbor and now friend, has been a volunteer with them for over 10 years. She devotes herself above and beyond what most people would ever consider doing in order to help ANY animal. Every Sat. she volunteers at the pet adoptions, 45 minutes away from her home. She fosters animals, she has paid out of her pocket for medical care for neighborhood animals, she helps friends/neighbors when they need assistance with their pets, she helps fund raise and she stays involved in community issues relating to pets. She is just ONE of their volunteers.

When I mentioned that I was ready for another dog, she immediately had one in mind that she thought would be a great fit for us both. BELLA was brought into the shelter after being found by another animal lover who wasn't able to take on a fourth dog. Bella had more energy than I knew how to handle. My friend/volunteer not only gave me suggestions, she gave me many toys, loaned a crate to me and frequently followed up on me. Most impressive was that she came over in the evenings to take Bella for a walk when I was working. This was far and above what I could have ever hoped for in a friend or volunteer. Again, she is just ONE of their volunteers. From her stories, all the volunteers sound just a dedicated as she it.

I've had Bella now for 2 1/2 months. She is the light of my life and makes me smile more than I can say. She goes to day care while I'm at work and we both come home exhausted. She's allowed on the sofa now and thinks she is in heaven. Thank you so much Judy for being a great person and thanks also to Lisa for making sure Bella wouldn't remain a stray by bringing her in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer