Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am a volunteer with another organization called Stonecroft Ministries. We do women's ministry & I was specifically working on a Military event for all Colorado Springs military women, but had primarily connected with the women @ Ft. Carson. In the midst of that process I met Mary Carlone, & then eventually Dennis McCormack with The Home Front Cares.
I was amazed at the amazing organization that it is, and the incredible things they do & burdens they lift off of the soldiers that they help. They are such a practical hands on organization that truly makes a difference in the lives of those they serve. Being involved in ministry and service work for 30 + years, it is wonderful to see a group of people that saw a need and rolled up their sleeves and addressed it. With their handling of things and their reputation that they have built, it is obvious that they will be serving their community for a very long time!
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I have been involved in several projects and programs that take the edge off the hardship of military service. The Home Front Cares is the most effective and best administered organization of it's kind. The support is always timely and appropriate, and is always in keeping with it's stated mission - providing an emergency financial bridge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer for the Ronald McDonald house and we are part of the Hungry Heroes program that greets the troops when they arrive home from a deployment. We see them before the families and offer a burger and coke as they arrive. So proud to be part of the Home Front Cares. A few years ago I got to attend one of their dinners at the Broadmoor and meet Oliver North. What a thrill since I lived in Tehran in the early 70's and Julie Secord us one of my best friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Home Front Cares (THFC) has been a tremendous organization over the last 10 years in doing everything they can to help the troops and their families that have been and are being impacted by the war on terrorism. It's basically staffed by volunteers who do everything in their power to handle emergencies and help the families get their feet back on the ground. It is one of the best organizations I have ever been associated with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I can't tell you how rewarding it is to be affiliated with The Home Front Cares. The funds are available immediately without any kind of red tape and they're given to families in Colorado. I've seen firsthand how this nonprofit fills a great void. It not only helps families who encounter emergencies while their loved ones are deployed, but also veterans who are desperate for cash, waiting for their benefits to be dispersed. Countless soldiers describe The Home Front Cares as a life raft that keeps them from sinking.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This is a group of people who love a community of selfless heroes and who are dedicated to improving their lives. "Greater love has no one than this; to lay down one's life for one's friends." John 15:13. This tells the story of both The Home Front Cares and the community they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help do more to bring in the funds necessary to serve an ever-larger community of military heroes in Colorado.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I work with a number of veteran and nonprofit agencies throughout the State of Colorado, and The Home Front Cares (THFC) is at the top of my list for go-to organizations that will help our military, v... more

October 18, 2013

I am in my tenth year of volunteer service with this fine organization, and it is still my favorite among the half dozen other nonprofits that I donate my time and treasure to. The amount of assistance they provide to our local military, veterans, and their families continues to increase every year as the needs increase. They act as an emergency financial bridge to all branches, with emphasis on helping our veterans transition back into society after their military service. Those numbers are increasing as the various military branches continue to draw down their numbers as the various conflicts wind down. They don't do parades, races, toy drives, or other types of events, but deal with the hard and necessary tasks of providing rent payments, keeping the utilities turned on, and food on the table on a daily basis, the things that don't get splashed across the weekend news. And they have continued to do it every day for ten years. Their primary emphasis is on preventing homelessness and keeping our veteran families together, and nobody does it better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I work with a number of veteran and nonprofit agencies throughout the State of Colorado, and The Home Front Cares (THFC) is at the top of my list for go-to organizations that will help our military, veterans, and their families with emergency financial, adaptive housing, referrals, and other needs. No other agency in the State can respond quicker and more forcefully than THFC. I am a Vietnam and Desert Storm Vet, and I wish agencies like this had been around when I was serving my country for 26 years on Active Duty. The organization was started by Vietnam Vets who didn't want what happened to us to happen to this generation of Military and Veterans. THFC wants them to know that we care for them as they cared for us when they put their lives on the line to protect our freedom. They want them to know that someone is looking out for their families when they are deployed to the combat zones. This is the finest nonprofit I have ever worked with. Dennis M.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I had heard of The Home Front Cares for several years before learning of the enormous need in Colorado Springs from one of the founders, Bob Carlone. Bob and Joe Henjum saw the need and acted upon it... more

October 16, 2013

The Home Front Cares fills a desperate need in Colorado, bridging the financial gap that so many military members face when separating from military service. With the slowdown of the VA, many young servicemen and women are strapped to make necessary payments for housing, utilities, cars or car repairs. Many are working hard to support their families by trying to secure new jobs with the added pressure of health challenges such as PTS, TBI and hearing and vision loss. THFC steps in with immediate help to qualified clients. This truly is a life changing organization.

It is a privilege to serve on a Board that is so dedicated to serving our military in a time of need. The small, dedicated staff and many volunteers work amazingly hard to give back to our servicemen and women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

I had heard of The Home Front Cares for several years before learning of the enormous need in Colorado Springs from one of the founders, Bob Carlone. Bob and Joe Henjum saw the need and acted upon it...assistance for military members and their families who have been affected by deployment. Because of military related injuries many cannot find jobs and consequently, their families suffer because of lack of funds to pay for the necessities of life. This is where The Home Front Cares steps in quickly. The staff and case managers act quickly to receive approval for the cases in order to allievate the financial strain. I am extremely proud to serve on a Board with such dedicated volunteers who support those who valiantly serve our country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Chair, Advisory Board. We have helped military vets as they get out of active duty and the VA does not compensate them for at least 9 months. Last year we have donated to the ov 1/2 $million! God Bless!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

As a new member of The Home Front Cares' advisory board, I'm delighted that such a small organization (by comparison) is able to accomplish so much. In its ten short years, it's raised and given out nearly $6 million in emergency grants to active and formerly military to avoid foreclosures, maintain utilities, provide food -- in short, keeping families safe and together. Most importantly, there's evidence that these grants prevent members of our community from taking their lives. And, as we know, Colorado Springs has one of the highest rates of suicide in the country. I'm honored to be connected with this group -- some of the most dedicated volunteers and supporters I've witnessed in more than 25 years of nonprofit experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its funding to levels deserving of such important work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

greet flights of soldiers coming home from war as part of our Welcome Home Heroes program, staff an information/donation booth at a community event, or help with our annual fundraising dinner or golf tournament. Volunteer