Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

An unbeleivable organization focused on preserving the memory of the holocaust and using its lessons learned to teach students, military and law enforcement personnel the destructive nature of prejudi... more

May 24, 2013

As Vice Chair of the HMTC, I am very proud to recommend a visit to our center and a visit our website to learn about us and our important mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand our programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

An unbeleivable organization focused on preserving the memory of the holocaust and using its lessons learned to teach students, military and law enforcement personnel the destructive nature of prejudice, apathy and bullying.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

I first learned of this Center after my father (an Auschwitz survivor) passed away. After sitting in on an education meeting I was motivated to become involved in spreading the word! This Center not o... more

May 15, 2013

An organization that is defined by it's name. The preeminent resource and research institution on Long Island for Holocaust education is more importantly a place where children can learn to become better human beings. What more contribution can a learning institution claim?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012

I first learned of this Center after my father (an Auschwitz survivor) passed away. After sitting in on an education meeting I was motivated to become involved in spreading the word! This Center not only preserves the memory of survivors but uses those lessons to teach tens of thousands of school age children each and every year. There is NO cost to school districts or attendees. The Center also addresses current genocides and is involved with community activities with regards to diversity and teaching tolerance across the generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I will never forget the first day I walked into the center. I was asked to sit in on a class of 9th graders. A rowdy group of kids file in. In walks and old man who introduces himself by name, age, and then states "I am a Holocaust survivor of Auschwitz" as he walks, he pull up his sleeve, showing his Numbered tattoo. He continued "I lost my mother, my father, all my sisters and brothers." He had there attention. For the next 2 hours, This survivor went on two tracks back and forth. He went over point by point each act of discrimination, leading to each act of crime against humanity. He went on to explain how how each Nazi action dehumanized there victims. At the same time, he explained what happened to his family step by step chronologically, thru his liberation. As may be expected. There wasn't a dry eye in the house. It was the next part of his presentation that blew me away. He said "now if all i accomplished today was to tell you how rough it was for me growing up, I wasted your time." You see my goal is to prevent this horror from ever happening again. To do this, you need to understand how this happened. Not everyone in Germany bought into the Nazi propaganda, There was 5% of the German population that were firm in there Nazi beliefs. They hated me for who i was. And I'm sure just like then, there could be 5% of you here today that hate me purely out of pregidous. For you, my story meant nothing, and im sure your ready to come at me again. All you need to know is that this time I'm ready. Also in Germany, there was 5% of the population that fought the Nazis. That tried to save us. But they simply couldn't overcome the Nazi hate. I am sure that there are 5% of you here, that before you came in today would always stand up for whats right. You didn't need to hear my talk today, but I'm Glad you did. Then came the people that let it happen. The 90% of the German population that stood by and did nothing while all these atrocities took place. They were bystanders to the worst crime in human history. Today, I'm here to talk to you. If you learned anything today Don't be a bystander. Don't let people bully your classmates in front of you. Don't let people make racial comments in front of you. Don't let someone be left out of the group in front of you. Don't let people go hungry in front of you. Don't be a bystander to the ways of the world. Be an upstander. Stand up for whats right. Stand up for those that can not stand alone by themselves. For that 90% I am here to educate you. That day the center changed many lives. And its done the same thing for thousands of kids each year since. Teaching people to stand up and make the world better. i cant think of a more important cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers