Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
Write A Review
March 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

It was around 7pm late September and my significant other and I were just about to turn down our street and head home, after a 4 mile run we squeezed in between rain storms. We noticed something on the side of the road about 200 yards past our street. Curiosity got the best of us and we went to investigate. We searched where we though we saw something and soon heard some whimpering. We found a small 6 week old pup hiding behind a tree, soaking wet. We scooped him up and hurried home, somehow along the way he got the name Taco. As luck would have it we are neighbors with with a volunteer at HSMC who provided us with food and sound advice that first night we had Taco (with plenty advice more to come). We took Taco to the vet at 8am the next day. About an hour after we got back from the vet our neighbor visited us again to check on Taco and let us know that the Humane Society was going to allow us to foster Taco, and they would provide food and cover his vaccinations. That lasted until Thanksgiving, when we signed the paperwork to bring Taco into our family. It was because of the selflessness of that volunteer, who stopped what they were doing to help us and this animal, that we started volunteering. As time progressed while we volunteered, it became apparent that all of the volunteers at this no kill shelter are as committed to the animals as the volunteer that helped us that cold wet September night.
March 10, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 19, 2011

I volunteered to foster a dog over Christmas in 2006. I was given this small, thin, timid, but very sweet pitbull mix. She gained weight and gained confidence after the first month. I didn't realize h... more

March 10, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted a shy dog about 6 months ago and it has been a wonderful experience. The HSMC was very helpful about how to handle a shy dog and they were very clear about his medical and physical needs. He is opening up to me and my wife and we are glad he is a member of our family. He is a great dog and I have the HSMC to thank.
February 19, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I volunteered to foster a dog over Christmas in 2006. I was given this small, thin, timid, but very sweet pitbull mix. She gained weight and gained confidence after the first month. I didn't realize how difficult it would be too find a home for a pitbull. She was so well behaved and so sweet and I knew she would make someone a great companion. They took her on many adoption events before she finally found her forever home. I feel very good that I helped this sweet dog become more adoptable because she was housebroken and healthy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing this skinny, scared, very sweet dog blossom into a healthy, lively, wonderful dog that was adopted by a nice family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

They could offer a printed book explaining the foster program.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me realize how easy it is to make a difference, one foster animal at a time.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel grateful that so many people volunteer their time everyday to help the unwanted animals roaming the streets of McCormick County.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

My 13 years with HSMC NO KILL SHELTER has been so rewarding, not just because of the incredible people I have met, but the feeling of giving & helping all the unwanted furbabies that come in all shapes & sizes & need us to love them & make them feel they are wanted...I started volunteering when we had a low small shed we stored the food in & when it was raining the only part of you that was covered was your head. It would be cold & wet, very miserable I might say, but when you saw the faces looking at you so appreciatively & lovingly, it made it all worth it. The ALL volunteer effort is beyond words & I love them ALL...also am enjoying our newly built shelter...warm & cool...
I will also add that most of the volunteers are not spring chickens,no offense guys,you are great...!
November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for 14 years at this rescue. I was a volunteer from its inception. I have adopted 3 dogs in the last 14 years. I walked and fed and cleaned pens for 11 years. I no longer volunteer weekly, but as a sub, since I am getting on in years. I have never worked with an organization that is so caring and so committed to saving animals as this organization. The volunteers are passionate about saving the dogs and cats of our county. We have no animal control in our county and without the Humane Society of McCormick County with their spay/neuter program the amount of dogs and cats not being under control, due to not spaying or neutering and just being let out into the wild would be in the thousands. I am proud to be a part of this organization.
Karen Hoyt
November 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This is the most caring group of people I have had the opportunity to work with. The time and effort they put into taking care of the feral cats and rescue animals is amazing. It is a labor of love, and it shows in all the volunteers that work tirelessly to make a better life for all the unwanted and abandoned animals. Their future is much brighter thanks to these fine people.
November 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

As a resident of McCormick County for three and a half years and a "dog walker" for the Humane Society of McCormick County for a little over a year, I'd like everyone to know that this organization is full of the most dedicated volunteers ever. Because we receive no government support, the volunteers work constantly to raise the funds to care for our abandoned or homeless dogs and cats. This is a major effort. No fund-raising event (yard sale, dinner, nut sale, etc.) is over before another one takes its place. This requires hours of selfless dedication to our animals. We have no paid staff. Through the support of our community and these volunteers, we are able to provide veterinary care, food and shelter for our animals. We are a no-kill shelter that even has a very successful trap-neuter-release (& feed) our feral cats. It never ceases to amaze me what this group accomplishes. And we are so successful at finding forever homes for our animals as well. I can't tell you how much I admire what the HSMC does. It is a truly great organization.
November 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Th McCormick Humane Society is full of the most dedicated volunteers. They have done a wonderful job of providing a shelter for both dogs and cats. Strictly volunteer with no funding from county. Willing to go out of their way to help. Very devoted to their cause.
November 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This group has done so much over the years for the animals in McCormick.
Everyone works hard to protect the animals and get them a forever home.
They now have a new place to stay which keeps them warm and dry till they are adopted.
November 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We recently relocated to the McCormick area and I was surprised that there was no governmental agency for animals here. Thank goodness for the hard working individuals of the Humane Society of McCormick County who give untiringly of their time and energy to provide for the homeless animals in our community. I am continually amazed at the efforts by these volunteers to provide homes and shelter for so many poor animals who would otherwise starve. When the shelter is full, they find neighbors who are willing to provide foster care until the animals are adopted. On Saturdays, they drive to other towns to spend the day making efforts to find good homes for these sweet animals. The volunteers have wonderful fundraising efforts as well, creating fun events that the entire community enjoys. I can heartily commend this organization for their hard work.
November 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

This organization is comprised of volunteers only, who are passionate animal lovers in a county with no services whatsoever for strays and unwanted pets. Through vigorous, non-stop fundrasing they have built a modest cat and dog shelter, aggressive spay and neuter program and high success with rehoming hundreds of dogs and cats. Can't think of a better way to contribute back to society and advocate for those who share our planet.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a dog learn to trust a stranger by showing it some kindness or teach a dog to sit so that it is more adoptable. Volunteer