Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

I am a School Social Worker in an elementary school and the Center's volunteers came to run two programs for my 4th and 5th graders. The program was very beneficial to our 4th and 5th graders to learn about bullying and to see the connection to the Holocaust. The most important piece is to change the bystander into an upstander!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

An unbeleivable organization focused on preserving the memory of the holocaust and using its lessons learned to teach students, military and law enforcement personnel the destructive nature of prejudi... more

May 24, 2013

As Vice Chair of the HMTC, I am very proud to recommend a visit to our center and a visit our website to learn about us and our important mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand our programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

An unbeleivable organization focused on preserving the memory of the holocaust and using its lessons learned to teach students, military and law enforcement personnel the destructive nature of prejudice, apathy and bullying.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

In volunteering at the Holocaust Memorial, I was able to observe and take part in some of the most altruistic work I had yet seen. The commitment of those who work there towards the education of young people about discrimination and injustice is paralleled only by their kindness and openness towards newcomers. They take their positions very seriously-- with enthusiasm and dedication to they work. I truly believe this is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

I bring classes of college student to HMTC for a required visit to a Holocaust museum or memorial. The tours that have been led by Dr. Sarah Cushman are EXCELLENT and highly appropriate for my students. I have had very unpleasant experiences at larger museums where the docents are more familiar with younger students. I always receive positive feedback from my students who are further enlightened even after the mid-point of the semester studying the Holocaust.

I have also personally benefited by attending excellent educator and special event programs at the HMTC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It works perfectly well for me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

Because of this wonderful institution, I have learned so much about the struggles faced by so many innocent people during this horrific time of history. When I say that is changed my life, I am not exaggerating at all. Walking through its halls, listening to the survivors tell their inspiring stories, and feeling the presence of the spirits of those who perished so needlessly has made me even more sensitive to bias, racism, and intolerance. The Holocaust Memorial and Tolerance Center has inspired me to share their message of peace and tolerance with my students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Alert more local people to the gem which is hidden in Welwyn Preserve in Glen Cove and encourage them to visit there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Volunteering at the Center for the last three years has been an incredible experience of community, education and personal growth. I have had the great pleasure of working with and learning from volunteers, professional staff, visitors and students. There has never been a day spent there that has not exposed me to a new experience, relationship or learning.

Being a part of this organization has been so gratifying. The work of educating students about the Holocaust as it relates to their world; seeing them respond to the testimony of Survivors, hearing their comments about how they relate the lessons of the Holocaust to the occurrence of bullying in their schools, is a powerful experience for everyone involved.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not enough people know it exists, more public exposure

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I am a Holocaust survivor and volunteer sharing my experiences via video conferences to students of all ages to all parts of the country, as well as canada and even overseas. The Glen Cove Holocaust Museum and Tolerance Center, carefully plans and coordinates thes events so that everything runs smoothly. The adminstrators-Drs. sarah cushman and Beth Lilach and other staff members as well as volunteers make it happen so that everything is running smoothly and successfully. The feed back from students and teachers is very appreciative. Everyone works tirelessly and with a great deal of devotion and enthusiasm. I LOVE being a volunteer there!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, whatsoever! They are amazing, beyond expectations!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have been an educator for 30 years. The Nassau County Holocaust and Tolerance Center has been a part of my life for at least 15 years. I have been a part of the center's educational programs and have brought my classes there as well as participated in their literary competitions. I am now in retirement an active member of the Educaional advisory committee and my husband and I both volunteer for all programs at the center. When I am at the center I feel terrific about the mission and dedication of this wonderful center. It is imperative in our world of intolerance today to honor the center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more visitors take advantage of our resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2012

The Holocaust and Tolerance Center of Nassau County uses the lessons of the Holocaust to teach about the intolerances we are still facing today. The Center has anti-bullying classes from the 4th grad... more

May 15, 2013

I have been working at The Holocaust and Tolerance Center of Nassau County for the past three years. It has been an extremely rewarding experience. I take children from fifth grade to high school as well as adults through the museum to teach them about The Holocaust. I also teach anti bullying classes to grades four through high school which has been a very rewarding experience for me. I have had the privilege of meeting and listening to the testimony of survivors of The Holocaust as well. Doing this has made me a better person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more anti bullying workshops. Hopefully add one for third graders.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

The Holocaust and Tolerance Center of Nassau County uses the lessons of the Holocaust to teach about the intolerances we are still facing today. The Center has anti-bullying classes from the 4th grade through 12th grade. With the rise of bullying in schools today it is vital that children be taught how to deal with a bully as well as how to deal with cyber bullying.The Center provides this service to schools in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. Classes that come to the Center for a Holocaust Program have the privilege of hearing testimony from a survivor of The Holocaust. The Center not only provides education about The Holocaust, it uses these lessons to teach children, young adults and adults about tolerance and how to be an upstander rather than a bystander.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have been involved with the HMTC for over 10 years and the work that is done there is amazing. I am a child of Holocaust survivors and the Center makes it possible for me to carry on my parents' stories to help promote tolerance and acceptance of all people. The students learn how little acts of prejudice and bullying can mushroom into something as horrific as the Holocaust. The students really respond to all of the survivors' testimonies and the museum tours and it makes it real to them. I have had students tell me that they were going to try to be upstanders when faced with a choice of doing the right thing when someone else is in trouble. It is extremely rewarding work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers